tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk

KEVIN SMITH

Tusk

Movie
Horror

[73/100]   

SONY SPHE
13/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The strangest film of the moment is undoubtedly Tusk by Kevin Smith. You know him, as he is the director who broke all records with the dirt-cheap Clerks and afterwards released tons of movies through an independent way. Most of his works were released straight on DVD or made available through his own website, but this insane horror film is released on Sony. The subject? Well, a serial killer who converts his victim in a walrus. No, you have read it correctly: a walrus !

It happens to the American Wallace Bryton (Justin Long) who travels to the far Manitoba to make a documentary about The Kill Bill Kid (a guy who imitates Uma Thurman but incidentally chops his leg off). When Wallace arrives, The Kill Bill Kid is already six feet under, but his trip is not useless as he meets Howard Howe (a genius Michael Parks, who you probalby know of the real Kill Bill movies!). This strange guy claims that he was Ernest Hemingway’s best friend during World War II. Idle talk to keep Wallace in his house, because Howard want to make him his 24th victim. In no time the man becomes a walrus!

In all fairness, we do not think we would be able to come up with such nonsense ourselves, but Kevin Smith has made his best film in years. The core of the story may seem a little too much like the one of Misery with the psychopathic Kathy Bates, but thanks to the irresistible humour and the hysterical performances (even Johnny Depp as French detective is doing fine this time!), Tusk is a brilliant piece of cult cinema!

Tusk is now on DVD via Sony.

Didier BECU
13/02/2015


NL

De vreemdste film van het moment is ongetwijfeld Tusk van Kevin Smith. Je kent hem wel, de regisseur die alle records met het spotgoedkope Clerks brak en nadien massa’s films in eigen beheer uitbracht. De meeste van zijn werken verschenen regelrecht op dvd of zijn via zijn eigen website aan de man gebracht, maar deze krankzinnige horrorfilm is door Sony uitgebracht. Het onderwerp? Een seriemoordenaar die zijn slachtoffers ombouwt tot walrussen. Neen, je hebt het goed gelezen: walrussen!

Het overkomt de Amerikaan Wallace Bryton (Justin Long) die naar het verre Manitoba afreist om er een reportage te maken over The Kill Bill Kid (een kerel die Uma Thurman imiteerde, maar daarbij per ongeluk zijn eigen been amputeerde). Bij zijn aankomst is The Kill Bill Kid al lang overleden, maar zijn reis is niet voor niets geweest omdat hij de stokoude Howard Howe (een geniale Michael Parks, die je natuurlijk kent uit de Kill Bill-films!) ontmoet. Deze vreemde snuiter beweert dat hij het beste maatje was van Ernest Hemingway tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog. Allemaal praatjes om Wallace in zijn woning vast te houden, want Howard heeft het plan om van Wallace zijn 24e slachtoffer te maken.

Eerlijkheidshalve denken we niet dat we in staat zijn om zelf zo’n onzin te bedenken, maar Kevin Smith heeft wel zijn beste film sinds jaren gemaakt. De kern van het verhaal lijkt misschien net iets te veel op dat van Misery met de psychopathische Kathy Bates, maar dankzij de onweerstaanbare humor en de hysterische vertolkingen (zelfs Johnny Depp doet het als Franse detective deze keer prima!), is Tusk een schitterende stukje cinema dat je misschien kan onderbrengen in de pis- en kakhumorsectie, maar werken doet het wel!

Tusk is nu uit op dvd via Sony.

Didier BECU
13/02/2015


13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk 13/02/2015 : KEVIN SMITH - Tusk

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)