tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : KING CHAMPION SOUNDS - To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

KING CHAMPION SOUNDS

To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

MusicCD
Indie

[70/100]   

Excelsior Recordings
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Hailing from Holland and just two albums in, King Champion Sounds sound like a band that have been embarking on a mission since the mid-'70s. Formed primarily of multi-instrumentalist Ajay Saggar and post-punk ranter G.W. Sok (from The Ex, no less), KCS are a seething hybrid of psychedelic Krautrock in dub, pilled-out acid-funk and baggy legends Happy Mondays. Check What I Mean for Can meets Shaun Ryder and you'll see 'what I mean?'.

It's a brave band that plumps for a double sophomore album but they've nailed it with this enjoyable set and although this may nudge the 70-minute mark, To Awake.... is a consistent listen with a few surprises. Smallest Tribe in the World passes off as a tripped-out mantra with Minutemen's Mike Watt on vocals while another alt-rock luminary J Mascis lends a guitar-wielding hand on the opening Mice Rats Roaches.

Don't expect sprawling grunge-rock though - these are just names on a lengthy guestlist that also includes folkie Alasdair Roberts and various Dutch chums. What you can expect is horns aplenty, the occasional riff and some hefty rhythms that suggest King Champion Sounds can hold their own as a live band. You can also look forward to some out-and-out weirdness - Last Night We Saw A p.o.l.t.e.r.g.e.i.s.t sounds like Steve Reich, Negativland and Nurse With Wound having an orgy while Baarsiderius I has all the hallmarks of Ornette Coleman being thrown headlong into a room full of drum-kits while blowing his sax through a wind-tunnel.

To this end, when KCS aren't murdering instruments they're coaxing all manner of tangible energy out of them. Getting Tired recalls Factory oddbods Biting Tongues while If We Must Try continues the vaguely baggy ideas tried out on earlier tracks. Hell, these could almost be singles in a parallel universe.

Odd but compelling.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)