tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : KING CHAMPION SOUNDS - To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

KING CHAMPION SOUNDS

To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

MusicCD
Indie

[70/100]   

Excelsior Recordings
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Hailing from Holland and just two albums in, King Champion Sounds sound like a band that have been embarking on a mission since the mid-'70s. Formed primarily of multi-instrumentalist Ajay Saggar and post-punk ranter G.W. Sok (from The Ex, no less), KCS are a seething hybrid of psychedelic Krautrock in dub, pilled-out acid-funk and baggy legends Happy Mondays. Check What I Mean for Can meets Shaun Ryder and you'll see 'what I mean?'.

It's a brave band that plumps for a double sophomore album but they've nailed it with this enjoyable set and although this may nudge the 70-minute mark, To Awake.... is a consistent listen with a few surprises. Smallest Tribe in the World passes off as a tripped-out mantra with Minutemen's Mike Watt on vocals while another alt-rock luminary J Mascis lends a guitar-wielding hand on the opening Mice Rats Roaches.

Don't expect sprawling grunge-rock though - these are just names on a lengthy guestlist that also includes folkie Alasdair Roberts and various Dutch chums. What you can expect is horns aplenty, the occasional riff and some hefty rhythms that suggest King Champion Sounds can hold their own as a live band. You can also look forward to some out-and-out weirdness - Last Night We Saw A p.o.l.t.e.r.g.e.i.s.t sounds like Steve Reich, Negativland and Nurse With Wound having an orgy while Baarsiderius I has all the hallmarks of Ornette Coleman being thrown headlong into a room full of drum-kits while blowing his sax through a wind-tunnel.

To this end, when KCS aren't murdering instruments they're coaxing all manner of tangible energy out of them. Getting Tired recalls Factory oddbods Biting Tongues while If We Must Try continues the vaguely baggy ideas tried out on earlier tracks. Hell, these could almost be singles in a parallel universe.

Odd but compelling.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Flying Turns (Live @ BIM 2009)
22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?