tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : KING CHAMPION SOUNDS - To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

KING CHAMPION SOUNDS

To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

MusicCD
Indie

[70/100]   

Excelsior Recordings
11/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Hailing from Holland and just two albums in, King Champion Sounds sound like a band that have been embarking on a mission since the mid-'70s. Formed primarily of multi-instrumentalist Ajay Saggar and post-punk ranter G.W. Sok (from The Ex, no less), KCS are a seething hybrid of psychedelic Krautrock in dub, pilled-out acid-funk and baggy legends Happy Mondays. Check What I Mean for Can meets Shaun Ryder and you'll see 'what I mean?'.

It's a brave band that plumps for a double sophomore album but they've nailed it with this enjoyable set and although this may nudge the 70-minute mark, To Awake.... is a consistent listen with a few surprises. Smallest Tribe in the World passes off as a tripped-out mantra with Minutemen's Mike Watt on vocals while another alt-rock luminary J Mascis lends a guitar-wielding hand on the opening Mice Rats Roaches.

Don't expect sprawling grunge-rock though - these are just names on a lengthy guestlist that also includes folkie Alasdair Roberts and various Dutch chums. What you can expect is horns aplenty, the occasional riff and some hefty rhythms that suggest King Champion Sounds can hold their own as a live band. You can also look forward to some out-and-out weirdness - Last Night We Saw A p.o.l.t.e.r.g.e.i.s.t sounds like Steve Reich, Negativland and Nurse With Wound having an orgy while Baarsiderius I has all the hallmarks of Ornette Coleman being thrown headlong into a room full of drum-kits while blowing his sax through a wind-tunnel.

To this end, when KCS aren't murdering instruments they're coaxing all manner of tangible energy out of them. Getting Tired recalls Factory oddbods Biting Tongues while If We Must Try continues the vaguely baggy ideas tried out on earlier tracks. Hell, these could almost be singles in a parallel universe.

Odd but compelling.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque