tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/01/2014 : KIRLIAN CAMERA - Black Summer Choirs

KIRLIAN CAMERA

Black Summer Choirs

MusicCD
AcousticClassicalCold WaveDark ElectroEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFuture PopMinimalNeoclassicalNeofolkSynth Pop / Electro PopUnplugged

[91/100]   

Out Of Line
07/01/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Kirlian Camera returns with one of the most ambitious efforts that the Italian cult group has recorded to date. “Black Summer Choirs” is a unique sonic experience, the group’s “black album”, is a perfect fusion of fragile tension, melancholic gloom, magnificent pop moments, cinematic soundscapes and powerful electronics… an album that will draw and captivate you from the start. Available as a regular album and also as a box set, limited to 1000 copies with a numbered ownershipcertificate and featuring an exclusive Shape-CD EP containing previously unreleased tracks, including a metal pin, a flag and a poster.

So far the introduction from Out of Line. I copied it because it is the truth. This group has always been a special band, non conformist and hated by many, but loved by more! I have seen them many times on stage and I understand that if you don't know the band well enough you could get a wrong idea about them. Each album is always something new and that is what they stand for: always a surprise!

The nice dark and fragile spectrum on 'Silencing the world' is the best start for an album! Elena Alice Fossi has a great voice and proves that on this one, whilst the filmic sound takes over and the symphonic environment haunts you! This one is simply a well worked out dark jewel!

'Black August' goes further on the symphonic sound, getting more into the drama and floating on the great voice, burting up with guitars and getting a bit bombastic and burlesque! Even the litte drum'n bass, industrial sound and male choir elements are fitting well in this one! The mix of all these genres in one song is simply genius! Elena simply enchants you on this one with her magical voice. God, I love this song and we are only 2 songs away from the start! The final interview intermezzo parts are very mystic and done by Lloyd James. I understand now a bit better why they don't want to do any interview, even it's for promotional use... Something is coming and it's too dark to talk about.

With 'Heavens' we go back to electronica and back to the dance floor! I can imagine that some DJ's will play this song! I love the little piano parts as part of a small break. The sound is very sensual and the mixing makes it go in as an earworm.

'The Fountain of Clouds' is a nice piano ballad, carried by an angelic voice that can make you cry. This song is so tender, so magic! It's simply faeric! Love the strings! Wow, no more is to say, my words are cut off by so much beauty!

'Dark Matter' goes back to the dancefloor, a bit of a slow starter, but when all the music is started up it gets bigger and very ear captivating! At some point it feels a bit bombastic, in a dark way. Once again all the genres are well mixed and the voice resonates so well that it makes you want to relisten the song. The Arabic voice and dito music might scare some fans who always had the wrong idea about this band... This is the reason why this band is so good in what they do. If you still don't know what they really stand for... give it up and go away! Simply pure gold!

'My kids Kill' is a sad ballad, driven by ballads and some Dead Can Dance kinda choir. A very powerful song and yet very sensitive and fragile!

'Words' is another pearl, one that I already reviewed for the I-M-R album. I loved it and I still do. I somehow feel that they can do more together, wanting more songs like that! Both bands are blending so nicely! This is neofolk at it's best! 

'Barren Cornfields' is a slow one, driven by electronics and an angelic voice, once again a very fragile song!

'Stranger in the Abondoned Station' is a nice and soundtrack minded song with an angelic sound. This one also ends the regular cd.

Bonus Disc Box Set

'New Veterans in the Mist' feels a bit different from the first cd. I love the sound and the electronics. The voice is still very fragile, but sounds a bit different.

'Lumen' is a nice accoustic ballad, very magical.

'Words (Black Summer version)' feels like stripped without I-M-R and somehow I feel like wanting to disband this version.

'Losing the Way Home' is another very fragile song, a piano ballad with in the back the sound of the sea...

I tested this one on my family during new years eve and they all loved it. So if people who don't know who this is love it... It's a rare pearl, a beauty, fragile and dark, some are ready for the dance floor... a well mixed album!

WOW is again my conclusion! More words would make this review too long as there are not enough words to describe the beauty of this album...

Here is my previous I-M-R review:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/i-m-r-letters-from-the-paper-garden/

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
07/01/2014


 

Next reviews
BILLE AUGUST • Night Train To Lisbon
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Dries Haeseldonckx
RABIA SORDA • Hotelsuicide
GABRIELA COWPERTHWAITE • Blackfish
DAVID & ALEX PASTOR • The last days (Los ultimos dias)
FUNKERVOGT • Companion in Crime
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The best of 2013 by Chris Konings
SKYLA VERTEX • Blut
LESCURE 13 • Too Much Motherf***ckers
LISA MORGENSTERN • Amphibian

 

Other reviews from KIRLIAN CAMERA
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Best Of- Radio Music A
KIRLIAN CAMERA • It Doesn't Matter Now
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: UNPLUGGED
THURISAZ • Live & Acoustic
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO, IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES, ROME, TRIARI, MENTALPLASTIC BODYFILLER, EMPUSAE, DEAD MAN'S HILL & MR. MANUVA • Porta Nigra, 1/6/2013, Aarschot, Belgium
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing