tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

12/11/2015 : KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION - Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)

KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION

Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)

Concert
12/11/2015, Jeremy Thomas

EN

Autumn Falls time here at the AB, so it’s more of a double-bill, and tonight, we have some of the darkest stuff that Ghent has to offer.

First up, The Black Heart Rebellion are - err - challenging, to say the least. A cleaner, folkier sound than the last time I saw them, but still that unmistakeable trademark of gloom and intensity. Frenzied attacks from homemade percussion, nightmarescapes from E-bowed guitars, songs of pure nihilism, and minimalistic drones sucking you into their obscure universe. Too black for metal, not cheery enough for goth, I got the impression that they'd conquered and confused the audience in equal measure.
To say Pieter is in good voice tonight would be an understatement, but he's also joined by a girl for several songs, including the particularly sing-along Violent Love. The variety of the songs shows phenomenal musicianship, and the quality of the AB soundsystem doesn't let them down.
They have confirmed their place as one of the most important bands in Belgium tonight, and have plenty of goodies for the discerning fan. 

Kiss the anus of a black cat are one of those bands I'd heard a lot about, but had never seen yet. 
Again, the sound is awesome and the singers voice is phenomenal, the performance is intense and the musicianship is immaculate, but I can't help but feel that they could do with a few choruses in the set. This is a new configuration for the new album, with a lot more electronic sound. And whilst it's very cleverly put together, I very much think that the overreliance on repeating chord patterns or sequences is barely enough to get over the lack of decent songwriting. Maybe that's a bit harsh, but it just wasn't challenging enough to suck me in to their trip. 
As ever at these events, the quality of the audience means that there are several familiar faces prepared to share an opinion, and the concensus is that the previous material and instrumentation was even more intense and even more awesome.
I'm sure someone will tell me I should have gone to see Father John Misty downstairs instead, but I like people who bare their soul and expose the darkest of emotions onstage. It pleases me. And I am certainly not disappointed.

Jeremy Thomas
12/11/2015


NL

Het Autumn Falls-parcours daalt de komende weken zowat in elke Belgische zaal neer, en in de AB kregen we een dubbeloptreden met de donkerste klanken die Gent heeft te bieden.

De eerste band op de affiche was The Black Heart Rebellion en tja…het minste wat je er van kan zeggen is dat ze heel speciaal zijn. Tegenwoordig klinken ze heel wat geraffineerder dan toen ik ze eerder aan het werk zag, alhoewel somberheid en intensiteit nog steeds hun handelsmerk blijft.

De geluiden die ze produceren met hun vaak zelfgemaakte percussie-instrumenten zijn simpelweg waanzinnig, terwijl de klanken uit de E-bow rechtstreeks uit een nachtmerrie komen. De tracks stralen puur nihilisme uit, en de minimalistische drones zuigen je mee naar een duister universum. The Black Heart Rebellion zijn misschien net iets te zwart voor een metalpubliek, en goth kun je ze ook al niet noemen, toch slaagden zij er moeiteloos in om het publiek zowel te veroveren als te verwarren. Zeggen dat Pieter een goede stem had deze avond zou gewoon een understatement zijn, en nu ook kreeg hij op bepaalde nummers de vocale steun van Annelies Van Dinter van Echo Beatty. De verscheidenheid van de nummers toonde het fenomenale muzikale vakmanschap van The Black Heart Rebellion. Vanavond bewees de band dat ze hun plaatsje als één van de belangrijkste bands in België van dit moment hebben veroverd!

Ik had al vaak iets gehoord over Kiss The Anus Of A Black Cat, maar hun nog nooit gezien. Eerlijk blijft eerlijk, de stem blijft fenomenaal, er wordt een intense prestatie geleverd en de muziek is onberispelijk, maar toch had ik nood aan wat meer refreinen. Hun nieuwste plaat heeft een meer elektronisch geluid. Het zit allemaal goed in elkaar, maar alles hangt net iets te veel af van akkoorden die zichzelf blijven herhalen. Ik weet dat ik streng klink, maar hun trip kon mij net niet genoeg boeien. Zoals altijd, zal iedereen wel een eigen mening hebben en die zullen zonder twijfel verdeeld zijn, maar wellicht vond iedereen de vorige act toch iets meer intenser. Maar neen hoor, teleurgesteld ben ik zeker niet, ik hou er nog altijd van om mensen op een podium te zien die hun ziel bloot geven en de donkerste emoties met een publiek willen delen.

Jeremy Thomas
12/11/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)