tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

12/11/2015 : KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION - Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)

KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION

Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)

Concert
12/11/2015, Jeremy Thomas

EN

Autumn Falls time here at the AB, so it’s more of a double-bill, and tonight, we have some of the darkest stuff that Ghent has to offer.

First up, The Black Heart Rebellion are - err - challenging, to say the least. A cleaner, folkier sound than the last time I saw them, but still that unmistakeable trademark of gloom and intensity. Frenzied attacks from homemade percussion, nightmarescapes from E-bowed guitars, songs of pure nihilism, and minimalistic drones sucking you into their obscure universe. Too black for metal, not cheery enough for goth, I got the impression that they'd conquered and confused the audience in equal measure.
To say Pieter is in good voice tonight would be an understatement, but he's also joined by a girl for several songs, including the particularly sing-along Violent Love. The variety of the songs shows phenomenal musicianship, and the quality of the AB soundsystem doesn't let them down.
They have confirmed their place as one of the most important bands in Belgium tonight, and have plenty of goodies for the discerning fan. 

Kiss the anus of a black cat are one of those bands I'd heard a lot about, but had never seen yet. 
Again, the sound is awesome and the singers voice is phenomenal, the performance is intense and the musicianship is immaculate, but I can't help but feel that they could do with a few choruses in the set. This is a new configuration for the new album, with a lot more electronic sound. And whilst it's very cleverly put together, I very much think that the overreliance on repeating chord patterns or sequences is barely enough to get over the lack of decent songwriting. Maybe that's a bit harsh, but it just wasn't challenging enough to suck me in to their trip. 
As ever at these events, the quality of the audience means that there are several familiar faces prepared to share an opinion, and the concensus is that the previous material and instrumentation was even more intense and even more awesome.
I'm sure someone will tell me I should have gone to see Father John Misty downstairs instead, but I like people who bare their soul and expose the darkest of emotions onstage. It pleases me. And I am certainly not disappointed.

Jeremy Thomas
12/11/2015


NL

Het Autumn Falls-parcours daalt de komende weken zowat in elke Belgische zaal neer, en in de AB kregen we een dubbeloptreden met de donkerste klanken die Gent heeft te bieden.

De eerste band op de affiche was The Black Heart Rebellion en tja…het minste wat je er van kan zeggen is dat ze heel speciaal zijn. Tegenwoordig klinken ze heel wat geraffineerder dan toen ik ze eerder aan het werk zag, alhoewel somberheid en intensiteit nog steeds hun handelsmerk blijft.

De geluiden die ze produceren met hun vaak zelfgemaakte percussie-instrumenten zijn simpelweg waanzinnig, terwijl de klanken uit de E-bow rechtstreeks uit een nachtmerrie komen. De tracks stralen puur nihilisme uit, en de minimalistische drones zuigen je mee naar een duister universum. The Black Heart Rebellion zijn misschien net iets te zwart voor een metalpubliek, en goth kun je ze ook al niet noemen, toch slaagden zij er moeiteloos in om het publiek zowel te veroveren als te verwarren. Zeggen dat Pieter een goede stem had deze avond zou gewoon een understatement zijn, en nu ook kreeg hij op bepaalde nummers de vocale steun van Annelies Van Dinter van Echo Beatty. De verscheidenheid van de nummers toonde het fenomenale muzikale vakmanschap van The Black Heart Rebellion. Vanavond bewees de band dat ze hun plaatsje als één van de belangrijkste bands in België van dit moment hebben veroverd!

Ik had al vaak iets gehoord over Kiss The Anus Of A Black Cat, maar hun nog nooit gezien. Eerlijk blijft eerlijk, de stem blijft fenomenaal, er wordt een intense prestatie geleverd en de muziek is onberispelijk, maar toch had ik nood aan wat meer refreinen. Hun nieuwste plaat heeft een meer elektronisch geluid. Het zit allemaal goed in elkaar, maar alles hangt net iets te veel af van akkoorden die zichzelf blijven herhalen. Ik weet dat ik streng klink, maar hun trip kon mij net niet genoeg boeien. Zoals altijd, zal iedereen wel een eigen mening hebben en die zullen zonder twijfel verdeeld zijn, maar wellicht vond iedereen de vorige act toch iets meer intenser. Maar neen hoor, teleurgesteld ben ik zeker niet, ik hou er nog altijd van om mensen op een podium te zien die hun ziel bloot geven en de donkerste emoties met een publiek willen delen.

Jeremy Thomas
12/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
AEVERIUM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
HELL BOULEVARD
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NITZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire