tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

12/11/2015 : KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION - Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)

KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT/THE BLACK HEART REBELLION

Brussels, AB (10/11/2015)

Concert
12/11/2015, Jeremy Thomas

EN

Autumn Falls time here at the AB, so it’s more of a double-bill, and tonight, we have some of the darkest stuff that Ghent has to offer.

First up, The Black Heart Rebellion are - err - challenging, to say the least. A cleaner, folkier sound than the last time I saw them, but still that unmistakeable trademark of gloom and intensity. Frenzied attacks from homemade percussion, nightmarescapes from E-bowed guitars, songs of pure nihilism, and minimalistic drones sucking you into their obscure universe. Too black for metal, not cheery enough for goth, I got the impression that they'd conquered and confused the audience in equal measure.
To say Pieter is in good voice tonight would be an understatement, but he's also joined by a girl for several songs, including the particularly sing-along Violent Love. The variety of the songs shows phenomenal musicianship, and the quality of the AB soundsystem doesn't let them down.
They have confirmed their place as one of the most important bands in Belgium tonight, and have plenty of goodies for the discerning fan. 

Kiss the anus of a black cat are one of those bands I'd heard a lot about, but had never seen yet. 
Again, the sound is awesome and the singers voice is phenomenal, the performance is intense and the musicianship is immaculate, but I can't help but feel that they could do with a few choruses in the set. This is a new configuration for the new album, with a lot more electronic sound. And whilst it's very cleverly put together, I very much think that the overreliance on repeating chord patterns or sequences is barely enough to get over the lack of decent songwriting. Maybe that's a bit harsh, but it just wasn't challenging enough to suck me in to their trip. 
As ever at these events, the quality of the audience means that there are several familiar faces prepared to share an opinion, and the concensus is that the previous material and instrumentation was even more intense and even more awesome.
I'm sure someone will tell me I should have gone to see Father John Misty downstairs instead, but I like people who bare their soul and expose the darkest of emotions onstage. It pleases me. And I am certainly not disappointed.

Jeremy Thomas
12/11/2015


NL

Het Autumn Falls-parcours daalt de komende weken zowat in elke Belgische zaal neer, en in de AB kregen we een dubbeloptreden met de donkerste klanken die Gent heeft te bieden.

De eerste band op de affiche was The Black Heart Rebellion en tja…het minste wat je er van kan zeggen is dat ze heel speciaal zijn. Tegenwoordig klinken ze heel wat geraffineerder dan toen ik ze eerder aan het werk zag, alhoewel somberheid en intensiteit nog steeds hun handelsmerk blijft.

De geluiden die ze produceren met hun vaak zelfgemaakte percussie-instrumenten zijn simpelweg waanzinnig, terwijl de klanken uit de E-bow rechtstreeks uit een nachtmerrie komen. De tracks stralen puur nihilisme uit, en de minimalistische drones zuigen je mee naar een duister universum. The Black Heart Rebellion zijn misschien net iets te zwart voor een metalpubliek, en goth kun je ze ook al niet noemen, toch slaagden zij er moeiteloos in om het publiek zowel te veroveren als te verwarren. Zeggen dat Pieter een goede stem had deze avond zou gewoon een understatement zijn, en nu ook kreeg hij op bepaalde nummers de vocale steun van Annelies Van Dinter van Echo Beatty. De verscheidenheid van de nummers toonde het fenomenale muzikale vakmanschap van The Black Heart Rebellion. Vanavond bewees de band dat ze hun plaatsje als één van de belangrijkste bands in België van dit moment hebben veroverd!

Ik had al vaak iets gehoord over Kiss The Anus Of A Black Cat, maar hun nog nooit gezien. Eerlijk blijft eerlijk, de stem blijft fenomenaal, er wordt een intense prestatie geleverd en de muziek is onberispelijk, maar toch had ik nood aan wat meer refreinen. Hun nieuwste plaat heeft een meer elektronisch geluid. Het zit allemaal goed in elkaar, maar alles hangt net iets te veel af van akkoorden die zichzelf blijven herhalen. Ik weet dat ik streng klink, maar hun trip kon mij net niet genoeg boeien. Zoals altijd, zal iedereen wel een eigen mening hebben en die zullen zonder twijfel verdeeld zijn, maar wellicht vond iedereen de vorige act toch iets meer intenser. Maar neen hoor, teleurgesteld ben ik zeker niet, ik hou er nog altijd van om mensen op een podium te zien die hun ziel bloot geven en de donkerste emoties met een publiek willen delen.

Jeremy Thomas
12/11/2015


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'
07
10
20 years of Mindstrip by Suicide Commando!
06
10
New MOTOR!K album MOTOR!K - 2 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
LISA GERRARD(DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!
16
10
AKALOTZ
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... AKALOTZ!
26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods
15
10
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)
14
10
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)