tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/11/2015 : KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT - To Live Vicariously

KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT

To Live Vicariously

MusicCD

Zeal Records
13/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

With a band name like Kiss The Anus Of A Black Cat, Stef Irritant, Kwinten Mordijck, Matthias Debusschere and Jonathan Callens already are in the spotlight for a while. During five albums no one has succeeded to stick a label on this musical group from Ghent, and that’s probably because of their varied sound carpet. Sometimes you could hear a term like experimental or drone, while others just said it was "difficult music”. The sixth album, which is released in association with 9000 Records, is a godsend for those who want to pigeonhole the band. In a press release, the band stated that the sixth album would be a farewell to the drone folk and that the new tracks would have a lot in common with 80s acts such as Fad Gadget or Throbbing Gristle.

That’s the case on To Live Vicariously, even though many listeners still will have doubts in which musical category these centipedes belong after hearing this strange trip.

The four have turned everything upside down from the 80s and along with producer Koen Gisen they created a very personal style. The influences are somewhat easy to recognize, but the quartet made songs that feel like jet-black bedroom pop with a destructive side. And admit it, that makes sense for a band that records a quirky cover of Nico's Evening Of Light, not?

Although the band still likes to experiment, it is not ashamed to come up with melancholic 80s beats. Semantics could have been on an old tape by Absolute Body Control. Walls And Ways To Hide is infectious, weird pop that makes you think you’re on a carrousel, and has some pop elements of early Soft Cell. The 80s continue to rule this great album, the drums on Drone For Conan sound as dark as those of Laurence Tolhurst on Pornography. No, we do not exaggerate! To Live Vicarriously is a genius album with a high 80s dose. Take it from the shelves, listen and we bet you fall in love?

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


NL

Met een groepsnaam als Kiss The Anus Of A Black Cat lopen Stef Irritant, Kwinten Mordijck, Matthias Debusschere en Jonathan Callens al een tijdje in de kijker. Al vijf albums lang is niemand erin geslaagd om, wellicht wegens het gevarieerde klankentapijt, een muzikaal etiket op deze Gentse groep te kleven. Je hoorde wel eens een term als experimenteel of drone vallen, terwijl sommigen het gewoon op “moeilijke muziek” hielden. De zesde plaat, die in samenwerking met 9000 Records is uitgebracht, zal ongetwijfeld voor een verademing bij de hokjeduwers zorgen. In een persbericht liet de band weten dat op hun zesde plaat de dronefolk vaarwel wordt gezegd en dat de nieuwe nummers raakpunten met 80s-acts zoals Fad Gadget of Throbbing Gristle hebben.

Dat is ook het geval op To Live Vicariously, ook al zal menig luisteraar na deze vreemde trip nog twijfelen in welke muzikale categorie deze duizendpoten alsnog moeten worden geplaatst.

De vier hebben immers alles uit de jaren 80 overhoop gehaald en er onder leiding van producer Koen Gisen een eigen(zinnig) brouwsel van gemaakt. De invloeden zijn enigszins herkenbaar, maar het viertal heeft een eigen (steengoed) geluid dat aanvoelt als gitzwarte bedroompop met een destructief kantje. En geef toe, voor een band die een eigenzinnige cover van Nico’s Evening Of Light opneemt is dat een vlag die de lading dekt.

Alhoewel de band het experimenteren nog lang niet vergeten is, schamen hij er zich niet voor om met melancholische 80s-beats voor de dag te komen. Semantics had op een oude tape van Absolute Body Control kunnen staan en de aanstekelijke pop van Walls And Ways To Hide lijkt op een dolgedraaide kermismolen die popelementen van Soft Cell bevat. De jaren 80 blijven dit zalige plaatje regeren, de drums op Drone For Conan klinken even donker als die van Laurence Tolhurst op Pornography. Neen, we overdrijven helemaal niet! To Live Vicarriously is heerlijk eigenwijs, en met een hoog eightiesgehalte. Uit de winkelrekken halen, beluisteren en wedden dat je verliefd wordt? 

Didier BECU
13/11/2015


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)