tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

25/01/2016 : KNK - Coalescaremonium 2016

KNK

Coalescaremonium 2016

Article
25/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

On 2nd April 2016, Coalescaremonium has its fourth edition. This Brussels festival tries to show the black scene in the broadest sense of the word. Every art genre is presented. A festival to follow, Peek-A-Boo thought, and apart from interviews, we also want to introduce the bands.

The first band we put in the spotlight is the Belgian duo KnK. Members K1 and K2 describe their music as dead body music. And yes, it actually sounds like EBM with a macabre twist.

The history of this band goes back to 2001 when K1 and K2 made music as Tragisch Optimisme. In those days K1 and K2 mostly composed instrumental tracks, some of those were released on the Fear The Light samplers. Because of private matters, the project died. K1 was still active with Slave Seperation and Requiem 537, while K2 had Euforic Existence.

When K1 became a bachelor, he got the urge to make music with his old pal again and so, KnK was born.

Musically, the duo is inspired by old school EBM, industrial, gothic rock and doom metal. Their DBM (Dead Body Music) sounds industrial, and although you never will find the right description for it, we refer to Belgian acts like The Klinik or Liquid G.

Last year they released their first mini-album Dead Body Music, and when they play at Coalescaremonium, their second record (simply named Dead Body Music II) should be out. In short, a dark band to discover!

Didier BECU
25/01/2016


NL

Op 2 april 2016 is Coalescaremonium aan zijn vierde editie toe. Dit festival in Brussel probeert de zwarte scène in de meest ruime zin van het woord voor te stellen, elk kunstgenre komt dan ook aan bod. Een festival om te volgen, zo dacht Peek-A-Boo, en naast interviews willen we je ook de bands individueel voorstellen.

De eerste groep die de spits afbijt is het Belgische duo KnK. De muziek wordt door de leden K1 en K2 omschreven als dead body music, en jawel, het klinkt daadwerkelijk als EBM met een macaber tintje.

De geschiedenis van deze band gaat terug tot 2001 toen K1 en K2 muziek maakten met Tragisch Optimisme. K1 en K2 schreven in die tijd voornamelijk instrumentale nummers waarvan er enkele op de Fear The Light-samplers zijn verschenen. Wegens privéaangelegenheden bloedde het project langzaam dood. K1 was nog wel actief met Slave Seperation en Requiem 537, terwijl K2 zich met Euforic Existence bezighield.

Toen K1 vrijgezel werd, kreeg hij de drang om samen met zijn oude gabber opnieuw muziek te maken, en zo werd KnK geboren.

Muzikaal laat het duo zich inspireren door old school EBM, industrial, gothicrock en doommetal. Hun DBM (Dead Body Music dus) klinkt industrieel en hoewel je nooit de juiste omschrijving zal kunnen vinden, refereren we toch gemakshalve aan Belgische acts zoals The Klinik of Liquid G.

Verleden jaar verscheen hun eerste mini-album Dead Body Music, en ongeveer op het tijdstip van hun optreden op Coalescaremonium moet hun tweede plaatje (eenvoudigweg Dead Body Music II genaamd) uit zijn. Kortom, een duister bandje om te ontdekken!

Didier BECU
25/01/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete