tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

25/01/2016 : KNK - Coalescaremonium 2016

KNK

Coalescaremonium 2016

Article
25/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

On 2nd April 2016, Coalescaremonium has its fourth edition. This Brussels festival tries to show the black scene in the broadest sense of the word. Every art genre is presented. A festival to follow, Peek-A-Boo thought, and apart from interviews, we also want to introduce the bands.

The first band we put in the spotlight is the Belgian duo KnK. Members K1 and K2 describe their music as dead body music. And yes, it actually sounds like EBM with a macabre twist.

The history of this band goes back to 2001 when K1 and K2 made music as Tragisch Optimisme. In those days K1 and K2 mostly composed instrumental tracks, some of those were released on the Fear The Light samplers. Because of private matters, the project died. K1 was still active with Slave Seperation and Requiem 537, while K2 had Euforic Existence.

When K1 became a bachelor, he got the urge to make music with his old pal again and so, KnK was born.

Musically, the duo is inspired by old school EBM, industrial, gothic rock and doom metal. Their DBM (Dead Body Music) sounds industrial, and although you never will find the right description for it, we refer to Belgian acts like The Klinik or Liquid G.

Last year they released their first mini-album Dead Body Music, and when they play at Coalescaremonium, their second record (simply named Dead Body Music II) should be out. In short, a dark band to discover!

Didier BECU
25/01/2016


NL

Op 2 april 2016 is Coalescaremonium aan zijn vierde editie toe. Dit festival in Brussel probeert de zwarte scène in de meest ruime zin van het woord voor te stellen, elk kunstgenre komt dan ook aan bod. Een festival om te volgen, zo dacht Peek-A-Boo, en naast interviews willen we je ook de bands individueel voorstellen.

De eerste groep die de spits afbijt is het Belgische duo KnK. De muziek wordt door de leden K1 en K2 omschreven als dead body music, en jawel, het klinkt daadwerkelijk als EBM met een macaber tintje.

De geschiedenis van deze band gaat terug tot 2001 toen K1 en K2 muziek maakten met Tragisch Optimisme. K1 en K2 schreven in die tijd voornamelijk instrumentale nummers waarvan er enkele op de Fear The Light-samplers zijn verschenen. Wegens privéaangelegenheden bloedde het project langzaam dood. K1 was nog wel actief met Slave Seperation en Requiem 537, terwijl K2 zich met Euforic Existence bezighield.

Toen K1 vrijgezel werd, kreeg hij de drang om samen met zijn oude gabber opnieuw muziek te maken, en zo werd KnK geboren.

Muzikaal laat het duo zich inspireren door old school EBM, industrial, gothicrock en doommetal. Hun DBM (Dead Body Music dus) klinkt industrieel en hoewel je nooit de juiste omschrijving zal kunnen vinden, refereren we toch gemakshalve aan Belgische acts zoals The Klinik of Liquid G.

Verleden jaar verscheen hun eerste mini-album Dead Body Music, en ongeveer op het tijdstip van hun optreden op Coalescaremonium moet hun tweede plaatje (eenvoudigweg Dead Body Music II genaamd) uit zijn. Kortom, een duister bandje om te ontdekken!

Didier BECU
25/01/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures