tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/10/2012 : KNOWN REBEL - Hollow

KNOWN REBEL

Hollow

MusicCD
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[85/100]   

Tympanik Audio
22/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

Back to Tympanik Audio... A relatively young label, they had a few great releases by bands/projects like Acces To Arasaka, Integral, Subheim and Totakeke. You'll known which releases I'm talking about if you glance at this site occasionally. Dirk Geiger's new album was another gem and I'll keep it short, this debut of Known Rebel is also an amazing album, reaching the same level of the previous artists. They hail from Ibiza so they probably get their fair share of mixing...

Hollow is a very subdued, downtempo and sensitive album, great for background music. But there's also a whole storyline behind it, ensuring heaps of aural rewards for active listening. I love all those small detail that make this album so worthwhile, like the snapping fingers in "Mechanical Sunset" or the phat and nasty analogue synths in "Gathering Of The Argonauts". The last one also has a bit more tempo and heavier beats 'n breaks, but it's still very subtle and builds up in a very natural way. These guys obviously listened good to what AtA is doing and they have also managed to make "Hollow" into a wonderfully compelling cinematographic experience.

A long album because of no less than six remixes, the Jaime Irles remix of "Helium-3" is a very slow starter, almost boring even. But in the end it develops into a beautiful song, too bad it took about seven minutes... Mothboy's version of "Herz Aeon" is obviously one of the more faster songs here, his breaks and glitchy approach adds a bit of tempo. Still nothing to get overly excited for. There really isn't much you can do wrong with "Argonauts" and Lucidstatic adds some drama and power to it, a good one!

With the next version of "Helium-3" 2methylbulbe1ol makes a breaky dubstep inferno, no real floorkiller like Balkansky would make, but you can drool on superphat basses, spacial bleeps and mental breaks, WOW! I also like the fact that he does not abuse that wobble bass too much, it just narrows the possibilities... And the perfect ending for this album is made my AtA, mixing "Herz Aeon" into a bleak landscape filled with pitfalls, crevasses and other perilous dangers.

A few remixes are not that great so I would not rate it as high as powerhouses like "Rise", "eLekatota", "Approach" or "Elf Morgen". But nevertheless, a good album!

Tympanik Audio

Known Rebel

Chris KONINGS
22/10/2012


 

Next reviews
GREYHOUND • Prototype
PHILIPP MUNCH • Mondo Obscura
DEAD CAN DANCE • The Renaissance of Dead Can Dance - Review of the concert at Cirque Royal on 29 September
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012
MORLOCKS • The Outlaw Of Fives
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS • Review of the concert at Botanique in Brussels on 8th October 2012
CABARET GREY • Stirring
ORCUS NULLIFY • EP
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
BEN LUKAS BOYSEN • Restive

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
NEBULO • Cardiac
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
DIRK GEIGER • Elf Morgen
SUBHEIM • Approach
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Orbitus

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession