tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/10/2012 : KNOWN REBEL - Hollow

KNOWN REBEL

Hollow

MusicCD
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[85/100]   

Tympanik Audio
22/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

Back to Tympanik Audio... A relatively young label, they had a few great releases by bands/projects like Acces To Arasaka, Integral, Subheim and Totakeke. You'll known which releases I'm talking about if you glance at this site occasionally. Dirk Geiger's new album was another gem and I'll keep it short, this debut of Known Rebel is also an amazing album, reaching the same level of the previous artists. They hail from Ibiza so they probably get their fair share of mixing...

Hollow is a very subdued, downtempo and sensitive album, great for background music. But there's also a whole storyline behind it, ensuring heaps of aural rewards for active listening. I love all those small detail that make this album so worthwhile, like the snapping fingers in "Mechanical Sunset" or the phat and nasty analogue synths in "Gathering Of The Argonauts". The last one also has a bit more tempo and heavier beats 'n breaks, but it's still very subtle and builds up in a very natural way. These guys obviously listened good to what AtA is doing and they have also managed to make "Hollow" into a wonderfully compelling cinematographic experience.

A long album because of no less than six remixes, the Jaime Irles remix of "Helium-3" is a very slow starter, almost boring even. But in the end it develops into a beautiful song, too bad it took about seven minutes... Mothboy's version of "Herz Aeon" is obviously one of the more faster songs here, his breaks and glitchy approach adds a bit of tempo. Still nothing to get overly excited for. There really isn't much you can do wrong with "Argonauts" and Lucidstatic adds some drama and power to it, a good one!

With the next version of "Helium-3" 2methylbulbe1ol makes a breaky dubstep inferno, no real floorkiller like Balkansky would make, but you can drool on superphat basses, spacial bleeps and mental breaks, WOW! I also like the fact that he does not abuse that wobble bass too much, it just narrows the possibilities... And the perfect ending for this album is made my AtA, mixing "Herz Aeon" into a bleak landscape filled with pitfalls, crevasses and other perilous dangers.

A few remixes are not that great so I would not rate it as high as powerhouses like "Rise", "eLekatota", "Approach" or "Elf Morgen". But nevertheless, a good album!

Tympanik Audio

Known Rebel

Chris KONINGS
22/10/2012


 

Next reviews
GREYHOUND • Prototype
PHILIPP MUNCH • Mondo Obscura
DEAD CAN DANCE • The Renaissance of Dead Can Dance - Review of the concert at Cirque Royal on 29 September
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012
MORLOCKS • The Outlaw Of Fives
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS • Review of the concert at Botanique in Brussels on 8th October 2012
CABARET GREY • Stirring
ORCUS NULLIFY • EP
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
BEN LUKAS BOYSEN • Restive

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
NEBULO • Cardiac
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
DIRK GEIGER • Elf Morgen
SUBHEIM • Approach
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Orbitus

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf