tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/10/2012 : KNOWN REBEL - Hollow

KNOWN REBEL

Hollow

MusicCD
AmbientIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[85/100]   

Tympanik Audio
22/10/2012, Chris KONINGS

Back to Tympanik Audio... A relatively young label, they had a few great releases by bands/projects like Acces To Arasaka, Integral, Subheim and Totakeke. You'll known which releases I'm talking about if you glance at this site occasionally. Dirk Geiger's new album was another gem and I'll keep it short, this debut of Known Rebel is also an amazing album, reaching the same level of the previous artists. They hail from Ibiza so they probably get their fair share of mixing...

Hollow is a very subdued, downtempo and sensitive album, great for background music. But there's also a whole storyline behind it, ensuring heaps of aural rewards for active listening. I love all those small detail that make this album so worthwhile, like the snapping fingers in "Mechanical Sunset" or the phat and nasty analogue synths in "Gathering Of The Argonauts". The last one also has a bit more tempo and heavier beats 'n breaks, but it's still very subtle and builds up in a very natural way. These guys obviously listened good to what AtA is doing and they have also managed to make "Hollow" into a wonderfully compelling cinematographic experience.

A long album because of no less than six remixes, the Jaime Irles remix of "Helium-3" is a very slow starter, almost boring even. But in the end it develops into a beautiful song, too bad it took about seven minutes... Mothboy's version of "Herz Aeon" is obviously one of the more faster songs here, his breaks and glitchy approach adds a bit of tempo. Still nothing to get overly excited for. There really isn't much you can do wrong with "Argonauts" and Lucidstatic adds some drama and power to it, a good one!

With the next version of "Helium-3" 2methylbulbe1ol makes a breaky dubstep inferno, no real floorkiller like Balkansky would make, but you can drool on superphat basses, spacial bleeps and mental breaks, WOW! I also like the fact that he does not abuse that wobble bass too much, it just narrows the possibilities... And the perfect ending for this album is made my AtA, mixing "Herz Aeon" into a bleak landscape filled with pitfalls, crevasses and other perilous dangers.

A few remixes are not that great so I would not rate it as high as powerhouses like "Rise", "eLekatota", "Approach" or "Elf Morgen". But nevertheless, a good album!

Tympanik Audio

Known Rebel

Chris KONINGS
22/10/2012


 

Next reviews
GREYHOUND • Prototype
PHILIPP MUNCH • Mondo Obscura
DEAD CAN DANCE • The Renaissance of Dead Can Dance - Review of the concert at Cirque Royal on 29 September
ULTRAVOX • Review of the concert at TRIX in Antwerp on 11th October 2012
MORLOCKS • The Outlaw Of Fives
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS • Review of the concert at Botanique in Brussels on 8th October 2012
CABARET GREY • Stirring
ORCUS NULLIFY • EP
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
BEN LUKAS BOYSEN • Restive

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
LOW VERTICAL • We Are Giants
NEBULO • Cardiac
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
STRANGE2 & NEV.ERA • Diario Sonoro
ROBERT HOOD • Motor: Nighttime World 3
DIRK GEIGER • Elf Morgen
SUBHEIM • Approach
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Orbitus

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut