tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/09/2015 : KODIAK DEATHBEDS - Kodiak Deathbeds

KODIAK DEATHBEDS

Kodiak Deathbeds

MusicCD
Dark Pop

[80/100]   

Self-released
25/09/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Formed of Black Mountain and Lightning Dust singer Amber Webber and Cave Singers' guitarist Derek Fudesco, Kodiak Deathbeds sound so much more wholesome and organic than their awkward moniker may first suggest.

Bridged between traditional country-folk circa Emmylou Harris and nu-Americana such as Alela Diane, Courtney Barrett and the headier Mazzy Star, Kodiak Deathbeds' self-titled debut is all deserted dusty highways, embittered bar-room solitude at the bottom of a glass or a picnic in the meadows, depending on your listening mood.

Never Change is a dark opening gambit, with Webber's husky breathy intonations enriched by Fudesco's baritone strum barely changing pace and the memorable lyric, "We've got our histories to blame / but we'll never change...". Wild Hearts is somewhat warmer and more welcoming with lightly-picked guitar and more of that Webber crooning preempting some nape-hair tickling harmonies throughout.

These certainly are ballads for the bleak, the war-torn and weary and yet possess an element of hope and redemption. "I've been running from these ghosts all my life", Webber intones on the forlorn lullaby Cross That Line, while Rattle and Roar threatens to unleash hell before rooting itself in the same resonating groove that only two people can make when stripped to the bone.

In fact, Kodiak Deathbeds is really rather pretty and rarely run of the mill. Only Borderline dares to engage in any hillbilly rhythm before the cloak of glum shrouds the closing song We Found a Home, sounding something like Kim Deal (if she'd gone a bit Radio 2).

This is one of those albums borne out of a long travelogue through highs and lows, ups and downs and the inevitable emotional wrench or two. Rather endearing and captivating - and it only takes 32 minutes to tell a good story.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
25/09/2015


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still