tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

KORNEL MUNDRUCZO

White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
ThrillerWorld Cinema
Filmfest Gent
22/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

A film about Hungarian dogs. Yes, a movie as such was also part of this year’s Filmfest Ghent. But don’t panic, programmer Wim de Witte hasn’t choose the adventures of the East-European Boomer. Nah, White God (a title which refers to Samuel Fuller’s classic White Dog) is an apocalyptic thriller in where dogs take over the town of Budapest. A sort of The Walking Dead with dogs.

This quite remarkable movie from Kornél Mundruczó was hailed during the last edition of Cannes. One of the dogs even gathered a Palm Dog (that’s a Golden Palm for a dog, so yes, such things exist in Cannes!) The film starts with a scary image from a young girl who’s been chased by tons of bloody hounds. Soon after, the director begins to explain why these animals have decided to take revenge. Mind you, the reason is shocking and many scenes are much harder than those terrible ones from Amores Perros. Agreed, there are some moments in where Kornél Mundruczó exagerrates too much. Especially the finale is a bit silly, but apart from that you can say that White God is one of the weirdest experiences you’ll have in the theatres. After The Birds, here come the dogs!

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


NL

Een film over Hongaarse honden. Jawel, dat stond ook het programma van Filmfest Ghent. Maar geen nood, Wim De Witte en de zijnen hebben niet de avonturen van de Oost-Europese Boomer uitgekozen, maar wel een opmerkelijke apocalyptische thriller waarin talrijke honden Boedapest onveilig maken. Een soort van The Walking Dead, maar dan met honden dus.

In Cannes werd deze opmerkelijke film van Kornél Mundruczó op handen gedragen en één van de viervoeters kreeg zelfs een Palm Dog uitgereikt (dat is dus een Gouden Palm voor een hond, en ja dat bestaat dus!) De film begint met een fascinerende scène waarin een meisje op een fiets wordt nagezeten door een horde bloeddorstige honden. Meteen daarna ontrafelt de Hongaarse cineast hoe het komt dat deze dieren zo zijn geworden. Het antwoord daarop doet je slikken, het is zelfs zo erg dat de hondonvriendelijke scènes uit Amores Perros op voer voor mietjes lijkt. Toegegeven, soms gaat Kornél Mundruczó wel eens over de scheef met bijv. een net iets te belachelijke finale, maar als rariteit kan White God (een verwijzing naar Samuel Fullers klassieker White Dog met Kristy McNichol) in ieder geval tellen!

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : KORNEL MUNDRUCZO - White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)