tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/12/2015 : KRISTOFFER BOLANDER - I Forgive Nothing

KRISTOFFER BOLANDER

I Forgive Nothing

MusicCD
Indie

[65/100]   

Tapete Records
15/12/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Sweden's production-line of heartstring-tugging songwriters continues apace with the emergence of Kristoffer Bolander and his first stab at solo success. His band Holmes and the writer Samuel Beckett serve as inspirations and influences for much of I Forgive Nothing, while Bolander's angelic voice, a hybrid of Neil Young, Mattias Edlund from '90s Swedish soft-rockers The Motorhomes and Mew's Jonas Bjerre, carries the melancholia over the pop threshold.

For every anthemic stomper like Running Man and the celestial title track, there's a sad-face opposite waiting to chime in. The six-minute epic Rooted is no exception with its acoustic gloom and minor-key mood that finally springs into mid-paced life after a couple of tear-duct tickling minutes of acoustic guitar and atmospherics. Sometimes you need another few minutes to drive home the point and as the distressed electric guitars and pounding drums increase their intensity, I can't help thinking this could have been the album's curtain call.

Starlight and Scale return to more familiar territory, both tuneful, hope-bearing and wide-eyed mini-epics that showcase Bolander's unerring ability to craft a song from little more than a handful of organic instruments. And when the man opts to produce something in less than two minutes, as with Home, it's all very special and less is more.

I Forgive Nothing is worthy of your time even if the overall result is as far from the party as you could wish to be. Sometimes solitude wins out.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


NL

Ze blijven maar komen de Zweedse singersongwriters die je hart proberen te veroveren! Deze keer is het de beurt aan Kristoffer Bolander, die het met deze plaat solo wil maken. De grootste inspiratie uit I Forgive Nothing komt uit zijn eigen band Holmes en het oeuvre van Samuel Beckett, terwijl Bolanders engelachtige stem een hybride is van Neil Young, Mattias Edlund (van de Zweedse softrockers The Motorhomes) en Mew-frontman Jonas Bjerre. Muzikaal is het melancholie met wat pop.

Het album is zeer afwisselend. Zo heb je de meezinger Running Man of het hemelse titelnummer, maar er staan ook treurwilgen op dit debuut. Rooted wordt gekenmerkt door zijn somberheid. Het nummer begint met een trage akoestische gitaar die uiteindelijk geheel tot leven komt en zelfs atmosferisch wordt. Wel, duurt dat eventjes waardoor het nummer, mede door de beukende drums, intenser wordt. Ik kan er niets aan doen, maar dit nummer was anders het hoogtepunt van de plaat geworden.

Met Starlight en Scale zijn we weer op bekend terrein, de beide nummers zijn zowel melodieus als hoopvol en tonen feilloos aan wat voor een kracht Bolander uit een paar organische instrumenten kan toveren. Zelfs als de man ervoor kiest om iets in minder dan twee minuten te doen, zoals op Home, blijft het nog altijd heel bijzonder.

I Forgive Nothing is je tijd meer dan waard, ook al besef je dat het uiteindelijke resultaat nog beter had kunnen zijn, maar soms is het de eenzaamheid die wint.

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence