tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/12/2015 : KRISTOFFER BOLANDER - I Forgive Nothing

KRISTOFFER BOLANDER

I Forgive Nothing

MusicCD
Indie

[65/100]   

Tapete Records
15/12/2015, Paul PLEDGER

EN

Sweden's production-line of heartstring-tugging songwriters continues apace with the emergence of Kristoffer Bolander and his first stab at solo success. His band Holmes and the writer Samuel Beckett serve as inspirations and influences for much of I Forgive Nothing, while Bolander's angelic voice, a hybrid of Neil Young, Mattias Edlund from '90s Swedish soft-rockers The Motorhomes and Mew's Jonas Bjerre, carries the melancholia over the pop threshold.

For every anthemic stomper like Running Man and the celestial title track, there's a sad-face opposite waiting to chime in. The six-minute epic Rooted is no exception with its acoustic gloom and minor-key mood that finally springs into mid-paced life after a couple of tear-duct tickling minutes of acoustic guitar and atmospherics. Sometimes you need another few minutes to drive home the point and as the distressed electric guitars and pounding drums increase their intensity, I can't help thinking this could have been the album's curtain call.

Starlight and Scale return to more familiar territory, both tuneful, hope-bearing and wide-eyed mini-epics that showcase Bolander's unerring ability to craft a song from little more than a handful of organic instruments. And when the man opts to produce something in less than two minutes, as with Home, it's all very special and less is more.

I Forgive Nothing is worthy of your time even if the overall result is as far from the party as you could wish to be. Sometimes solitude wins out.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


NL

Ze blijven maar komen de Zweedse singersongwriters die je hart proberen te veroveren! Deze keer is het de beurt aan Kristoffer Bolander, die het met deze plaat solo wil maken. De grootste inspiratie uit I Forgive Nothing komt uit zijn eigen band Holmes en het oeuvre van Samuel Beckett, terwijl Bolanders engelachtige stem een hybride is van Neil Young, Mattias Edlund (van de Zweedse softrockers The Motorhomes) en Mew-frontman Jonas Bjerre. Muzikaal is het melancholie met wat pop.

Het album is zeer afwisselend. Zo heb je de meezinger Running Man of het hemelse titelnummer, maar er staan ook treurwilgen op dit debuut. Rooted wordt gekenmerkt door zijn somberheid. Het nummer begint met een trage akoestische gitaar die uiteindelijk geheel tot leven komt en zelfs atmosferisch wordt. Wel, duurt dat eventjes waardoor het nummer, mede door de beukende drums, intenser wordt. Ik kan er niets aan doen, maar dit nummer was anders het hoogtepunt van de plaat geworden.

Met Starlight en Scale zijn we weer op bekend terrein, de beide nummers zijn zowel melodieus als hoopvol en tonen feilloos aan wat voor een kracht Bolander uit een paar organische instrumenten kan toveren. Zelfs als de man ervoor kiest om iets in minder dan twee minuten te doen, zoals op Home, blijft het nog altijd heel bijzonder.

I Forgive Nothing is je tijd meer dan waard, ook al besef je dat het uiteindelijke resultaat nog beter had kunnen zijn, maar soms is het de eenzaamheid die wint.

Paul PLEDGER
15/12/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain