tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW - The Rain

KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW

The Rain

Concert
MetalSinger Songwriter

[88/100]   
09/12/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

On March 25 singer-songwriter Kristoffer Gildenlöw played in Zoetermeer (The Netherlands). This gig was part of the Judas Tour 2016 by Antimatter that filmed its first concert film there. Frankly, Kristoffer Gildenlöw was an unknown name to me. But unknown certainly doesn’t mean unloved. After some research, I discovered that he used to be the bass player of the prog metal band Pain Of Salvation. Now he’s a solo artist, but he shared the stage with eight class musicians including his ex-Pain Of Salvation colleague Frederik Hermansson.

The gig was the release party of his newest album The Rain. When I entered the venue, I was surprised b ecause I saw a kind of mesh that was put before the stage on which abstract images were projected, while music was performed in the background. My curiosity was aroused and when I looked around, I was not the only one.
On the canvas a film was projected. Not some visuals, but a real movie about a man who loses his wife who suffers from Alzheimer. The film began with some images of their youth, images as a young couple, their family and kids... until suddenly she got Alzheimer. The man tells how he experienced the degradation process of his wife and how he cared for her as long as possible so that she could stay in her familiar surroundings.

Quite moving and a very challenging movie too. Not really the usual start of a gig. The public was quiet, just like the people are at the movies. You could hear a pin drop. This film took more than five minutes. The musicians played the accompanying music for the film, which made everything more captivating. Gradually the projection became transparent and you could see the musicians through the canvas. For me it was a pretty novel approach to use video projections during concerts. Depending on the atmosphere, the director could emphasize either on the band or on the projection, or both.

Rain, the album, is actually the musical representation of the film. All feelings of the film are represented in a sublime way during the concert: helplessness, confusion, doubt, loss and sadness, but also joy, security and love. All performed with very sensitive instruments such as piano, violin and an acoustic guitar during the more melancholic moments.

Remarkable were the polyphonic songs in which completely different texts were sung by three singers to show the confusion of a patient with Alzheimer's disease. The audience became a part of the story and enjoyed it. This concert impressed me.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


NL

Op 25 maart speelde singer/songwriter Kristoffer Gildenlöw in de Boerderij in Zoetermeer. Dit optreden kaderde in de Judas Tour 2016 van Antimatter dat daar zijn eerste concertfilm kwam opnemen. Eerlijk gezegd was Kristoffer Gildenlöw voor mij een vrij onbekende naam. Maar onbekend is bij mij zeker niet onbemind. Wat opzoekingswerk leerde me dat hij jaren de bassist van de prog-metalformatie Pain Of Salvation was en nu als solo artist door het leven gaat. Solo artist is eigenlijk een slechte woordkeuze, want Kristoffer Gildenlöw deelde het podium met maar liefst acht andere klassemuzikanten waaronder ex-Pain Of Salvation-collega Frederik Hermansson.

Het optreden was de releaseparty voor zijn nieuwst album The Rain. Toen ik de zaal binnenkwam keek ik even raar op omdat ik zag dat een heel fijn doek, eerder een soort gaas voor het podium gespannen was. Op dat doek werden wat abstracte beelden geprojecteerd, eerder een soort screensavers terwijl er wat achtergrond muziek speelde. Mijn nieuwsgierigheid was meteen gewekt en als ik zo om me heen keek was ik niet de enige die hieromtrent wat vragen had. Terwijl het aanwezige publiek nog wat drank haalde en zich een plekje zocht, ging in de zaal langzaam het licht uit. Op het doek voor het podium werd een film geprojecteerd. Niet zomaar wat visuals maar een echte film over hoe een man zijn vrouw verliest aan Alzheimer. De film begon met beelden uit hun jeugd als verliefd koppel en volgde zo de geschiedenis van het gezin. Er werd getrouwd, er kwamen kinderen… tot plots de eerste problemen bij de vrouw de kop opstaken. De man vertelde hoe hij het aftakelingsproces van zijn vrouw had ervaren en hoe hij zolang mogelijk voor haar thuis zorgde zodat ze in haar vertrouwde omgeving kon blijven. Heel aangrijpend allemaal, heel confronterend ook. Niet echt de start van een optreden zoals ik er al vele heb meegemaakt. In de zaal was het muisstil, net zoals in een bioscoop. Je kon een naald horen vallen. Hier en daar zag je echt wel mensen met een krop in de keel. De film duurde meer dan vijf minuten.

De muzikanten speelden de begeleidende muziek van deze film live, wat het geheel nog beklijvender maakte. Langzamerhand werd de projectie transparanter en zag je door het doek de muzikanten staan. Zo werd afwisselend een solomuzikant, een zanger of de totale band izichtbaar n functie van het concept. Wat mij betreft een heel mooie nieuwe benadering van het gebruik van videoprojecties tijdens concerten. Meestal zie je projecties achter het podium en de band, in dit geval was het omgekeerd en dat gaf een heel mooi effect. Afhankelijk van de sfeer kon de regisseur de klemtoon leggen op ofwel de band ofwel de projectie of op beide. Dat biedt heel veel en vooral heel mooie mogelijkheden voor het bepalen van de sfeer.

Het album The Rain is eigenlijk de muzikale uitbeelding van de film. Alle gevoelens die in de film aanbod kwamen, werden tijdens het concert op sublieme wijze herhaald. Gevoelens van onmacht, verwarring, twijfel, verlies en verdriet, maar ook blijdschap, geborgenheid en liefde werden op een verrassende wijze door de band op het publiek losgelaten. Heel gevoelig allemaal. Met instrumenten als piano, viool en akoestische gitaar werden de meer melancholische momenten weergegeven terwijl het er bij momenten ook stevig aan toeging toen de vijf gitaristen terzelfdertijd speelden. Kristoffer, die zichzelf op de piano begeleidde, wisselde solozang af met meerstemmige songs die soms heel eigenaardig in elkaar overliepen of die door drie zangers door elkaar werden gezongen, met volledig andere teksten om zo de verwarring die een Alzheimer patiënt ervaart, weer te geven. Het publiek was duidelijk mee in het verhaal en genoot van deze merkwaardige performance.

Dit concert heeft ook op mij een diepe indruk gemaakt. Het laat je toch ook eens bij deze toch wel wat zware materie stilstaan en het is mooi hoe je dit op zo’n mooie serene manier aan iedereen duidelijk kan maken. Als je op zo’n manier je nieuwe album komt voorstellen, ben ik ervan overtuigd dat het bij velen nog lang zal nazinderen.

Ruben SAEY
09/12/2016


Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl