tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination

KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI

Illumination

MovieMovie classics
AbstractArthouseDocumentary

[74/100]   

Second Run DVD
07/02/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Illumination from Krzysztof Zanussi is a very remarkable movie. Not difficult, but one that throws all rules from conventional directing (if that exists!) overboard. His own style can be best compared with the one from Alain Resnais. So not your usually cinema, that is! But would you expect something different from a physicist?


Krzysztof Zanussi is indeed in love with physics, but the love isn’t mutual as according to the director he never got the Nobel Prize. Zanussi is a serous man, but he definitely knows how to deal with serious things in a funny way, even with the pressure of the Sovjets. According to him the best thing a scientist could do back then was studying physics or mathematics as that can’t be manipulated.


In the 60’s he understood that his heart belonged to filmmaking. In 1966 he finished his studies at the famous Film School from Lódź, even if he never said goodbye to his scientist-dream, something you can see in his movies. A good example is Illumination / Iluminacja from 1973, praised by Martin Scorsese and now available on Second Run DVD.


In this movie we follow a weird physicist (Stanisław Latałło) who asks during 90 minutes only one question: can you explain the sense of life by science? He thinks it’s possible to do so and he examines all aspects of life: from happiness to death, a scene that is directed in the most morbid way. The end is both logic and disappointing: there are simply no answers. Tell us something new indeed! The only thing that is left is simply returning to the safe haven of family.


Illumination is a sort of collage-movie with a Godard-touch. You see everything, just like in real life. The movie is a real tip for movie buffs who are longing for something totally different. On this DVD you can also find a very interesting interview and the short movie A Trace (Ślad) that is directed by Marcin Latałło, son of actor Stanisław. The short movie portrays the life of Stanislaw who tragically died when climbing a mountain.

Illumination is now out on Second Run DVD.

Didier BECU
07/02/2014


NL

Illumination (Verlichting) van Krzysztof Zanussi is een zeer ongewone film. Geen moeilijke prent, wel één die alle regels (mochten die al bestaan) van conventionele filmregie overboord gooit. Zijn aparte stijl kun je eigenlijk het best met die van Alain Resnais vergelijken. Geen alledaagse cinema dus, maar had je iets anders van een fysicus verwacht?


Krzysztof Zanussi is inderdaad verzot op natuurkunde, ook al onthult de wetenschapper/filmer in een interview dat de liefde niet wederzijds is: hij heeft immers nog nooit de Nobelprijs gewonnen. Neen, Zanussi is wel een ernstige man, maar kan alles zeer goed relativeren, zelfs de druk van de Sovjets. Het beste wat je destijds als wetenschapper kon studeren was wiskunde of fysica, dat zijn nu eenmaal vakken die de verdrukkers niet naar eigen hand kunnen zetten.


In de jaren 60 begreep de Pool evenwel dat zijn hart in werkelijkheid voor de film klopte en in 1966 studeerde hij aan de filmschool van Lódź af, ook al heeft hij de wetenschap nooit verlaten: iets wat je maar al te goed merkt in zijn prenten. Een mooi voorbeeld daarvan is de door Martin Scorsese geprezen en in 1973 uitgebrachte Illumination / Iluminacja die nu op Second Run DVD is verschenen.


In Illumination volgen we een zonderlinge wetenschapper (Stanisław Latałło) die anderhalf uur zich maar één vraag stelt: kun je de zin van het leven vinden via de wetenschap? De onderzoeker denkt dat hij via de wetenschap een antwoord op al zijn vragen kan krijgen. Hij probeert alle aspecten van het leven te doorgronden: van geluk tot de dood (op akelige wijze in beeld gebracht). Het einde is zowel logisch als ontgoochelend: er zijn geen antwoorden en daarom keert de geleerde op het einde gewoon naar het geborgen gevoel van zijn gezin terug.


Illumination is een soort van collagefilm met Godard-trekjes waarin je van alles ziet, net als in het echte leven dus. Een regelrechte aanrader voor cinefielen die iets aparts willen. Op deze dvd vind je tevens een interessant interview met de regisseur, alsook de kortfilm A Trace (Ślad) die door Marcin Latałło is gemaakt, zoon van hoofdrolspeler Stanisław. De kortfilm werpt een licht op het bijzondere leven van deze acteur die tijdens een bergklim tragisch om het leven kwam.

Illumination is uitgebracht op Second Run DVD.

 

Didier BECU
07/02/2014


07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination 07/02/2014 : KRZYSTOF ZANUSSI - Illumination

 

Next reviews
STEVE ROACH & KELLY DAVID • The Long Night
HERMAN YAU • IP MAN - FINAL FIGHT
VIGILANTE • It's our time
LAVVI EBBEL • VICTORIA (2014 BUSCEMI REMIX)
MIKAEL HAFSTROM • Escape Plan
AVSKYDD • Avskydd The new Fredrik Croona´s project
PAULINA CASSIDY • Sugar Wingshiver
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
SANG-SOO IM • The taste of money
ZONE TRIPPER • Voyager EP

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
ALSO • Live in Celovec
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)

 

Same genre: DOCUMENTARY
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
MARC BAUDER • Master of the Universe
PETER ANTHONY • The Man who Saved the World
THOMAS WALLNER & EVA KUPPER • Gardenia
JOACHIM FEST • Speer, The Final Verdict ׀ Speer
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Kent Jones: Hitchcock/Truffaut
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • B-Movie: Lust & Sound in West-Berlin 1979-1989
• OPERATION BARBAROSSA
PETER ROBINSON • Asylum
GABE POLSKY • Red Army

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween