tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

15/08/2019 : L'AVENIR - Requiem And Live

L'AVENIR

Requiem And Live

MusicCD / Digital
MinimalSynth Wave

[71/100]   

Cold Beats Records
15/08/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

L'Avenir is the cold-synth-side project of musician and sound artist Jason Sloan. In the meantime a veteran who has been producing contemplative soundscapes for almost 20 years now. He founded L'Avenir in 2012 as a side project to express himself musically while he released more than a dozen albums, by his moniker, on various labels. Requiem, his most recent work, is released on Cold Beats Records. When not touring or recording, Sloan is a professor who teaches in the Interactive Arts Department at the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, Maryland.

‘Requiem’ makes it clear from the start that going to be a chilly trip and of little cheerfulness. This is not a steeplechase, but more a stroll in the park. Minimal in terms of instruments, weaned with a sounding from the background and a nice almost goody-goody voice, reminiscent of some of synth-pop greatest vocalists. Maybe not always a guarantee for a high vocal performance, but we are not sitting in the opera, are we? We couldn’t more off, when ‘New Horizon’ starts steadily and growling. Slightly less chilly than the opening track and a little more spiced with heaps of sounds that Sloan has been collecting on for years.

Engaged in deep in the electronic music spectrum for almost two decades now, Mr Sloan can conjure some great sounds from his magic synth hat. ‘Death in The Mirror’ proves he does not refrain from going in the little red LED light when it comes down to the basses.

It was announced as cold synth wave and that’s exactly what it is. After a while, I only get the feeling it might be a little bit too much of the same here. This without being negative about the global album at all. But the sound, both musical and vocal, does not surprise in the end. Like a flashback 30 years back in time when this kind of wave managed to satisfy the dark and extravagant people. Those were beautiful times indeed and they get a true tribute on this album. ‘But yet again, After The Rain’, the final song, makes us longing for more. Partly due to its somewhat shoe-gaze / psychedelic tone, fi might fuel our hunger. A dessert is often a worthy end to dinner. Like it is here, albeit the dinner was served in a modest brasserie, decent but without being a top-chef meal.

As a bonus, there is an 8-track live footage. Recorded very pure, featuring a few songs of this Requiem, combined with some earlier work. It sounds icy cold, extremely clean but well produced.

With his project L’Avenir, Jason Sloan certainly deserves a pertinent place in this genre. Without being the best I’ve ever heard, it's still enjoyable, cold to the bone and able to get a grip on you. Maybe just give it a try!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/08/2019


NL

L'Avenir is het kille synth-side project van muzikant en geluidskunstenaar Jason Sloan. Intussen een veteraan die al bijna 20 jaar contemplatieve soundscapes produceert. Hij richtte L'Avenir op in 2012 als een zijproject muzikaal te uiten. Hij bracht al meer dan een dozijn albums uit op zijn eigen naam, en dit bij diverse labels. Requiem, zijn jongste worp, komt uit op Cold Beats Records. Wanneer hij niet tourt of opneemt is Sloan een professor die les geeft op de afdeling Interactive Arts aan het Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, Maryland.

Dat het kil en van weinig vrolijkheid gespeend is maakt Requiem van bij het begin duidelijk. Zonder in galop te gaan, is dit een wandeltochtje. Minimaal qua instrumenten, gespeend met een vanop de achtergrond klinkende en op zich vrij braaf stemgeluid. Dat bij een eerste luisterbeurt in flarden aan enkele syntpop-grootheden doet denken. Niet steeds een garantie voor vocaal hoogstaande prestaties. Maar we zitten niet in de opera, toch? Verre van, als New Horizon zich gestaag en grommend op gang trekt. Iets minder kil dan de opener en al iets meer doorspekt met een arsenaal klanken die Sloan al jarenlang graag in het rond slingert.
Bijna twee decennia lang in de diepte bezig in het electronische spectrum, kan de heer Sloan geweldige sounds uit zijn synth-hoed toveren. En dat die diep in het rood gaan wat bassen betreft, dat bewijst Death in The Mirror.
Het was aangekondigd als kille synthwave en dat is het ook. Alleen bekruipt me het gevoel dat het iets teveel van hetzelfde is. Hiermee wil ik totaal géén afbreuk doen aan het album. Maar de sound, zowel muzikaal als vocaal, weet niet echt te verrassen. We vertoeven 30 jaar terug in de tijd. Waarin dit soort wave het donkere extravagante volk wel wist te paaien. Het waren mooie tijden die hier een waar eerbetoon krijgen. After The Rain-Final is een nummer dat mede door zijn ietwat shoegaze/psychedelische toon als uitsmijter de apetijt aanwakkert. Een dessert is veelal een waardige afsluiter van een diner. En dat is het ook hier, zij het dat het diner werd genuttigd in de betere brasserie, zonder van immens hoog niveau te zijn.

Als bonus is er een 8 nummers tellende live-footage. Heel zuiver opgenomen, krijgen we een lezing van een paar songs op Requiem, gecombineerd met eerder werk. Het klinkt ijzig koud, uitermate clean en geweldig gemaakt.

Jason Sloan mag met zijn project L’Avenir in het genre zeker een pertinente plaats krijgen Zonder het beste te zijn dat ik al hoorde is het genietbaar, kil tot op het bot en met momenten weet het je te pakken. Give it a try….

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/08/2019


15/08/2019 : L'AVENIR - Requiem And Live 15/08/2019 : L'AVENIR - Requiem And Live

Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)