tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015

LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS

Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015

Concert
09/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I had chosen this evening because I surely wanted to see ‘La Muerte’ again and also because I never had the opportunity to see ‘The Jesus & The Mary Chain’ live on stage.

"La Muerte" had the dubious honor of opening on a sunlit stage. You would think that their black, noisy music is not suited for such an occasion, but they did it with style. Their brooding music was doing great and fits perfectly with the event. With a setlist of their more famous work, they proved that the expiration date on their music is not on the agenda yet. They sounded quite relevant and energetic. The singer had pulled a burlap bag over his head and gave 'slipknot-wise' the best of himself. The guitarist had his red jacket on from years back and played razor sharp. They also had someone on stage to launch a V8 engine during "Speed, Steel and Gasoline". Unfortunately, the guy was pretty drunk and tried to steal the show. Fortunately, someone piloted him off the stage. They ended with the cover ‘Wild Things’ from TheTroggs. A good show.

"Mark Lanegan" has had a pretty hard life of drugs and other addictions. Moreover, performing is not his favorite activity. Today, however, he acquitted himself well on his job, in spite of the loss of a good friend a few days earlier. The band played well and Lanegan chose to bring his most uptempo songs. Very pleasant appearance.

"Jesus & the Mary Chain" came to play the debut album 'Psycho Candy'. At the time, an innovative album, now a little overtaken by time. Yet the songs were quite sticky. For me, 'Automatic' is the favourite album, a sort of a crossover between '' Darklands" and "Psychocandy ". The singer was at times petulant toward his micro standard micro as well as towards the second guitarist. it did not end in a fight, which often was the case in the past. The encores (including April Skies, Blues from a Gun, Head On,...) sounded really well, so we can speak of a successful passage in Lokeren.

I had no great expectations of "The Kaiser Chiefs". In the past I was sometimes disillusioned about the singing quality. But, Wilson was visibly emaciated and looked quite sharp. I cannot say a bad wordaAbout his vocal performance this time. It was entertaining as always and they brought their famous hits, with here and there a great new song from their upcoming new album.

So, this was an entertaining evening.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/08/2015


NL

Ik verkoos om deze avond te gaan omdat ik absoluut nog eens ‘La Muerte’ wilde terugzien en omdat ik nog nooit eerder ‘the Jesus & The Mary Chain’ live had meegemaakt.

“La Muerte” had de twijfelachtige eer om op een zonovergoten plein te openen. Je zou denken dat hun gitzwarte, noisy muziek daarvoor niet gepast is, maar ze deden het met stijl. Hun broeierige muziek deed het fantastisch en paste uitstekend bij het evenement. Ze bewezen, met een setlist bestaande uit hun bekender werk, dat de houdbaarheidsdatum van hun muziek nog niet verstreken is. Integendeel, ze klonken vrij relevant en energiek. De zanger had voor de gelegenheid een jutezak over zijn hoofd getrokken en gaf ‘slipknot-gewijs’ het beste van zichzelf. De gitarist had zijn rood jasje van jaren terug afgestoft en speelde messcherp. Ze hadden ook iemand meegebracht om een V8 motor te starten tijdens ‘Speed, steel and gasoline’. Helaas was de man vrij beschonken en probeerde hij bij momenten de show te stelen. Gelukkig werd die uiteindelijk van het podium geloodst. Afsluiten deden ze met de Troggs-cover ‘Wild Thing’. Een prima show.

“Mark Lanegan” heeft al een vrij zwaar leven van drugs en andere verslavingen achter de rug. Bovendien is optreden niet zijn favoriete bezigheid; Vandaag kweet hij zich echter goed van zijn job, ondanks het verlies van een goede vriend enkele dagen eerder. De band speelde goed en Lanegan koos ervoor de meeste nummers uptempo te brengen. Heel aangenaam optreden.

“Jesus & the Mary Chain” kwamen z'n debuut ‘Psychocandy’ brengen. Indertijd een vernieuwende plaat, zij het nu een beetje ingehaald door de tijd. Maar toch bleven de songs behoorlijk plakken. Voor mij blijft ‘Automatic’ het favoriete album, een crossover van ‘’Darklands” en “Psychocandy” is. De zanger was bij momenten nukkig tegen zijn microstandaard alsook tegen de tweede gitarist. Tot een gevecht, zoals vroeger wel eens gebeurde, kwam het gelukkig niet. Met de toegifts (o.a. April Skies, Blues from a Gun, Head On,…) kwam alles echt goed op gang zodat we alsnog van een geslaagde passage in Lokeren kunnen spreken.

Bij “The Kaiser Chiefs” had ik geen grote verwachtingen. In het verleden ontgoochelde de zangkwaliteit mij wel eens. Maar zie, Wilson was zichtbaar vermagerd en oogde vrij scherp. Over zijn zangprestaties kan ik geen slecht woord zeggen dit keer. Entertainend zoals altijd, brachten ze de bekende hits met hier en daar een prima nieuw nummer uit hun nog te verschijnen nieuw album.

Een geslaagde avond…

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/08/2015


09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015

Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat