tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015

LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS

Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015

Concert
09/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

I had chosen this evening because I surely wanted to see ‘La Muerte’ again and also because I never had the opportunity to see ‘The Jesus & The Mary Chain’ live on stage.

"La Muerte" had the dubious honor of opening on a sunlit stage. You would think that their black, noisy music is not suited for such an occasion, but they did it with style. Their brooding music was doing great and fits perfectly with the event. With a setlist of their more famous work, they proved that the expiration date on their music is not on the agenda yet. They sounded quite relevant and energetic. The singer had pulled a burlap bag over his head and gave 'slipknot-wise' the best of himself. The guitarist had his red jacket on from years back and played razor sharp. They also had someone on stage to launch a V8 engine during "Speed, Steel and Gasoline". Unfortunately, the guy was pretty drunk and tried to steal the show. Fortunately, someone piloted him off the stage. They ended with the cover ‘Wild Things’ from TheTroggs. A good show.

"Mark Lanegan" has had a pretty hard life of drugs and other addictions. Moreover, performing is not his favorite activity. Today, however, he acquitted himself well on his job, in spite of the loss of a good friend a few days earlier. The band played well and Lanegan chose to bring his most uptempo songs. Very pleasant appearance.

"Jesus & the Mary Chain" came to play the debut album 'Psycho Candy'. At the time, an innovative album, now a little overtaken by time. Yet the songs were quite sticky. For me, 'Automatic' is the favourite album, a sort of a crossover between '' Darklands" and "Psychocandy ". The singer was at times petulant toward his micro standard micro as well as towards the second guitarist. it did not end in a fight, which often was the case in the past. The encores (including April Skies, Blues from a Gun, Head On,...) sounded really well, so we can speak of a successful passage in Lokeren.

I had no great expectations of "The Kaiser Chiefs". In the past I was sometimes disillusioned about the singing quality. But, Wilson was visibly emaciated and looked quite sharp. I cannot say a bad wordaAbout his vocal performance this time. It was entertaining as always and they brought their famous hits, with here and there a great new song from their upcoming new album.

So, this was an entertaining evening.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/08/2015


NL

Ik verkoos om deze avond te gaan omdat ik absoluut nog eens ‘La Muerte’ wilde terugzien en omdat ik nog nooit eerder ‘the Jesus & The Mary Chain’ live had meegemaakt.

“La Muerte” had de twijfelachtige eer om op een zonovergoten plein te openen. Je zou denken dat hun gitzwarte, noisy muziek daarvoor niet gepast is, maar ze deden het met stijl. Hun broeierige muziek deed het fantastisch en paste uitstekend bij het evenement. Ze bewezen, met een setlist bestaande uit hun bekender werk, dat de houdbaarheidsdatum van hun muziek nog niet verstreken is. Integendeel, ze klonken vrij relevant en energiek. De zanger had voor de gelegenheid een jutezak over zijn hoofd getrokken en gaf ‘slipknot-gewijs’ het beste van zichzelf. De gitarist had zijn rood jasje van jaren terug afgestoft en speelde messcherp. Ze hadden ook iemand meegebracht om een V8 motor te starten tijdens ‘Speed, steel and gasoline’. Helaas was de man vrij beschonken en probeerde hij bij momenten de show te stelen. Gelukkig werd die uiteindelijk van het podium geloodst. Afsluiten deden ze met de Troggs-cover ‘Wild Thing’. Een prima show.

“Mark Lanegan” heeft al een vrij zwaar leven van drugs en andere verslavingen achter de rug. Bovendien is optreden niet zijn favoriete bezigheid; Vandaag kweet hij zich echter goed van zijn job, ondanks het verlies van een goede vriend enkele dagen eerder. De band speelde goed en Lanegan koos ervoor de meeste nummers uptempo te brengen. Heel aangenaam optreden.

“Jesus & the Mary Chain” kwamen z'n debuut ‘Psychocandy’ brengen. Indertijd een vernieuwende plaat, zij het nu een beetje ingehaald door de tijd. Maar toch bleven de songs behoorlijk plakken. Voor mij blijft ‘Automatic’ het favoriete album, een crossover van ‘’Darklands” en “Psychocandy” is. De zanger was bij momenten nukkig tegen zijn microstandaard alsook tegen de tweede gitarist. Tot een gevecht, zoals vroeger wel eens gebeurde, kwam het gelukkig niet. Met de toegifts (o.a. April Skies, Blues from a Gun, Head On,…) kwam alles echt goed op gang zodat we alsnog van een geslaagde passage in Lokeren kunnen spreken.

Bij “The Kaiser Chiefs” had ik geen grote verwachtingen. In het verleden ontgoochelde de zangkwaliteit mij wel eens. Maar zie, Wilson was zichtbaar vermagerd en oogde vrij scherp. Over zijn zangprestaties kan ik geen slecht woord zeggen dit keer. Entertainend zoals altijd, brachten ze de bekende hits met hier en daar een prima nieuw nummer uit hun nog te verschijnen nieuw album.

Een geslaagde avond…

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/08/2015


09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015 09/08/2015 : LA MUERTE, MARK LANEGAN, JESUS & THE MARY CHAIN, KAISER CHIEFS - Lokerse Feesten 5/08/2015

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
AEVERIUM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
HELL BOULEVARD
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NITZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire