tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE - Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)

LA MUERTE/MY DILIGENCE

Kortrijk, De Kreun (10/03/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

My Diligence as support act of La Muerte is certainly no surprise.The band released the EP on the same label (Mottow Soundz), produced by Dee -J (the guitarist of La Muerte). And John Sailor, Francois Peeters and Gabriel Marlier have, just like their friends from Brussels, the talent to compose powerful rock ‘n roll. The audience stood at a safe distance to witness the sound bursts, but they were very much appreciated. It could hardly be otherwise, because even though their garage rock is primarily intended for music fans of raw rock as say Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, these musicians surely know how to handle their instruments. The party lasted thirty minutes, and even if it that means nothing in a lifetime, afterwards many concertgoers will have marked My Diligence with a cross to keep in mind that it’s a band to remember!

You never hear them on the radio, but every music lover is familiar with the name of La Muerte. Oddly enough, they were more known abroad as in Belgium. The first EP from 1984 (The Surrealist Mystery) was praised abroad, but during the 80s the alternative rock hard of La Muerte especially was loved by Belgian goths.

It is now almost twenty years since the Brussels rock gods did their farewell concert at the Luna, but what began as a joke last year, has become pure gravity. With a new lineup and al lot of enthusiasm, La Muerte was on the stage of the AB in 2015, a performance that now i is released on vinyl and mastered by Alan Douches, who worked with acts like Motörhead and Sepultura.

Today, La Muerte consists of Marc Du Marais (vocals), Didier "Dee-J" Moens (guitar), Michel Kirby (guitar), Tino Martino (bass) and Christian Z. Although the band is doing many concerts in Belgium these days, the venue De Kreun was almost sold out. For many visitors it was not the first time they saw La Muerte and even though the sound isn’t exactly what you call melodic, La Muerte must be (one of) the best Belgian rock machines.

Last year, one of the core members (Didier) told us in an interview that it was not the intention to revitalize La Muerte, but those who saw the band at work yesterday, surely got another impression. Despite the fact that three of the five members are new, the band sounds perfectly well. During the whole gig Marc Du Marais plays with a bag over his head. He roars, he screams,... actually he does everything but singing, but it works. Every ten seconds he falls on his knees like a madman. Tracks like Serial Killer, I Would Die Faster, KKK and Shoot In Your Back were received by the public with open arms. While Marc released his demons, Didier used the front of the stage as his playground. His look and outfit speak for themselves (a T-shirt of The Dukes Of Hazard, logos of a Mustang on his jacket...) this is rock ‘n roll of the purest kind without compromises. It doesn't sound Belgian at all, this is the universal language of rock 'n roll. After a whirlwind of one hour, the band returned on stage with its legendary cover of Wild Thing by The Troggs. La Muerte, you make our heart sing, you make everything groovy!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

My Diligence als voorprogramma van La Muerte is zeker geen verrassing. Niet alleen verscheen hun ep op hetzelfde label (Mottow Soundz), ook werd hun debuut geproduceerd door Dee-J (de gitarist van La Muerte). En John Sailor, François Peeters en Gabriel Marlier hebben, net als hun Brusselse vrienden, een patent op oerdegelijke rock ’n roll. Het publiek bleef wel op veilige afstand van hun geluidsalvo’s staan, toch werd het meer dan geapprecieerd. Dat kan moeilijk anders, want ook al is hun garagerock in de eerste plaats bedoeld voor muziekfans met een voorliefde voor moddervette bands als Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, zijn dit topmuzikanten die alles uit hun instrument halen. Het feestje duurde dertig minuten, en ook al betekent dat in een mensenleven niets, zullen heel wat concertgangers naast My Diligence een kruisje in hun notitieboekje hebben gezet als een te onthouden naam!

Je hoort ze nooit op de radio, maar iedere muziekliefhebber is vertrouwd met de naam (zeg maar het instituut) La Muerte. Vreemd genoeg waren ze destijds geen sant in eigen land. Hun eerste ep uit 1984 (The Surrealist Mystery) werd vooral in het buitenland geprezen. In de jaren 80 was hun alternatieve hardrock in Vlaanderen vooral geliefd door de goths.

Het is ondertussen bijna twintig jaar geleden dat de Brusselse rockgoden hun afscheidsconcert in de Luna gaven, maar wat verleden jaar als een grap begon, is ondertussen pure ernst geworden. Met een nieuwe line-up en een broek vol goesting stond La Muerte in 2015 op de bühne van de AB, een optreden dat nu trouwens op vinyl is verschenen en is gemasterd door Alan Douches die samenwerkte met kanonnen als Motörhead en Sepultura.

Vandaag bestaat La Muerte uit Marc Du Marais (zang), Didier “Dee-J” Moens (gitaar), Michel Kirby (gitaar), Tino de Martino (bas) en Christian Z. Ondanks het feit dat de band aan een drukke Belgische toer bezig is, was De Kreun meer dan aardig gevuld. Voor heel wat bezoekers was het niet de eerste keer, want ook al hoor je weinig melodieën, moet La Muerte zowat de best geoliede rockmachine van het land zijn.

Verleden jaar vertrouwde één van de kernleden (Didier) ons in een interview toe dat het niet de bedoeling was om La Muerte nieuw leven in te blazen, maar wie gisteren de band aan het werk zag, kan deze woorden amper of niet geloven. Ondanks het feit dat drie van de vijf leden nieuw zijn, ismen perfect op elkaar ingespeeld. Marc Du Marais speelt met een jutten zak over zijn hoofd. Hij brult, schreeuwt, roept…eigenlijk allesbehalve zingen, maar het werkt. Om de tien seconden laat hij zich als een bezetene op de knieën vallen. Tracks als Serial Killer, I Would Die Faster, KKK en Shoot In Your Back werden door het publiek met open armen ontvangen. Terwijl Marc zijn demonen loslaat, staat Didier vooraan op het podium. Zijn blik en outfit liegen er niet om (een T-shirt van The Dukes Of Hazard, logo’s van een Mustang op zijn jasje…) dit is onversneden rock ’n roll van het zuiverste soort. Het klinkt geen beetje Belgisch, wel als de universele taal rock ’n roll. Na een wervelwind van één uur kwam de band terug met z'n legendarische cover van Wild Thing van The Troggs. La Muerte, you make our heart sing, you make everything groovy!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design