tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/07/2014 : LABORATORY 5 - Awake in the dark

LABORATORY 5

Awake in the dark

MusicCD
BreakcoreDrum n bassDrum stepDubstepElectro PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[78/100]   

Sub Culture Records
21/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To be honest: I already reviewed their first record and was hoping that one of our team members would review it as some of the styles are not really my kind. But in the end I went through the whole cd and survived. I like Technomancer very much, but tracks without vocals and dubstep are not really my thing. The first track (that's also the title track) and The Zone Tripper RMX (indeed: that's twice Roy) are worth it because I hear vocals and love the tempo and the beats.

Another nice one is 'Sektor 7' where you only hear 'let's rock', but it fire's up the game and I like it. 'Automatic (featuring Ion Plasma Incineration)' is simply the best track on the whole album (just as the remix in the end). the sound is a bit a mix of space synth tipping and the typical Skrillex sound. After that I get lost in things and tracks that are not my cup of tea, but I know there are fans who love it.

'Sub Level 07' is a bit too slow for me, but at least it has vocals in it and that typical floating synth sound, nice beats and some break beat. 'Existence' is a space synth track with a Peruan touch (you know the Indians that play flute at the beach during summer holidays, backed up by a synth or a CD player)... 'Toxic Asylum' is a dub stepper without vocals. Not my thing and an assault on my patience. 'Gravity Eraser' goes further than the one before, on a slower tempo with more beats to the end. 'Into the unknown' drives us to the end of the regular tracks, with floating synths, beats and drums.

After that you get the instrumental version of 'Survivor', 'Awake in the Dark remix by Zone Tripper', 'Existence grapeFruitBat RMX' and 'Automatic the Technomancer extended club RMX' (the best out of 4 remixes).

Well, sorry Roy: wasn't my thing. But I'm pretty sure that lots of fans will love it, just a matter of vocal love and personal taste.

Up to the next review.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
21/07/2014


 

Next reviews
GAME OVER • Burts Into The Quiet
E-CRAFT • Re-Arrested
IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI • Lucid
ERIC ROHMER • Ma nuit chez Maud
ROGER CORMAN • The Pit And The Pendulum
NOTGHARD • Age of Pandora
MARTIN SCORSESE • Raging Bull
HOLM / MIRLAND • In Control
JAKE HELGREN • Varsity Blood
SIMI NAH • Be my guest

 

Other reviews from LABORATORY 5
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War

 

Same genre: BREAKCORE
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
RUGITUS AETERNAM • RHYTHMS FOR A DISTORTED AGE
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
RUBY MY DEAR • Form
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
IGORRR • Hallelujah
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
NEEDLE FACTORY • Jubilee

 

Same genre: DRUM N BASS
FRANQ • Common Ground
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
TACTICAL MODULE • Into exile
HYDRUS • Nodes
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DWA REMIX WORKS by Studio-X
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
MARCHING DYNAMICS • Shutter And Cross Yourself
OYAARSS • Smaida Greizi Nākamība
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
ATTRITION • narcissist ep
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery