tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/07/2014 : LABORATORY 5 - Awake in the dark

LABORATORY 5

Awake in the dark

MusicCD
BreakcoreDrum n bassDrum stepDubstepElectro PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[78/100]   

Sub Culture Records
21/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To be honest: I already reviewed their first record and was hoping that one of our team members would review it as some of the styles are not really my kind. But in the end I went through the whole cd and survived. I like Technomancer very much, but tracks without vocals and dubstep are not really my thing. The first track (that's also the title track) and The Zone Tripper RMX (indeed: that's twice Roy) are worth it because I hear vocals and love the tempo and the beats.

Another nice one is 'Sektor 7' where you only hear 'let's rock', but it fire's up the game and I like it. 'Automatic (featuring Ion Plasma Incineration)' is simply the best track on the whole album (just as the remix in the end). the sound is a bit a mix of space synth tipping and the typical Skrillex sound. After that I get lost in things and tracks that are not my cup of tea, but I know there are fans who love it.

'Sub Level 07' is a bit too slow for me, but at least it has vocals in it and that typical floating synth sound, nice beats and some break beat. 'Existence' is a space synth track with a Peruan touch (you know the Indians that play flute at the beach during summer holidays, backed up by a synth or a CD player)... 'Toxic Asylum' is a dub stepper without vocals. Not my thing and an assault on my patience. 'Gravity Eraser' goes further than the one before, on a slower tempo with more beats to the end. 'Into the unknown' drives us to the end of the regular tracks, with floating synths, beats and drums.

After that you get the instrumental version of 'Survivor', 'Awake in the Dark remix by Zone Tripper', 'Existence grapeFruitBat RMX' and 'Automatic the Technomancer extended club RMX' (the best out of 4 remixes).

Well, sorry Roy: wasn't my thing. But I'm pretty sure that lots of fans will love it, just a matter of vocal love and personal taste.

Up to the next review.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
21/07/2014


 

Next reviews
GAME OVER • Burts Into The Quiet
E-CRAFT • Re-Arrested
IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI • Lucid
ERIC ROHMER • Ma nuit chez Maud
ROGER CORMAN • The Pit And The Pendulum
NOTGHARD • Age of Pandora
MARTIN SCORSESE • Raging Bull
HOLM / MIRLAND • In Control
JAKE HELGREN • Varsity Blood
SIMI NAH • Be my guest

 

Other reviews from LABORATORY 5
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War

 

Same genre: BREAKCORE
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
RUGITUS AETERNAM • RHYTHMS FOR A DISTORTED AGE
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
RUBY MY DEAR • Form
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
IGORRR • Hallelujah
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
NEEDLE FACTORY • Jubilee

 

Same genre: DRUM N BASS
FRANQ • Common Ground
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
TACTICAL MODULE • Into exile
HYDRUS • Nodes
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DWA REMIX WORKS by Studio-X
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique
MIKA GOEDRIJK • Naked

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
MARCHING DYNAMICS • Shutter And Cross Yourself
OYAARSS • Smaida Greizi Nākamība
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
ATTRITION • narcissist ep
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)