tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/07/2014 : LABORATORY 5 - Awake in the dark

LABORATORY 5

Awake in the dark

MusicCD
BreakcoreDrum n bassDrum stepDubstepElectro PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[78/100]   

Sub Culture Records
21/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To be honest: I already reviewed their first record and was hoping that one of our team members would review it as some of the styles are not really my kind. But in the end I went through the whole cd and survived. I like Technomancer very much, but tracks without vocals and dubstep are not really my thing. The first track (that's also the title track) and The Zone Tripper RMX (indeed: that's twice Roy) are worth it because I hear vocals and love the tempo and the beats.

Another nice one is 'Sektor 7' where you only hear 'let's rock', but it fire's up the game and I like it. 'Automatic (featuring Ion Plasma Incineration)' is simply the best track on the whole album (just as the remix in the end). the sound is a bit a mix of space synth tipping and the typical Skrillex sound. After that I get lost in things and tracks that are not my cup of tea, but I know there are fans who love it.

'Sub Level 07' is a bit too slow for me, but at least it has vocals in it and that typical floating synth sound, nice beats and some break beat. 'Existence' is a space synth track with a Peruan touch (you know the Indians that play flute at the beach during summer holidays, backed up by a synth or a CD player)... 'Toxic Asylum' is a dub stepper without vocals. Not my thing and an assault on my patience. 'Gravity Eraser' goes further than the one before, on a slower tempo with more beats to the end. 'Into the unknown' drives us to the end of the regular tracks, with floating synths, beats and drums.

After that you get the instrumental version of 'Survivor', 'Awake in the Dark remix by Zone Tripper', 'Existence grapeFruitBat RMX' and 'Automatic the Technomancer extended club RMX' (the best out of 4 remixes).

Well, sorry Roy: wasn't my thing. But I'm pretty sure that lots of fans will love it, just a matter of vocal love and personal taste.

Up to the next review.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
21/07/2014


 

Next reviews
GAME OVER • Burts Into The Quiet
E-CRAFT • Re-Arrested
IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI • Lucid
ERIC ROHMER • Ma nuit chez Maud
ROGER CORMAN • The Pit And The Pendulum
NOTGHARD • Age of Pandora
MARTIN SCORSESE • Raging Bull
HOLM / MIRLAND • In Control
JAKE HELGREN • Varsity Blood
SIMI NAH • Be my guest

 

Other reviews from LABORATORY 5
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War

 

Same genre: BREAKCORE
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
RUGITUS AETERNAM • RHYTHMS FOR A DISTORTED AGE
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
RUBY MY DEAR • Form
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
IGORRR • Hallelujah
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
NEEDLE FACTORY • Jubilee

 

Same genre: DRUM N BASS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
FRANQ • Common Ground
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
LAMB • Backspace Unwind
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
LABORATORY 5 • Elements of War
TACTICAL MODULE • Into exile
HYDRUS • Nodes
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DWA REMIX WORKS by Studio-X
AH CAMA-SOTZ • Obsession Diabolique

 

Same genre: DUBSTEP
MIRA, UN LOBO! • Heart Beats Slow
ZA! • Loloismo
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
CIBERPUNK ARGENTINA • Tecno Melodías Biomecánicas
MARCHING DYNAMICS • Shutter And Cross Yourself
OYAARSS • Smaida Greizi Nākamība
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Echogenetic
ATTRITION • narcissist ep
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy