tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World

LAKE BELL

In A World

Movie
Romantic

[40/100]   

SONY SPHE
01/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Not so long ago Hal Douglas passed away: he was the voice-over who narrated immortal lines from various film trailers like Forrest Gump and Lethal Weapon. Everybody is familiar with their voices, but no one really knows who is behind them. That’s quite an interesting subject for a movie, not? Just think of the documentary Twenty Feet From Stardom about background singers: another job nobody wants in the show business!

That’s probably what went through Lake Bell’s mind: the actress who became famous for her role in the comedy No Strings Attached starring next to (the always great) Natalie Portman. It’s sad to see that Bell, who is both lead actress and director, decided to go for an ordinary romcom. The movie certainly has its charm, but that’s the most positive thing you can say about it.

Carol (Lake Bell) has the dream to become just like her dad Sam (Fred Melamed) a famous voice-over. She daily practises to become the best, but her biggest competitor is her own dad who takes all the important roles. There’s some quarrelling between daughter and dad and to make the classic romcom-picture complete, Bell also added a relation that is doomed to fail. What about that mysterious world from those voice-overs? Well, you won’t one word about that!

Lake Bell tries to do a decent job, but at the end of the day you can only conclude that In A World is an ordinary romcom. The characters are just too flat and created from clichés you will only notice in films, not in the real world. Agreed, this last remark can be our fault either!

Anyway, for those who want a popcorn bag and a package of handkerchiefs on the couch when watching a film can give it a try. Out now on DVD on Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
01/10/2014


NL

Nog niet zo lang geleden overleed Hal Douglas: de man die ontelbare trailers (van Forrest Gump tot Lethal Weapon) insprak. Iedereen is vertrouwd met de voice-overs, maar niemand weet (ondanks hun bekendheid) wie er achter de stem schuilt. Een meer dan interessant onderwerp om er een film over te maken zou je verwachten, denk maar aan Twenty Feet From Stardom (de documentaire over achtergrondzangeressen, een al even ondankbaar showbizzberoep). 

Dat zal wellicht ook Lake Bell hebben gedacht, de actrice die bekend werd door haar rol in de komedie No Strings Attached met de altijd onweerstaanbare Natalie Portman. Helaas vond de Amerikaanse actrice die zowel de hoofdrol als de regiestoel opeiste het nodig om van In A World (zo beginnen trailers vaak, vandaar de titel) een romcom van te maken. Charmant is de film alleszins, helaas ook verwaarloosbaar.

Carol (Lake Bell) wil net zoals haar vader Sam (Fred Melamed) een beroemde voice-over worden. Ze is dagelijks in de weer om de beste in haar vak te worden, alleen moet ze vaak de duimen leggen voor haar vader die nog altijd de beste in het vak is en dus ook alle belangrijke rollen opstrijkt. Naast het bekvechten tussen vader en dochter is er in het verhaal ook nog (te veel) plaats voor een romance die wankelt. En wat over die wereld van de voice -overs? Wel, daar wordt niks zinnigs over gezegd.

Lake Bell doet wel haar best, maar In A World overstijgt niet het niveau van een ordinaire romcom. De personages zijn oppervlakkig en bestaan vooral uit platgetreden clichés uit de filmwereld die je in de realiteit nauwelijks tegenkomt. Ofschoon dat laatste natuurlijk ook aan ons kan liggen.

Wie evenwel behoefte heeft aan zo’n romcom waar je naast een pak popcorn ook nog best een pakje papieren zakdoekjes bij de hand hebt kan het alsnog proberen. Nu uit op dvd via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
01/10/2014


01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World 01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World 01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World 01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World 01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World 01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World 01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World 01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World 01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World 01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World 01/10/2014 : LAKE BELL - In A World

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire