tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/12/2015 : LATE NIGHT VENTURE - Tychonians

LATE NIGHT VENTURE

Tychonians

MusicCD
Post RockPsychedelicShoegazeStonerock

[72/100]   

DME Collosal
04/12/2015, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Get in, fasten your seatbelt and let’s travel to the unique universe of Late Night Venture. Their third album Tychonians explores nearly all dimensions of post rock, space rock and neo-psychedelica. The various compositions grab you by the neck and never let you go.

Tychonians is a concept album about 'man and the cosmos’, or the lack of opportunities for some (self) reflection in this modern society. Difficult music, you wonder? The music is easier to digest, even though it's all very ingenious. There is a lot to discover on Tychonians. Uplifting soundscapes, sound explosions with enough room for subtlety and melody.

The opener Stjerneborg quietly progresses, slowly, but it surely degenerates into an apocalyptic sound wall. The guitar parts have, coincidence or not, a strong echo of The Cure's One Hundred Years. Nebula is a compact song, and can be best described as a duet between punk rock and post rock with a Mogwai-stamp.

The highlight of the album certainly is Moon Shone on White Rock, in which the band can show what it is capable of. Sometimes it is pure psychedelica, then it is pure stoner rock. Great guitar outbursts that go hand in hand with moody Moog tunes. It is indeed the universe of Baroness and early Pink Floyd. Revenge Motif is in the same league, while Halo Orbit seems to be made by a nephew of Explosions in the Sky or Mogwai’s children.

We recommend to take your time to listen to Praha; this final song has a beautiful melody and the composition evolves into a grand finale.

The album was recorded almost entirely live, and you can hear it. The drum sound is strong, you hear clear guitar parts and a tight bass, and then the Moog...

You better listen to Tychonians in one go, and even late at night with dimmed lights, so you can surrender yourself completely. The only downside to this album is that the 45 minutes are ending too soon.

Mark VAN MULLEM
04/12/2015


NL

Stap in, doe je veiligheidsgordel stevig om en reis mee naar het aparte universum van Late Night Venture. Tychonians, het derde album, exploreert zowat alle dimensies van de postrock, spacerock en neo-psychedelica. De diverse composities pakken je stevig bij je nekvel om niet meer los te laten.

Met Tychonians pakt de band uit met een conceptplaat over 'de mens en de cosmos, of ook hoe we in onze snelle moderne maatschappij nog te weinig kansen krijgen om aan (zelf)reflectie te doen'. Moeilijk? De muziek laat zich makkelijker degusteren, ook al zit het allemaal erg ingenieus in elkaar. Er is veel te ontdekken op Tychonians. Opbouwende soundscapes, geluidsexplosies met steeds ruimte voor subtiliteit en melodie.

De opener Stjerneborg bouwt rustig op om langzaam maar zeker in een apocalyptische geluidsmuur te ontaarden. In de gitaarpartijen hoor je, toeval of niet, een sterke echo van The Cure's One Hundred Years. Nebula is een compactere song, en laat zich nog het best omschrijven als een duet tussen punkrock en postrock met een Mogwai-stempel.

Het hoogtepunt van het album is zeer zeker Moon Shone on White Rock, waarin de band misschien nog het beste haar kunnen toont. Met momenten is dit pure psychedelica, dan weer pure stonerrock. Geweldige gitaaruitbarstingen gaan hand in hand met moody Moog-riedels. In dit universum voelen Baroness en de vroege Pink Floyd zich thuis. Revenge Motif trekt de muzikale lijn een beetje door en in Halo Orbit horen we een neefje van Explosions in The Sky en Mogwais kindjes.

Neem zeker ook je tijd om naar het sluitstuk Praha te luisteren; prachtige melodie en een compositie die zich bijzonder mooi ontwikkelt en zich naar de grande finale sleept.

Het album werd zo goed als volledig live ingespeeld, en dat hoor je. Met een heel vol en krachtig drumgeluid, heldere gitaarpartijen en strakke baspartijen. En dan die Moogs...

Tychonians beluister je best in één ruk, heel erg laat op de avond met gedimde lichten. Zo is er de volledige overgave. Het enige minpunt aan dit album is dat de 45 minuten te snel voorbij zijn.

Mark VAN MULLEM
04/12/2015


 

Next reviews
THE GURU GURU • Hole In The Ground
CHVE • Rasa
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015
WIRE • Brussels, Botanique (01/12/2015)
ARKONA, METSATOLL, SVARTSOTT, AKTARUM • Vosselaar, Biebob (29/11/2015)
HEKLAA • Pieces of You (The Piano Works)
ALICEWELL • Young Hearts (EP)
SIMPLE MINDS + THE STRANGLERS • Glasgow, SSE Hydro (28/11/2015)
M.O.D. • Broken Machinery

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl