tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/12/2015 : LATE NIGHT VENTURE - Tychonians

LATE NIGHT VENTURE

Tychonians

MusicCD
Post RockPsychedelicShoegazeStonerock

[72/100]   

DME Collosal
04/12/2015, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Get in, fasten your seatbelt and let’s travel to the unique universe of Late Night Venture. Their third album Tychonians explores nearly all dimensions of post rock, space rock and neo-psychedelica. The various compositions grab you by the neck and never let you go.

Tychonians is a concept album about 'man and the cosmos’, or the lack of opportunities for some (self) reflection in this modern society. Difficult music, you wonder? The music is easier to digest, even though it's all very ingenious. There is a lot to discover on Tychonians. Uplifting soundscapes, sound explosions with enough room for subtlety and melody.

The opener Stjerneborg quietly progresses, slowly, but it surely degenerates into an apocalyptic sound wall. The guitar parts have, coincidence or not, a strong echo of The Cure's One Hundred Years. Nebula is a compact song, and can be best described as a duet between punk rock and post rock with a Mogwai-stamp.

The highlight of the album certainly is Moon Shone on White Rock, in which the band can show what it is capable of. Sometimes it is pure psychedelica, then it is pure stoner rock. Great guitar outbursts that go hand in hand with moody Moog tunes. It is indeed the universe of Baroness and early Pink Floyd. Revenge Motif is in the same league, while Halo Orbit seems to be made by a nephew of Explosions in the Sky or Mogwai’s children.

We recommend to take your time to listen to Praha; this final song has a beautiful melody and the composition evolves into a grand finale.

The album was recorded almost entirely live, and you can hear it. The drum sound is strong, you hear clear guitar parts and a tight bass, and then the Moog...

You better listen to Tychonians in one go, and even late at night with dimmed lights, so you can surrender yourself completely. The only downside to this album is that the 45 minutes are ending too soon.

Mark VAN MULLEM
04/12/2015


NL

Stap in, doe je veiligheidsgordel stevig om en reis mee naar het aparte universum van Late Night Venture. Tychonians, het derde album, exploreert zowat alle dimensies van de postrock, spacerock en neo-psychedelica. De diverse composities pakken je stevig bij je nekvel om niet meer los te laten.

Met Tychonians pakt de band uit met een conceptplaat over 'de mens en de cosmos, of ook hoe we in onze snelle moderne maatschappij nog te weinig kansen krijgen om aan (zelf)reflectie te doen'. Moeilijk? De muziek laat zich makkelijker degusteren, ook al zit het allemaal erg ingenieus in elkaar. Er is veel te ontdekken op Tychonians. Opbouwende soundscapes, geluidsexplosies met steeds ruimte voor subtiliteit en melodie.

De opener Stjerneborg bouwt rustig op om langzaam maar zeker in een apocalyptische geluidsmuur te ontaarden. In de gitaarpartijen hoor je, toeval of niet, een sterke echo van The Cure's One Hundred Years. Nebula is een compactere song, en laat zich nog het best omschrijven als een duet tussen punkrock en postrock met een Mogwai-stempel.

Het hoogtepunt van het album is zeer zeker Moon Shone on White Rock, waarin de band misschien nog het beste haar kunnen toont. Met momenten is dit pure psychedelica, dan weer pure stonerrock. Geweldige gitaaruitbarstingen gaan hand in hand met moody Moog-riedels. In dit universum voelen Baroness en de vroege Pink Floyd zich thuis. Revenge Motif trekt de muzikale lijn een beetje door en in Halo Orbit horen we een neefje van Explosions in The Sky en Mogwais kindjes.

Neem zeker ook je tijd om naar het sluitstuk Praha te luisteren; prachtige melodie en een compositie die zich bijzonder mooi ontwikkelt en zich naar de grande finale sleept.

Het album werd zo goed als volledig live ingespeeld, en dat hoor je. Met een heel vol en krachtig drumgeluid, heldere gitaarpartijen en strakke baspartijen. En dan die Moogs...

Tychonians beluister je best in één ruk, heel erg laat op de avond met gedimde lichten. Zo is er de volledige overgave. Het enige minpunt aan dit album is dat de 45 minuten te snel voorbij zijn.

Mark VAN MULLEM
04/12/2015


 

Next reviews
THE GURU GURU • Hole In The Ground
CHVE • Rasa
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015
WIRE • Brussels, Botanique (01/12/2015)
ARKONA, METSATOLL, SVARTSOTT, AKTARUM • Vosselaar, Biebob (29/11/2015)
HEKLAA • Pieces of You (The Piano Works)
ALICEWELL • Young Hearts (EP)
SIMPLE MINDS + THE STRANGLERS • Glasgow, SSE Hydro (28/11/2015)
M.O.D. • Broken Machinery

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever