tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/12/2015 : LATE NIGHT VENTURE - Tychonians

LATE NIGHT VENTURE

Tychonians

MusicCD
Post RockPsychedelicShoegazeStonerock

[72/100]   

DME Collosal
04/12/2015, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Get in, fasten your seatbelt and let’s travel to the unique universe of Late Night Venture. Their third album Tychonians explores nearly all dimensions of post rock, space rock and neo-psychedelica. The various compositions grab you by the neck and never let you go.

Tychonians is a concept album about 'man and the cosmos’, or the lack of opportunities for some (self) reflection in this modern society. Difficult music, you wonder? The music is easier to digest, even though it's all very ingenious. There is a lot to discover on Tychonians. Uplifting soundscapes, sound explosions with enough room for subtlety and melody.

The opener Stjerneborg quietly progresses, slowly, but it surely degenerates into an apocalyptic sound wall. The guitar parts have, coincidence or not, a strong echo of The Cure's One Hundred Years. Nebula is a compact song, and can be best described as a duet between punk rock and post rock with a Mogwai-stamp.

The highlight of the album certainly is Moon Shone on White Rock, in which the band can show what it is capable of. Sometimes it is pure psychedelica, then it is pure stoner rock. Great guitar outbursts that go hand in hand with moody Moog tunes. It is indeed the universe of Baroness and early Pink Floyd. Revenge Motif is in the same league, while Halo Orbit seems to be made by a nephew of Explosions in the Sky or Mogwai’s children.

We recommend to take your time to listen to Praha; this final song has a beautiful melody and the composition evolves into a grand finale.

The album was recorded almost entirely live, and you can hear it. The drum sound is strong, you hear clear guitar parts and a tight bass, and then the Moog...

You better listen to Tychonians in one go, and even late at night with dimmed lights, so you can surrender yourself completely. The only downside to this album is that the 45 minutes are ending too soon.

Mark VAN MULLEM
04/12/2015


NL

Stap in, doe je veiligheidsgordel stevig om en reis mee naar het aparte universum van Late Night Venture. Tychonians, het derde album, exploreert zowat alle dimensies van de postrock, spacerock en neo-psychedelica. De diverse composities pakken je stevig bij je nekvel om niet meer los te laten.

Met Tychonians pakt de band uit met een conceptplaat over 'de mens en de cosmos, of ook hoe we in onze snelle moderne maatschappij nog te weinig kansen krijgen om aan (zelf)reflectie te doen'. Moeilijk? De muziek laat zich makkelijker degusteren, ook al zit het allemaal erg ingenieus in elkaar. Er is veel te ontdekken op Tychonians. Opbouwende soundscapes, geluidsexplosies met steeds ruimte voor subtiliteit en melodie.

De opener Stjerneborg bouwt rustig op om langzaam maar zeker in een apocalyptische geluidsmuur te ontaarden. In de gitaarpartijen hoor je, toeval of niet, een sterke echo van The Cure's One Hundred Years. Nebula is een compactere song, en laat zich nog het best omschrijven als een duet tussen punkrock en postrock met een Mogwai-stempel.

Het hoogtepunt van het album is zeer zeker Moon Shone on White Rock, waarin de band misschien nog het beste haar kunnen toont. Met momenten is dit pure psychedelica, dan weer pure stonerrock. Geweldige gitaaruitbarstingen gaan hand in hand met moody Moog-riedels. In dit universum voelen Baroness en de vroege Pink Floyd zich thuis. Revenge Motif trekt de muzikale lijn een beetje door en in Halo Orbit horen we een neefje van Explosions in The Sky en Mogwais kindjes.

Neem zeker ook je tijd om naar het sluitstuk Praha te luisteren; prachtige melodie en een compositie die zich bijzonder mooi ontwikkelt en zich naar de grande finale sleept.

Het album werd zo goed als volledig live ingespeeld, en dat hoor je. Met een heel vol en krachtig drumgeluid, heldere gitaarpartijen en strakke baspartijen. En dan die Moogs...

Tychonians beluister je best in één ruk, heel erg laat op de avond met gedimde lichten. Zo is er de volledige overgave. Het enige minpunt aan dit album is dat de 45 minuten te snel voorbij zijn.

Mark VAN MULLEM
04/12/2015


 

Next reviews
THE GURU GURU • Hole In The Ground
CHVE • Rasa
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015
WIRE • Brussels, Botanique (01/12/2015)
ARKONA, METSATOLL, SVARTSOTT, AKTARUM • Vosselaar, Biebob (29/11/2015)
HEKLAA • Pieces of You (The Piano Works)
ALICEWELL • Young Hearts (EP)
SIMPLE MINDS + THE STRANGLERS • Glasgow, SSE Hydro (28/11/2015)
M.O.D. • Broken Machinery

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna