tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/12/2015 : LATE NIGHT VENTURE - Tychonians

LATE NIGHT VENTURE

Tychonians

MusicCD
Post RockPsychedelicShoegazeStonerock

[72/100]   

DME Collosal
04/12/2015, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Get in, fasten your seatbelt and let’s travel to the unique universe of Late Night Venture. Their third album Tychonians explores nearly all dimensions of post rock, space rock and neo-psychedelica. The various compositions grab you by the neck and never let you go.

Tychonians is a concept album about 'man and the cosmos’, or the lack of opportunities for some (self) reflection in this modern society. Difficult music, you wonder? The music is easier to digest, even though it's all very ingenious. There is a lot to discover on Tychonians. Uplifting soundscapes, sound explosions with enough room for subtlety and melody.

The opener Stjerneborg quietly progresses, slowly, but it surely degenerates into an apocalyptic sound wall. The guitar parts have, coincidence or not, a strong echo of The Cure's One Hundred Years. Nebula is a compact song, and can be best described as a duet between punk rock and post rock with a Mogwai-stamp.

The highlight of the album certainly is Moon Shone on White Rock, in which the band can show what it is capable of. Sometimes it is pure psychedelica, then it is pure stoner rock. Great guitar outbursts that go hand in hand with moody Moog tunes. It is indeed the universe of Baroness and early Pink Floyd. Revenge Motif is in the same league, while Halo Orbit seems to be made by a nephew of Explosions in the Sky or Mogwai’s children.

We recommend to take your time to listen to Praha; this final song has a beautiful melody and the composition evolves into a grand finale.

The album was recorded almost entirely live, and you can hear it. The drum sound is strong, you hear clear guitar parts and a tight bass, and then the Moog...

You better listen to Tychonians in one go, and even late at night with dimmed lights, so you can surrender yourself completely. The only downside to this album is that the 45 minutes are ending too soon.

Mark VAN MULLEM
04/12/2015


NL

Stap in, doe je veiligheidsgordel stevig om en reis mee naar het aparte universum van Late Night Venture. Tychonians, het derde album, exploreert zowat alle dimensies van de postrock, spacerock en neo-psychedelica. De diverse composities pakken je stevig bij je nekvel om niet meer los te laten.

Met Tychonians pakt de band uit met een conceptplaat over 'de mens en de cosmos, of ook hoe we in onze snelle moderne maatschappij nog te weinig kansen krijgen om aan (zelf)reflectie te doen'. Moeilijk? De muziek laat zich makkelijker degusteren, ook al zit het allemaal erg ingenieus in elkaar. Er is veel te ontdekken op Tychonians. Opbouwende soundscapes, geluidsexplosies met steeds ruimte voor subtiliteit en melodie.

De opener Stjerneborg bouwt rustig op om langzaam maar zeker in een apocalyptische geluidsmuur te ontaarden. In de gitaarpartijen hoor je, toeval of niet, een sterke echo van The Cure's One Hundred Years. Nebula is een compactere song, en laat zich nog het best omschrijven als een duet tussen punkrock en postrock met een Mogwai-stempel.

Het hoogtepunt van het album is zeer zeker Moon Shone on White Rock, waarin de band misschien nog het beste haar kunnen toont. Met momenten is dit pure psychedelica, dan weer pure stonerrock. Geweldige gitaaruitbarstingen gaan hand in hand met moody Moog-riedels. In dit universum voelen Baroness en de vroege Pink Floyd zich thuis. Revenge Motif trekt de muzikale lijn een beetje door en in Halo Orbit horen we een neefje van Explosions in The Sky en Mogwais kindjes.

Neem zeker ook je tijd om naar het sluitstuk Praha te luisteren; prachtige melodie en een compositie die zich bijzonder mooi ontwikkelt en zich naar de grande finale sleept.

Het album werd zo goed als volledig live ingespeeld, en dat hoor je. Met een heel vol en krachtig drumgeluid, heldere gitaarpartijen en strakke baspartijen. En dan die Moogs...

Tychonians beluister je best in één ruk, heel erg laat op de avond met gedimde lichten. Zo is er de volledige overgave. Het enige minpunt aan dit album is dat de 45 minuten te snel voorbij zijn.

Mark VAN MULLEM
04/12/2015


 

Next reviews
THE GURU GURU • Hole In The Ground
CHVE • Rasa
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015
WIRE • Brussels, Botanique (01/12/2015)
ARKONA, METSATOLL, SVARTSOTT, AKTARUM • Vosselaar, Biebob (29/11/2015)
HEKLAA • Pieces of You (The Piano Works)
ALICEWELL • Young Hearts (EP)
SIMPLE MINDS + THE STRANGLERS • Glasgow, SSE Hydro (28/11/2015)
M.O.D. • Broken Machinery

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)