tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

04/12/2015 : LATE NIGHT VENTURE - Tychonians

LATE NIGHT VENTURE

Tychonians

MusicCD
Post RockPsychedelicShoegazeStonerock

[72/100]   

DME Collosal
04/12/2015, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Get in, fasten your seatbelt and let’s travel to the unique universe of Late Night Venture. Their third album Tychonians explores nearly all dimensions of post rock, space rock and neo-psychedelica. The various compositions grab you by the neck and never let you go.

Tychonians is a concept album about 'man and the cosmos’, or the lack of opportunities for some (self) reflection in this modern society. Difficult music, you wonder? The music is easier to digest, even though it's all very ingenious. There is a lot to discover on Tychonians. Uplifting soundscapes, sound explosions with enough room for subtlety and melody.

The opener Stjerneborg quietly progresses, slowly, but it surely degenerates into an apocalyptic sound wall. The guitar parts have, coincidence or not, a strong echo of The Cure's One Hundred Years. Nebula is a compact song, and can be best described as a duet between punk rock and post rock with a Mogwai-stamp.

The highlight of the album certainly is Moon Shone on White Rock, in which the band can show what it is capable of. Sometimes it is pure psychedelica, then it is pure stoner rock. Great guitar outbursts that go hand in hand with moody Moog tunes. It is indeed the universe of Baroness and early Pink Floyd. Revenge Motif is in the same league, while Halo Orbit seems to be made by a nephew of Explosions in the Sky or Mogwai’s children.

We recommend to take your time to listen to Praha; this final song has a beautiful melody and the composition evolves into a grand finale.

The album was recorded almost entirely live, and you can hear it. The drum sound is strong, you hear clear guitar parts and a tight bass, and then the Moog...

You better listen to Tychonians in one go, and even late at night with dimmed lights, so you can surrender yourself completely. The only downside to this album is that the 45 minutes are ending too soon.

Mark VAN MULLEM
04/12/2015


NL

Stap in, doe je veiligheidsgordel stevig om en reis mee naar het aparte universum van Late Night Venture. Tychonians, het derde album, exploreert zowat alle dimensies van de postrock, spacerock en neo-psychedelica. De diverse composities pakken je stevig bij je nekvel om niet meer los te laten.

Met Tychonians pakt de band uit met een conceptplaat over 'de mens en de cosmos, of ook hoe we in onze snelle moderne maatschappij nog te weinig kansen krijgen om aan (zelf)reflectie te doen'. Moeilijk? De muziek laat zich makkelijker degusteren, ook al zit het allemaal erg ingenieus in elkaar. Er is veel te ontdekken op Tychonians. Opbouwende soundscapes, geluidsexplosies met steeds ruimte voor subtiliteit en melodie.

De opener Stjerneborg bouwt rustig op om langzaam maar zeker in een apocalyptische geluidsmuur te ontaarden. In de gitaarpartijen hoor je, toeval of niet, een sterke echo van The Cure's One Hundred Years. Nebula is een compactere song, en laat zich nog het best omschrijven als een duet tussen punkrock en postrock met een Mogwai-stempel.

Het hoogtepunt van het album is zeer zeker Moon Shone on White Rock, waarin de band misschien nog het beste haar kunnen toont. Met momenten is dit pure psychedelica, dan weer pure stonerrock. Geweldige gitaaruitbarstingen gaan hand in hand met moody Moog-riedels. In dit universum voelen Baroness en de vroege Pink Floyd zich thuis. Revenge Motif trekt de muzikale lijn een beetje door en in Halo Orbit horen we een neefje van Explosions in The Sky en Mogwais kindjes.

Neem zeker ook je tijd om naar het sluitstuk Praha te luisteren; prachtige melodie en een compositie die zich bijzonder mooi ontwikkelt en zich naar de grande finale sleept.

Het album werd zo goed als volledig live ingespeeld, en dat hoor je. Met een heel vol en krachtig drumgeluid, heldere gitaarpartijen en strakke baspartijen. En dan die Moogs...

Tychonians beluister je best in één ruk, heel erg laat op de avond met gedimde lichten. Zo is er de volledige overgave. Het enige minpunt aan dit album is dat de 45 minuten te snel voorbij zijn.

Mark VAN MULLEM
04/12/2015


 

Next reviews
THE GURU GURU • Hole In The Ground
CHVE • Rasa
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015
WIRE • Brussels, Botanique (01/12/2015)
ARKONA, METSATOLL, SVARTSOTT, AKTARUM • Vosselaar, Biebob (29/11/2015)
HEKLAA • Pieces of You (The Piano Works)
ALICEWELL • Young Hearts (EP)
SIMPLE MINDS + THE STRANGLERS • Glasgow, SSE Hydro (28/11/2015)
M.O.D. • Broken Machinery

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
JOHN GARCIA • JOHN GARCIA
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath
WOVEN HAND • Review of the concert at EDEN in Charleroi on 28th September 2012

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force