tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

20/09/2015 : LAURA CANNELL - Beneath Swooping Talons

LAURA CANNELL

Beneath Swooping Talons

MusicCD
ExperimentalFolkNeoclassical

[85/100]   

Front & Follow
20/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Lovers of classical and folk music are often accused of locking up in an ivory tower to protect themselves against a complex/changing world and musical innovation. That cannot be said of Laura Cannell, who is inspired by nature and by the dissonant sounds of early medieval music, and who - with violin and recorder and an extraordinary talent for improvisation – converts that feeling into compositions which are a cross between archaic and experimental, and in which the intense power and beauty of the inspiration is maintained.

Beneath Swooping Talons is the sequel to her debut album Quick Sparrows on the Black Earth and again contains improvisations, recorded in one take. With her experience in the field of traditional, early and experimental music, that leads to bare and minimalist chamber music in which - like J.S. Bach in the Cello Suites – she take all the harmonies for her account. Maybe Bach fans find this an exaggerated comparison, but just as the German master undressed the court and popular dances to the level of one instrument and one bow, Laura Cannell decomposes the mystical poetry of Hildegard von Bingen for solo violin or flute. The result sounds at once medieval and experimental, original, unearthly and extremely professional.

It is no coincidence that we mention the names of J. S. Bach and Hildegard von Bingen when we talk about Beneath Swooping Talons, because with regard to the degree of difficulty (for untrained ears), parts of this album come near the Cello Suites or the Responsories and Antiphons of the German Benedictine abbess. It’s merely a matter of taste, but we prefer Laura Cannell’s six compositions for solo violin because of the wider color pattern of the instrument relative to the recorder, and among those, All The Land Ablaze, Cathedral of the Marshes and Born From the Soil are without doubt the strongest tracks. Deer Bark and Cantigua are very nice flute compositions, but actually this is an almost perfect album for those who are open to this kind of music.

TRACKLIST:
1. All the Land Ablaze
2. For Sorrow Salt Tears
3. Deers Bark
4. Be Not Afeared
5. Two Winters
6. Cathedral of the Marshes
7. Conversing in a Dream
8. Time Burns Falling Stars
9. Cantiga
10. Born From the Soil

William LIÉNARD
20/09/2015


NL

Liefhebbers van klassieke en volksmuziek wordt vaak verweten dat ze zich opsluiten in een ivoren toren als bescherming tegen een complexe en steeds veranderende wereld en muzikale vernieuwing. Dat kan niet worden gezegd van Laura Cannell, die zich laat inspireren door de natuur en door de dissonante geluiden van vroegmiddeleeuwse muziek, en die die indrukken met viool en blokfluit en een uitzonderlijk improvisatietalent omzet in composities die het midden houden tussen archaïsch en experimenteel, maar waarin de intense kracht en schoonheid van de inspiratiebron wordt bewaard.

Beneath Swooping Talons is de opvolger van haar debuutalbum Quick Sparrows over the Black Earth en bevat opnieuw improvisaties die in één take zijn opgenomen. Met haar ervaring op het vlak van traditionele, vroege en experimentele muziek, leidt dat tot kale en minimalistische kamermuziek waarin ze – net zoals J.S. Bach in de Cello Suites – alle harmonieën voor haar rekening neemt. Misschien vinden fans van J.S. Bach de vergelijking overdreven, maar net zoals hij destijds de volkse en hoofse dansen uitkleedde tot het niveau van één instrument en één strijkstok, zo decomponeert Laura Cannell de mystieke poëzie van Hildegard von Bingen voor soloviool of blokfluit. Het resultaat klinkt tegelijk middeleeuws en experimenteel, origineel, onaards en buitengewoon professioneel.

We noemen niet toevallig J.S. Bach en Gildegard von Bingen als we het over Beneath Swooping Talons hebben, want voor ongeoefende oren komt dit album qua moeilijkheidsgraad beslist in de buurt van de Cello Suites of de Responsoriën en Antifonen van de Duitse Benedictijnse abdis. En het is niet meer dan een kwestie van smaak, maar de zes composities voor soloviool genieten onze voorkeur wegens her bredere kleurpatroon van het instrument ten opzichte van de blokfluit, waarbij All The Land Ablaze, Cathedral of the Marshes en Born From the Soil tot de sterkste stukken behoren. Bij de blokfluitcomposities genieten Deer Bark en Cantiga onze voorkeur, maar eigenlijk is dit een zo goed als perfect album voor wie openstaat voor deze muziek.

William LIÉNARD
20/09/2015


20/09/2015 : LAURA CANNELL - Beneath Swooping Talons 20/09/2015 : LAURA CANNELL - Beneath Swooping Talons

 

Next reviews
T.A.N.K. • Symbiosis
UNITARY • Unafraid EP
SONIC YOUTH • Goo
ONMENS • Misdracht
L'ASSASSINS • Fire Of Love
FEVER THE GHOST • 1518
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
• SUPERNATURAL SEASON 10
CASABLANCA • Miskatonic Graffiti
MAURIZIO BLANCO (KLANGSTABIL) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4

 

Same genre: FOLK
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once
ROBERTO ATTANASIO • Another Past
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa

Music reviews

28
04
DURUTTI COLUMN
Domo Arigato
26
04
PIANO MAGIC
Closure
25
04
VENN
Runes
23
04
BING AND RUTH
No Home of the Mind
21
04
CONRAD SCHNITZLER AND POLE
Con-Struct
19
04
BRIAN ENO
Reflection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
04
INFEST 2017: Sidewalks & Skeletons confirmed!
27
04
The Residents are heading to Europe
26
04
New Roger Waters Album : Is This The Life We Really Want ?
26
04
Gary Numan announces a new album, a new tour and explains his new SAVAGE image!
25
04
New Names for Brussels Summer Festival 2017
22
04
New album by Illuminine

Concert reviews

15
04
DURBUY ROCK
New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
10
04
HAUSCHKA
Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
06
04
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
04
04
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT
Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
26
03
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017
Some minimal bands to check out !
21
03
ELM, MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY, LUMYIA
Les Vierges Morbides, Café Bobble, Lomme/Rijsel - 11 maart 2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
04
DIVE
'Music is a virus!'
20
04
SOVIETWAVE
Cosmonauts' day special
18
04
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
'The universe of dark industrial music takes me somewhere I want to be'
16
04
ATARAXIA
'Music is the miracle of coming into being and vanishing'
14
04
SPHERICAL DISRUPTED
‘Every single sound is very important and has to be effective!'

PHOTOS

25
04
DIVE
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
AKALOTZ
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
STIN SCATZOR
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
KNK
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
17
04
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
17
04
WILLIAM CONTROL
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
17
04
EMPATHY TEST
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

28
04
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
27
04
THIS MORN' OMINA
Garuda Vimana CCF
26
04
AMBASSADOR21
AMBASSADOR21 official video 'Revelation'
25
04
HAUSCHKA
Constant Growth Fails
24
04
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
24
04
DIVE
Far Away
23
04
ME AND THAT MAN
Cross My Heart And Hope To Die