tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/10/2015 : LAURA STEVENSON - Cocksure

LAURA STEVENSON

Cocksure

MusicCD
PopRockSinger Songwriter

[78/100]   

don giovanni records
11/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

 

After the release of her album Wheel, which was hailed by many critics, Laura Stevenson toured with acts such as Against Me!, The GoGo's and The Gaslight Anthem. After the tour she rented a 19th century Victorian house and changed her residence into a makeshift studio where she wrote, arranged and recorded the demos of the songs of her new album. On Wheel we mainly heard folk and country influences, but on Cocksure Laura brings unpretentious pop/rock (we think indeed of Heather Nova or even Natalie Imbruglia).

Stevenson has a nice voice to listen to, and she also knows how to pen down a solid song, listen for example to the single Jellfish or Torch Song. In her lyrics we hear the voice of a confident woman, but it’s just not strong enough. But in the end, Cocksure is a nice album that shows us a different side of Laura Stevenson.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/10/2015


NL

Na haar album Wheel, dat door menig critici werd bejubeld, toerde Laura Stevenson met acts zoals Against Me!, The GoGo’s en The Gaslight Anthem. Na de tournee huurde ze een 19e-eeuws Victoriaans huis en veranderde haar woonst in een geïmproviseerde studio waar ze de nummers voor het nieuwe album schreef, arrangeerde en in demovorm opnam.

Op Wheel hoorden we folk- en country-invloeden, maar Cocksure neigt toch meer naar pretentieloze pop/rock (we denken aan Heather Nova of zelfs Natalie Imbruglia). Stevenson heeft een aangename stem om naar te luisteren en ze weet ook hoe ze een stevige song in elkaar moet boksen. Luister bijv. naar de single Jellfish of Torchsong.

In haar teksten klinkt deze vrouw zelfzeker, alhoewel haar vocalen eerder braafjes klinken en dat geldt ook voor de muziek. Dat is dan ook de kritiek: het klinkt net iets te meegaand en bij gebrek aan de nodige weerhaakjes durft de aandacht wel eens te verslappen.

Maar niet getreurd, al bij al is Cocksure een aangename plaat die ons een andere kant van Laura Stevenson toont.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/10/2015


 

Next reviews
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
HAND OF DUST • Beneath a Veil
VARIOUS ARTISTS • You Heard It Here First: Rock vol1
SUMMER TWINS • Limbo
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair
FRANK WEYZIG (BORN FOR BLISS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie

 

Same combination of genres: POP + ROCK + SINGER SONGWRITER
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
AN PIERLÉ & FULCO OTTERVANGER • Slumberland
KATIE MAC • Minutes Into Hours (EP)
ANGÉLINE • Back To Pike Place
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
ILANA J • Free Falling From The Ground Up
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away

 

Same genre: POP
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)