tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

02/12/2015 : LAURAPALMER - Laurapalmer 12'

LAURAPALMER

Laurapalmer 12'

MusicVinyl
TechnoTechno Body Music

[82/100]   

Mecanica
02/12/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Laurapalmer is the obscure techno project of the Italian Tiff Lion, who most readers may recognize as the front woman of Tying Tiffany. This EP contains three songs and three remixes that have both techno and industrial influences.

Fog Attack begins with a monotonous heavy bass beat that slowly gets a series of bleeps as a companion. You get the feeling that all the demons will break loose and that you will end up in the middle of some bumper cars, but that’s not the case. The song falls back into the initial set up with the endless bass beat as the foundation. This is repeated for 6 minutes, but with different variations, so the track is still fascinating.

Bloodgum is a bit the same. Again, there’s the same bass beat that doesn’t change. The atmosphere feels like a three minute daze in which a range of distortion sounds is interrupting the basis of the song. Even if the song gets a dark touch, it remains techno, but one of the better kind.

Once the eardrums are massaged, Tiff starts with Conflict. The bass drum seems to come from a hardcore gabber song. Again, some distortion sounds (even noise) are added. The only constant sound is the incredible bass drum sound that keeps you moving.

The remix of Fog Attack would do fine in an after club, and the same can be said about Bloodgum Montana Remix, that has a sultry sound, despite the fact that there is some distortion.The Supersimettria Rmx Conflict is characterized by repetitive samples.

Despite the fact that techno is not my favourite genre, I can appreciate this. The work of Tying Tiffany is better, but with this project Tiff shows that she can even do more than we thought! What a lady!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/12/2015

http://mecanica.bandcamp.com/album/laurapalmer

NL

Laurapalmer is het obscure technoproject van de Italiaanse Tiff Lion, die de meeste lezers wel zullen kennen als de frontvrouw van Tying Tiffany. Deze ep bevat drie songs en 3 remixes met zowel techno- als industrialinvloeden.

Fog Attack begint met een monotone heavy bassbeat die langzaam aan een reeks bliepjes als metgezel krijgt. Na anderhalve minuut krijg je het gevoel dat alle demonen los gelaten zijn en dat je middenin de botsauto’s zal belanden, maar niets is minder waar. Het nummer valt weer in de beginplooi met de eindeloze bassbeat als fundament. Dit herhaalt zich gedurende 6 minuten, maar telkens met andere variaties, waardoor het nummer toch boeiend blijft.

Bloodgum is op dezelfde leest geschoeid. Ook hier verandert de bassbeat niet. Je komt in een roes van drie minuten terecht waarin een waaier van distortieklanken op de basis van de song inbeukt. Ook al krijgt het nummer een donker tintje, blijft het techno, maar van de betere soort.

Eens de trommelvliezen goed zijn opengetrokken, pakt Tiff uit met Conflict. De bassdrum lijkt uit een hardcore-gabbersong weggeplukt. Ook hier worden, in tegenstelling tot Fog Attack, allerlei distortieklanken (zelfs noise) ingevoegd. Het enige constante geluid is de ongelooflijke bassdrum die je in beweging houdt.

De remix van Fog Attack zou niet misstaan in een afterclub, en dat geldt tevens voor Bloodgum Montana Remix, dat wat zwoeler klinkt, ondanks het feit dat de distortie boven de song blijft hangen. De Supersimettria Rmx van Conflict wordt gekenmerkt door herhalende samples.

Ondanks het feit dat techno niet mijn favoriete genre is, kan ik deze variant met zijn donker randje wel appreciëren. Het werk van Tying Tiffany is beter, desalniettemin toont Tiff met dit project dat ze nog méér in haar mars heeft. Straffe madam!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/12/2015

http://mecanica.bandcamp.com/album/laurapalmer

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper