tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

02/12/2015 : LAURAPALMER - Laurapalmer 12'

LAURAPALMER

Laurapalmer 12'

MusicVinyl
TechnoTechno Body Music

[82/100]   

Mecanica
02/12/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Laurapalmer is the obscure techno project of the Italian Tiff Lion, who most readers may recognize as the front woman of Tying Tiffany. This EP contains three songs and three remixes that have both techno and industrial influences.

Fog Attack begins with a monotonous heavy bass beat that slowly gets a series of bleeps as a companion. You get the feeling that all the demons will break loose and that you will end up in the middle of some bumper cars, but that’s not the case. The song falls back into the initial set up with the endless bass beat as the foundation. This is repeated for 6 minutes, but with different variations, so the track is still fascinating.

Bloodgum is a bit the same. Again, there’s the same bass beat that doesn’t change. The atmosphere feels like a three minute daze in which a range of distortion sounds is interrupting the basis of the song. Even if the song gets a dark touch, it remains techno, but one of the better kind.

Once the eardrums are massaged, Tiff starts with Conflict. The bass drum seems to come from a hardcore gabber song. Again, some distortion sounds (even noise) are added. The only constant sound is the incredible bass drum sound that keeps you moving.

The remix of Fog Attack would do fine in an after club, and the same can be said about Bloodgum Montana Remix, that has a sultry sound, despite the fact that there is some distortion.The Supersimettria Rmx Conflict is characterized by repetitive samples.

Despite the fact that techno is not my favourite genre, I can appreciate this. The work of Tying Tiffany is better, but with this project Tiff shows that she can even do more than we thought! What a lady!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/12/2015

http://mecanica.bandcamp.com/album/laurapalmer

NL

Laurapalmer is het obscure technoproject van de Italiaanse Tiff Lion, die de meeste lezers wel zullen kennen als de frontvrouw van Tying Tiffany. Deze ep bevat drie songs en 3 remixes met zowel techno- als industrialinvloeden.

Fog Attack begint met een monotone heavy bassbeat die langzaam aan een reeks bliepjes als metgezel krijgt. Na anderhalve minuut krijg je het gevoel dat alle demonen los gelaten zijn en dat je middenin de botsauto’s zal belanden, maar niets is minder waar. Het nummer valt weer in de beginplooi met de eindeloze bassbeat als fundament. Dit herhaalt zich gedurende 6 minuten, maar telkens met andere variaties, waardoor het nummer toch boeiend blijft.

Bloodgum is op dezelfde leest geschoeid. Ook hier verandert de bassbeat niet. Je komt in een roes van drie minuten terecht waarin een waaier van distortieklanken op de basis van de song inbeukt. Ook al krijgt het nummer een donker tintje, blijft het techno, maar van de betere soort.

Eens de trommelvliezen goed zijn opengetrokken, pakt Tiff uit met Conflict. De bassdrum lijkt uit een hardcore-gabbersong weggeplukt. Ook hier worden, in tegenstelling tot Fog Attack, allerlei distortieklanken (zelfs noise) ingevoegd. Het enige constante geluid is de ongelooflijke bassdrum die je in beweging houdt.

De remix van Fog Attack zou niet misstaan in een afterclub, en dat geldt tevens voor Bloodgum Montana Remix, dat wat zwoeler klinkt, ondanks het feit dat de distortie boven de song blijft hangen. De Supersimettria Rmx van Conflict wordt gekenmerkt door herhalende samples.

Ondanks het feit dat techno niet mijn favoriete genre is, kan ik deze variant met zijn donker randje wel appreciëren. Het werk van Tying Tiffany is beter, desalniettemin toont Tiff met dit project dat ze nog méér in haar mars heeft. Straffe madam!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/12/2015

http://mecanica.bandcamp.com/album/laurapalmer

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm