tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

02/12/2015 : LAURAPALMER - Laurapalmer 12'

LAURAPALMER

Laurapalmer 12'

MusicVinyl
TechnoTechno Body Music

[82/100]   

Mecanica
02/12/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Laurapalmer is the obscure techno project of the Italian Tiff Lion, who most readers may recognize as the front woman of Tying Tiffany. This EP contains three songs and three remixes that have both techno and industrial influences.

Fog Attack begins with a monotonous heavy bass beat that slowly gets a series of bleeps as a companion. You get the feeling that all the demons will break loose and that you will end up in the middle of some bumper cars, but that’s not the case. The song falls back into the initial set up with the endless bass beat as the foundation. This is repeated for 6 minutes, but with different variations, so the track is still fascinating.

Bloodgum is a bit the same. Again, there’s the same bass beat that doesn’t change. The atmosphere feels like a three minute daze in which a range of distortion sounds is interrupting the basis of the song. Even if the song gets a dark touch, it remains techno, but one of the better kind.

Once the eardrums are massaged, Tiff starts with Conflict. The bass drum seems to come from a hardcore gabber song. Again, some distortion sounds (even noise) are added. The only constant sound is the incredible bass drum sound that keeps you moving.

The remix of Fog Attack would do fine in an after club, and the same can be said about Bloodgum Montana Remix, that has a sultry sound, despite the fact that there is some distortion.The Supersimettria Rmx Conflict is characterized by repetitive samples.

Despite the fact that techno is not my favourite genre, I can appreciate this. The work of Tying Tiffany is better, but with this project Tiff shows that she can even do more than we thought! What a lady!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/12/2015

http://mecanica.bandcamp.com/album/laurapalmer

NL

Laurapalmer is het obscure technoproject van de Italiaanse Tiff Lion, die de meeste lezers wel zullen kennen als de frontvrouw van Tying Tiffany. Deze ep bevat drie songs en 3 remixes met zowel techno- als industrialinvloeden.

Fog Attack begint met een monotone heavy bassbeat die langzaam aan een reeks bliepjes als metgezel krijgt. Na anderhalve minuut krijg je het gevoel dat alle demonen los gelaten zijn en dat je middenin de botsauto’s zal belanden, maar niets is minder waar. Het nummer valt weer in de beginplooi met de eindeloze bassbeat als fundament. Dit herhaalt zich gedurende 6 minuten, maar telkens met andere variaties, waardoor het nummer toch boeiend blijft.

Bloodgum is op dezelfde leest geschoeid. Ook hier verandert de bassbeat niet. Je komt in een roes van drie minuten terecht waarin een waaier van distortieklanken op de basis van de song inbeukt. Ook al krijgt het nummer een donker tintje, blijft het techno, maar van de betere soort.

Eens de trommelvliezen goed zijn opengetrokken, pakt Tiff uit met Conflict. De bassdrum lijkt uit een hardcore-gabbersong weggeplukt. Ook hier worden, in tegenstelling tot Fog Attack, allerlei distortieklanken (zelfs noise) ingevoegd. Het enige constante geluid is de ongelooflijke bassdrum die je in beweging houdt.

De remix van Fog Attack zou niet misstaan in een afterclub, en dat geldt tevens voor Bloodgum Montana Remix, dat wat zwoeler klinkt, ondanks het feit dat de distortie boven de song blijft hangen. De Supersimettria Rmx van Conflict wordt gekenmerkt door herhalende samples.

Ondanks het feit dat techno niet mijn favoriete genre is, kan ik deze variant met zijn donker randje wel appreciëren. Het werk van Tying Tiffany is beter, desalniettemin toont Tiff met dit project dat ze nog méér in haar mars heeft. Straffe madam!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/12/2015

http://mecanica.bandcamp.com/album/laurapalmer

Music reviews

16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)