tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

02/12/2015 : LAURAPALMER - Laurapalmer 12'

LAURAPALMER

Laurapalmer 12'

MusicVinyl
TechnoTechno Body Music

[82/100]   

Mecanica
02/12/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Laurapalmer is the obscure techno project of the Italian Tiff Lion, who most readers may recognize as the front woman of Tying Tiffany. This EP contains three songs and three remixes that have both techno and industrial influences.

Fog Attack begins with a monotonous heavy bass beat that slowly gets a series of bleeps as a companion. You get the feeling that all the demons will break loose and that you will end up in the middle of some bumper cars, but that’s not the case. The song falls back into the initial set up with the endless bass beat as the foundation. This is repeated for 6 minutes, but with different variations, so the track is still fascinating.

Bloodgum is a bit the same. Again, there’s the same bass beat that doesn’t change. The atmosphere feels like a three minute daze in which a range of distortion sounds is interrupting the basis of the song. Even if the song gets a dark touch, it remains techno, but one of the better kind.

Once the eardrums are massaged, Tiff starts with Conflict. The bass drum seems to come from a hardcore gabber song. Again, some distortion sounds (even noise) are added. The only constant sound is the incredible bass drum sound that keeps you moving.

The remix of Fog Attack would do fine in an after club, and the same can be said about Bloodgum Montana Remix, that has a sultry sound, despite the fact that there is some distortion.The Supersimettria Rmx Conflict is characterized by repetitive samples.

Despite the fact that techno is not my favourite genre, I can appreciate this. The work of Tying Tiffany is better, but with this project Tiff shows that she can even do more than we thought! What a lady!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/12/2015

http://mecanica.bandcamp.com/album/laurapalmer

NL

Laurapalmer is het obscure technoproject van de Italiaanse Tiff Lion, die de meeste lezers wel zullen kennen als de frontvrouw van Tying Tiffany. Deze ep bevat drie songs en 3 remixes met zowel techno- als industrialinvloeden.

Fog Attack begint met een monotone heavy bassbeat die langzaam aan een reeks bliepjes als metgezel krijgt. Na anderhalve minuut krijg je het gevoel dat alle demonen los gelaten zijn en dat je middenin de botsauto’s zal belanden, maar niets is minder waar. Het nummer valt weer in de beginplooi met de eindeloze bassbeat als fundament. Dit herhaalt zich gedurende 6 minuten, maar telkens met andere variaties, waardoor het nummer toch boeiend blijft.

Bloodgum is op dezelfde leest geschoeid. Ook hier verandert de bassbeat niet. Je komt in een roes van drie minuten terecht waarin een waaier van distortieklanken op de basis van de song inbeukt. Ook al krijgt het nummer een donker tintje, blijft het techno, maar van de betere soort.

Eens de trommelvliezen goed zijn opengetrokken, pakt Tiff uit met Conflict. De bassdrum lijkt uit een hardcore-gabbersong weggeplukt. Ook hier worden, in tegenstelling tot Fog Attack, allerlei distortieklanken (zelfs noise) ingevoegd. Het enige constante geluid is de ongelooflijke bassdrum die je in beweging houdt.

De remix van Fog Attack zou niet misstaan in een afterclub, en dat geldt tevens voor Bloodgum Montana Remix, dat wat zwoeler klinkt, ondanks het feit dat de distortie boven de song blijft hangen. De Supersimettria Rmx van Conflict wordt gekenmerkt door herhalende samples.

Ondanks het feit dat techno niet mijn favoriete genre is, kan ik deze variant met zijn donker randje wel appreciëren. Het werk van Tying Tiffany is beter, desalniettemin toont Tiff met dit project dat ze nog méér in haar mars heeft. Straffe madam!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
02/12/2015

http://mecanica.bandcamp.com/album/laurapalmer

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky