tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LAURIE ANDERSON - Strange Angels

LAURIE ANDERSON

Strange Angels

MusicCD
Avant-gardePop

[88/100]   

Warner Bros. Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Time for some controversy! Laurie Anderson is known as one of the main experimental female performance artists, but my favorite album of hers is without a doubt the one that most of her fans rarely mention: Strange Angels.

On her fifth album, Lou Reed’s wife wanted to show the world that she could make a pop record as well. Although pop is not exactly the right term to use, Strange Angels undoubtedly remains one of the most accessible album she ever made. Not that it went easy, because Laurie took singing lessons before she started this adventure (which ultimately flopped). After that it would take her five years before she recorded her next album (Bright Red, produced by Brian Eno and on which Lou Reed did some background vocals).

From the first track we hear Laurie Anderson as we never heard her before: as a pop diva who tempts the listener, although the accompanying accordion provides the necessary avant-garde style. Although Monkey's Paw still sounds poppy, Anderson uses her typical vocalizations, while in the background we hear Bobby McFerrin (the man with thousand voices who will be forever known for his hit song Do not Worry, Be Happy).

Coolsville feels quite scary, Anderson's voice sounds sinister, she’s a lost soul looking for a path in the big metropolis. David Van Tieghem's frightening electronic keyboard sounds are her only companion.

Ramon is a bit lighter, a wonderful song on which Laurie shows the world that she has a soprano voice. Baby Doll was written much earlier, and she combines avant-garde with traditional Latin American sounds in a clever way.

Laurie Anderson always collaborated with famous names, on Beautiful Red Dress we hear Arto Lindsay (one of the inventors of the No Wave movement). The Day The Devil has a menacing atmosphere in which Anderson uses her strange voice in various ways, nicely interspersed with gospel choirs. Before The Dream tells the familiar story of Hansel and Gretel, the icy electronic keyboard sounds on My Eyes are in stark contrast with Anderson’s angelic voice. The record ends with the touching Hiawatha, about one of the main representatives of the Indians.

Perhaps Strange Angels is one of the least adventurous records Anderson made, but it surely is one of her most beautiful albums.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Tijd voor wat controverse! Laurie Anderson staat bekend als één van de voornaamste experimentele performance-kunstenaressen, maar mijn lievelingsplaat is zonder twijfel die die de fans destijds hebben weggelachen: Strange Angels.

Op haar vijfde album wilde de echtgenote van Lou Reed aan de wereld tonen dat ze ook een popplaat kon maken. Alhoewel pop misschien niet meteen de juiste term is, blijft Strange Angels zonder twijfel de meest toegankelijke plaat die de beschermengel van Philip Glass ooit heeft gemaakt. Niet dat dit zo maar ging, want Laurie volgde zangles vooraleer ze aan dit avontuur (dat uiteindelijk flopte) begon. Daarna zou het vijf jaar duren vooraleer ze haar volgende plaat zou opnemen (het door Brian Eno geproduceerde Bright Red waardoor ze Lou Reed leerde kennen die wat achtergrondvocalen deed).

Vanaf de eerste track horen we Laurie Anderson zoals we haar nog nooit eerder hebben gehoord: als een popdiva die de luisteraar om haar vingers windt, ook al zorgt de begeleidende accordeon voor de nodige avant-gardistische stijl. Ofschoon Monkey’s Paw ook nog poppy klinkt, grijpt Anderson terug naar haar typische stemgebruik, en krijgt ze in de achtergrond de hulp van Bobby McFerrin (de man met de duizend stemmen die wellicht voor eeuwig bekend zal blijven door het wegwerphitje Don’t Worry, Be Happy).

Coolsville bezit iets engs, Andersons stem klinkt luguber, een verloren ziel die haar pad zoekt in een metropool en die alleen de beangstigende geluiden van David Van Tieghem’s keyboardspel als bondgenoot heeft.

Ramon is wat lichter, een wondermooi liedje waarin Laurie de wereld toont dat ze over een sopraanstem beschikt. Baby Doll lag al een tijdje in Andersons schuif, en er wordt wat gegoocheld met avant-garde en Latijns-Amerikaanse klanken.

Aan bekende namen die met haar willen samenwerken heeft Anderson nooit gebrek gehad, op Beautiful Red Dress hoor je bijv. Arto Lindsay (één van de uitvinders van de No Wave-beweging). The Day The Devil bezit een lekker dreigend sfeertje waarin Anderson haar vreemde stem op allerlei manieren aanwendt, alles mooi afgewisseld met gospelkoren. The Dream Before vertelt het verhaaltje over Hansje en Grietje, de ijskoude elektronische keyboardklanken op My Eyes staan in sterk contrast met de engelachtige stem van Anderson. De plaat wordt afgesloten met het ontroerende Hiawatha, over één van de belangrijkste vertegenwoordigers van de Indianen.

Strange Angels is misschien de minst avontuurlijke plaat van Anderson, wel staat het buiten kijf dat het de allermooiste is.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse