tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LAURIE ANDERSON - Strange Angels

LAURIE ANDERSON

Strange Angels

MusicCD
Avant-gardePop

[88/100]   

Warner Bros. Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Time for some controversy! Laurie Anderson is known as one of the main experimental female performance artists, but my favorite album of hers is without a doubt the one that most of her fans rarely mention: Strange Angels.

On her fifth album, Lou Reed’s wife wanted to show the world that she could make a pop record as well. Although pop is not exactly the right term to use, Strange Angels undoubtedly remains one of the most accessible album she ever made. Not that it went easy, because Laurie took singing lessons before she started this adventure (which ultimately flopped). After that it would take her five years before she recorded her next album (Bright Red, produced by Brian Eno and on which Lou Reed did some background vocals).

From the first track we hear Laurie Anderson as we never heard her before: as a pop diva who tempts the listener, although the accompanying accordion provides the necessary avant-garde style. Although Monkey's Paw still sounds poppy, Anderson uses her typical vocalizations, while in the background we hear Bobby McFerrin (the man with thousand voices who will be forever known for his hit song Do not Worry, Be Happy).

Coolsville feels quite scary, Anderson's voice sounds sinister, she’s a lost soul looking for a path in the big metropolis. David Van Tieghem's frightening electronic keyboard sounds are her only companion.

Ramon is a bit lighter, a wonderful song on which Laurie shows the world that she has a soprano voice. Baby Doll was written much earlier, and she combines avant-garde with traditional Latin American sounds in a clever way.

Laurie Anderson always collaborated with famous names, on Beautiful Red Dress we hear Arto Lindsay (one of the inventors of the No Wave movement). The Day The Devil has a menacing atmosphere in which Anderson uses her strange voice in various ways, nicely interspersed with gospel choirs. Before The Dream tells the familiar story of Hansel and Gretel, the icy electronic keyboard sounds on My Eyes are in stark contrast with Anderson’s angelic voice. The record ends with the touching Hiawatha, about one of the main representatives of the Indians.

Perhaps Strange Angels is one of the least adventurous records Anderson made, but it surely is one of her most beautiful albums.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Tijd voor wat controverse! Laurie Anderson staat bekend als één van de voornaamste experimentele performance-kunstenaressen, maar mijn lievelingsplaat is zonder twijfel die die de fans destijds hebben weggelachen: Strange Angels.

Op haar vijfde album wilde de echtgenote van Lou Reed aan de wereld tonen dat ze ook een popplaat kon maken. Alhoewel pop misschien niet meteen de juiste term is, blijft Strange Angels zonder twijfel de meest toegankelijke plaat die de beschermengel van Philip Glass ooit heeft gemaakt. Niet dat dit zo maar ging, want Laurie volgde zangles vooraleer ze aan dit avontuur (dat uiteindelijk flopte) begon. Daarna zou het vijf jaar duren vooraleer ze haar volgende plaat zou opnemen (het door Brian Eno geproduceerde Bright Red waardoor ze Lou Reed leerde kennen die wat achtergrondvocalen deed).

Vanaf de eerste track horen we Laurie Anderson zoals we haar nog nooit eerder hebben gehoord: als een popdiva die de luisteraar om haar vingers windt, ook al zorgt de begeleidende accordeon voor de nodige avant-gardistische stijl. Ofschoon Monkey’s Paw ook nog poppy klinkt, grijpt Anderson terug naar haar typische stemgebruik, en krijgt ze in de achtergrond de hulp van Bobby McFerrin (de man met de duizend stemmen die wellicht voor eeuwig bekend zal blijven door het wegwerphitje Don’t Worry, Be Happy).

Coolsville bezit iets engs, Andersons stem klinkt luguber, een verloren ziel die haar pad zoekt in een metropool en die alleen de beangstigende geluiden van David Van Tieghem’s keyboardspel als bondgenoot heeft.

Ramon is wat lichter, een wondermooi liedje waarin Laurie de wereld toont dat ze over een sopraanstem beschikt. Baby Doll lag al een tijdje in Andersons schuif, en er wordt wat gegoocheld met avant-garde en Latijns-Amerikaanse klanken.

Aan bekende namen die met haar willen samenwerken heeft Anderson nooit gebrek gehad, op Beautiful Red Dress hoor je bijv. Arto Lindsay (één van de uitvinders van de No Wave-beweging). The Day The Devil bezit een lekker dreigend sfeertje waarin Anderson haar vreemde stem op allerlei manieren aanwendt, alles mooi afgewisseld met gospelkoren. The Dream Before vertelt het verhaaltje over Hansje en Grietje, de ijskoude elektronische keyboardklanken op My Eyes staan in sterk contrast met de engelachtige stem van Anderson. De plaat wordt afgesloten met het ontroerende Hiawatha, over één van de belangrijkste vertegenwoordigers van de Indianen.

Strange Angels is misschien de minst avontuurlijke plaat van Anderson, wel staat het buiten kijf dat het de allermooiste is.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap