tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/03/2014 : LAVVI EBBEL - Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)

LAVVI EBBEL

Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wave

[90/100]   

Starman Records
26/03/2014, Peter TYLER

It took me some time to write a review on this album. Even went to Diksmuide to see them live and there I noticed.. this is not just some reunion, no this is “Lavvi Ebbel”, it’s indescribable, the feeling of really being back in the eighties…

Their power, dynamics, connection, love, enthousiasm and passion hasn’t changed a bit.. Some say “it all comes back”, well some things haven’t changed, let me explain..
 

Back in 1980 they were one of the first Belgian bands that got media attention and airplay.. it was the beginning of something big, something different, the unique sound of Belgian New Wave, long before the term “Belpop” was born. Lavvi Ebbel is a band from Aalst but they got formed at the VUB just like “The Employees”, “Arbeid Adelt’ and many more.. 

In 1980 the bank ASLK (now part of BNP Paribas I guess) released a compilation LP wich still is one of the best compilation albums of early Belpop, Belgian Wave.. with bands like TC Matic, Telex, The Kids, Once More, The Machines, Jo Lemaire, …. For this album Lavvi Ebbel wrote an exclusive track “No place to go” produced by Jean-Marie Aerts.. Here on this compilation “No place to go” is featured in a sort of 12inch version.. to me one of their best songs ever.. together with “Le Cafard” pure coldwave and “Le Cafard” is like the perfect wedding between Siglo XX and Aroma Di Amore.

But they wrote a whole bunch of fantastic and devoted songs like “Give me a gun”, “Out of the Blue”, “Telepatia”, “Slow Motion”, and offcourse their ticket to eternity, the hitsingle “Victoria”

Now I realise this compilation album was so necessary to re-discover all these songs again.. because the most suprising thing about this is that even now in 2014 this music still sounds as fresh, up to date, and energetic like it did back then.. No, nothing has changed..

Lavvi Ebbel always had an excellent live reputation with Luckas Vandertaelen throwing himself for the full 500% and today they do it even better… they still are the Belgian answer or equivalent to The B-52’s and Talking Heads..
 

My advice (well one of my advices) for 2014 : try to experience Lavvi Ebbel live and don’t forget to buy this great compilation album on cd or 2LP

 

Peter TYLER
26/03/2014


 

Next reviews
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
JACQUES TATI • Les vacances de M.Hulot
MINNY POPS • Sparks In a Dark Room
DONALD CAMMELL • White Of The Eye
BRAIN SEKTOR • Control
FUTURE • Stay Behind EP
TSZ MING WONG • Badges Of Fury
THE PUSSYBATS • Pussypussybangbang
NERVOSA • Victim of Yourself
TERUO ISHII • Blind Woman's Curse

 

Other reviews from LAVVI EBBEL
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
LAVVI EBBEL • VICTORIA (2014 BUSCEMI REMIX)

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
WHITE COAL ADDICTION • Minor Offence EP
THE NAMES • CLASSICS : In Time
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Wavecore II
ELEMENTS • Elements
VICE • Vice A Plain Reprise & More
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire

Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)