tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/03/2014 : LAVVI EBBEL - Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)

LAVVI EBBEL

Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wave

[90/100]   

Starman Records
26/03/2014, Peter TYLER

It took me some time to write a review on this album. Even went to Diksmuide to see them live and there I noticed.. this is not just some reunion, no this is “Lavvi Ebbel”, it’s indescribable, the feeling of really being back in the eighties…

Their power, dynamics, connection, love, enthousiasm and passion hasn’t changed a bit.. Some say “it all comes back”, well some things haven’t changed, let me explain..
 

Back in 1980 they were one of the first Belgian bands that got media attention and airplay.. it was the beginning of something big, something different, the unique sound of Belgian New Wave, long before the term “Belpop” was born. Lavvi Ebbel is a band from Aalst but they got formed at the VUB just like “The Employees”, “Arbeid Adelt’ and many more.. 

In 1980 the bank ASLK (now part of BNP Paribas I guess) released a compilation LP wich still is one of the best compilation albums of early Belpop, Belgian Wave.. with bands like TC Matic, Telex, The Kids, Once More, The Machines, Jo Lemaire, …. For this album Lavvi Ebbel wrote an exclusive track “No place to go” produced by Jean-Marie Aerts.. Here on this compilation “No place to go” is featured in a sort of 12inch version.. to me one of their best songs ever.. together with “Le Cafard” pure coldwave and “Le Cafard” is like the perfect wedding between Siglo XX and Aroma Di Amore.

But they wrote a whole bunch of fantastic and devoted songs like “Give me a gun”, “Out of the Blue”, “Telepatia”, “Slow Motion”, and offcourse their ticket to eternity, the hitsingle “Victoria”

Now I realise this compilation album was so necessary to re-discover all these songs again.. because the most suprising thing about this is that even now in 2014 this music still sounds as fresh, up to date, and energetic like it did back then.. No, nothing has changed..

Lavvi Ebbel always had an excellent live reputation with Luckas Vandertaelen throwing himself for the full 500% and today they do it even better… they still are the Belgian answer or equivalent to The B-52’s and Talking Heads..
 

My advice (well one of my advices) for 2014 : try to experience Lavvi Ebbel live and don’t forget to buy this great compilation album on cd or 2LP

 

Peter TYLER
26/03/2014


 

Next reviews
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
JACQUES TATI • Les vacances de M.Hulot
MINNY POPS • Sparks In a Dark Room
DONALD CAMMELL • White Of The Eye
BRAIN SEKTOR • Control
FUTURE • Stay Behind EP
TSZ MING WONG • Badges Of Fury
THE PUSSYBATS • Pussypussybangbang
NERVOSA • Victim of Yourself
TERUO ISHII • Blind Woman's Curse

 

Other reviews from LAVVI EBBEL
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
LAVVI EBBEL • VICTORIA (2014 BUSCEMI REMIX)

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
WHITE COAL ADDICTION • Minor Offence EP
THE NAMES • CLASSICS : In Time
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Wavecore II
ELEMENTS • Elements
VICE • Vice A Plain Reprise & More
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • In Outside Places
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser