tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/03/2014 : LAVVI EBBEL - Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)

LAVVI EBBEL

Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wave

[90/100]   

Starman Records
26/03/2014, Peter TYLER

It took me some time to write a review on this album. Even went to Diksmuide to see them live and there I noticed.. this is not just some reunion, no this is “Lavvi Ebbel”, it’s indescribable, the feeling of really being back in the eighties…

Their power, dynamics, connection, love, enthousiasm and passion hasn’t changed a bit.. Some say “it all comes back”, well some things haven’t changed, let me explain..
 

Back in 1980 they were one of the first Belgian bands that got media attention and airplay.. it was the beginning of something big, something different, the unique sound of Belgian New Wave, long before the term “Belpop” was born. Lavvi Ebbel is a band from Aalst but they got formed at the VUB just like “The Employees”, “Arbeid Adelt’ and many more.. 

In 1980 the bank ASLK (now part of BNP Paribas I guess) released a compilation LP wich still is one of the best compilation albums of early Belpop, Belgian Wave.. with bands like TC Matic, Telex, The Kids, Once More, The Machines, Jo Lemaire, …. For this album Lavvi Ebbel wrote an exclusive track “No place to go” produced by Jean-Marie Aerts.. Here on this compilation “No place to go” is featured in a sort of 12inch version.. to me one of their best songs ever.. together with “Le Cafard” pure coldwave and “Le Cafard” is like the perfect wedding between Siglo XX and Aroma Di Amore.

But they wrote a whole bunch of fantastic and devoted songs like “Give me a gun”, “Out of the Blue”, “Telepatia”, “Slow Motion”, and offcourse their ticket to eternity, the hitsingle “Victoria”

Now I realise this compilation album was so necessary to re-discover all these songs again.. because the most suprising thing about this is that even now in 2014 this music still sounds as fresh, up to date, and energetic like it did back then.. No, nothing has changed..

Lavvi Ebbel always had an excellent live reputation with Luckas Vandertaelen throwing himself for the full 500% and today they do it even better… they still are the Belgian answer or equivalent to The B-52’s and Talking Heads..
 

My advice (well one of my advices) for 2014 : try to experience Lavvi Ebbel live and don’t forget to buy this great compilation album on cd or 2LP

 

Peter TYLER
26/03/2014


 

Next reviews
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
JACQUES TATI • Les vacances de M.Hulot
MINNY POPS • Sparks In a Dark Room
DONALD CAMMELL • White Of The Eye
BRAIN SEKTOR • Control
FUTURE • Stay Behind EP
TSZ MING WONG • Badges Of Fury
THE PUSSYBATS • Pussypussybangbang
NERVOSA • Victim of Yourself
TERUO ISHII • Blind Woman's Curse

 

Other reviews from LAVVI EBBEL
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
LAVVI EBBEL • VICTORIA (2014 BUSCEMI REMIX)

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
WHITE COAL ADDICTION • Minor Offence EP
THE NAMES • CLASSICS : In Time
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Wavecore II
ELEMENTS • Elements
VICE • Vice A Plain Reprise & More
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes