tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/03/2014 : LAVVI EBBEL - Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)

LAVVI EBBEL

Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wave

[90/100]   

Starman Records
26/03/2014, Peter TYLER

It took me some time to write a review on this album. Even went to Diksmuide to see them live and there I noticed.. this is not just some reunion, no this is “Lavvi Ebbel”, it’s indescribable, the feeling of really being back in the eighties…

Their power, dynamics, connection, love, enthousiasm and passion hasn’t changed a bit.. Some say “it all comes back”, well some things haven’t changed, let me explain..
 

Back in 1980 they were one of the first Belgian bands that got media attention and airplay.. it was the beginning of something big, something different, the unique sound of Belgian New Wave, long before the term “Belpop” was born. Lavvi Ebbel is a band from Aalst but they got formed at the VUB just like “The Employees”, “Arbeid Adelt’ and many more.. 

In 1980 the bank ASLK (now part of BNP Paribas I guess) released a compilation LP wich still is one of the best compilation albums of early Belpop, Belgian Wave.. with bands like TC Matic, Telex, The Kids, Once More, The Machines, Jo Lemaire, …. For this album Lavvi Ebbel wrote an exclusive track “No place to go” produced by Jean-Marie Aerts.. Here on this compilation “No place to go” is featured in a sort of 12inch version.. to me one of their best songs ever.. together with “Le Cafard” pure coldwave and “Le Cafard” is like the perfect wedding between Siglo XX and Aroma Di Amore.

But they wrote a whole bunch of fantastic and devoted songs like “Give me a gun”, “Out of the Blue”, “Telepatia”, “Slow Motion”, and offcourse their ticket to eternity, the hitsingle “Victoria”

Now I realise this compilation album was so necessary to re-discover all these songs again.. because the most suprising thing about this is that even now in 2014 this music still sounds as fresh, up to date, and energetic like it did back then.. No, nothing has changed..

Lavvi Ebbel always had an excellent live reputation with Luckas Vandertaelen throwing himself for the full 500% and today they do it even better… they still are the Belgian answer or equivalent to The B-52’s and Talking Heads..
 

My advice (well one of my advices) for 2014 : try to experience Lavvi Ebbel live and don’t forget to buy this great compilation album on cd or 2LP

 

Peter TYLER
26/03/2014


 

Next reviews
MOBTHROW • Unfolded
JACQUES TATI • Les vacances de M.Hulot
MINNY POPS • Sparks In a Dark Room
DONALD CAMMELL • White Of The Eye
BRAIN SEKTOR • Control
FUTURE • Stay Behind EP
TSZ MING WONG • Badges Of Fury
THE PUSSYBATS • Pussypussybangbang
NERVOSA • Victim of Yourself
TERUO ISHII • Blind Woman's Curse

 

Other reviews from LAVVI EBBEL
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
LAVVI EBBEL • VICTORIA (2014 BUSCEMI REMIX)

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
WHITE COAL ADDICTION • Minor Offence EP
THE NAMES • CLASSICS : In Time
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Wavecore II
ELEMENTS • Elements
VICE • Vice A Plain Reprise & More
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat