tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

27/07/2011 : LEAETHER STRIP - Sex Dwarf EP

LEAETHER STRIP

Sex Dwarf EP

MusicVinyl
EBMElectro RockNew wave

[90/100]   
27/07/2011, Didier BECU

We're sure you know what they say about small boys, but as we're a decent mag we tried to keep it to the music itself.

"Sex Dwarf" by Soft Cell had been, for some time now, one of their favourite songs. Now they finally got it released as a 7" red vinyl , pressed on a limited 500 copies that is!

This well known 80's classic is thrust into the Leaether Strip-mill and the result is a crazy EBM-anthem in which madness is delivered by a flute tone. You can sing it by yourself, you can even whistle it when walking through the park, but know that lunacy is following you and yeah, it's great.

On this 7", Claus and Kurt can't get enough of covering 80's anthems. They also surrender "Spellbound" by Siouxsie & The Banshees to the Leaether Strip-treatment. And we do really have to add that it is fantastic, why else do you think we would give it 90 out of 100?

The additional song on the cd version (just available as promo) comes with "To suffer is to live", a complete new Leaether Strip song which already makes us long for a new cd. But, Claus Larsen should also be aware of this already and he never let his fans wait. Respect, and an other gem to add to the already impressive Leaether Strip-backcatalogue.

Didier BECU
27/07/2011


 

Next reviews
COMPACT SPACE • Nameless
MIRRORS • Lights and Offerings
NOTHING • Suns And Lovers EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pina
MACHINE DE GUERRE • Vanites
TRUMMERFRAU • Geschmacksmusterverletzung
WITHIN TEMPTATION • Sinéad EP
IN SCHERBEN • Dort an jenem Baume
SOL 19 • SOL 19
MARTIAL CANTEREL • Splitsingle with Tobias Bernstrup | 'Strange Land'

 

Other reviews from LEAETHER STRIP
LEAETHER STRIP • World Molæster
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
LEAETHER STRIP • Nothing's Impossible
LEAETHER STRIP • Talk Talk Revisited
LEAETHER STRIP • Seasons change - I don't

 

Same genre: EBM
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith