tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

12/04/2018 : LEDERMAN / DE MEYER - A Tribe Of My Own

LEDERMAN / DE MEYER

A Tribe Of My Own

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[89/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
12/04/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The amalgamation of two figureheads from the Belgian electronic music scene is now a fact! Jean-Marc Lederman (The Weathermen, Kid Montana, Fad Gadget, Gene Loves Jezebel etc) and Jean-Luc De Meyer (Front 242, Underviewer, 32Crash) While the fertile Belgian electronic soil of infectious electronic vibes, beats, melodies and other such things come from the hand of Jean-Marc, the characteristic sound of Jean-Luc’s voice flourishes and grows from these grounds. The fruit of all this can only be: über electro/EBM

Title song, A Tribe Of My Own, immediately sets the bar at a very high level. The deep, threatening and very recognisable voice of Jean-Luc De Meyer gives extra punch to this oppressive song. And when Alfa Matrix-label-mate Sebastian Komor (Komor Kommando) puts his claws on this track, it becomes even EBM club-worthy uppercut, making it a bit more danceable than the original version and giving it his own unique twist to this already superb song!

We also get a surprising cover of Fad Gadget's classic Back To Nature remixed by Edge Of Dawn. Coldkill also had a go on this song resulting in an radical dark-wave sounding remix with an pretty Industrial touch.

The next piece is another genuine Lederman / De Meyer song, Dots, Circles And Lines which gets treated and remixed by Mister Rob.

If this exciting prelude is just the foreplay for the full-fledged album of eleven grinding songs by LEDERMAN / DE MEYER... an ultimate electro-orgasm is most likely coming our way! We can hardly wait!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/04/2018


NL

Een samensmelting van twee boegbeelden uit de wereldwijde elektronische muziekscène is een feit. Jean-Marc Lederman (The Weathermen, Kid Montana, Fad Gadget, Gene Loves Jezebel enz) en Jean-Luc De Meyer (Front 242, Underviewer, 32Crash,...) slaan de handen in elkaar en werken samen onder de naam Lederman/De Meyer. De vruchtbare electronische grond met aanstekelijke electronische vibes, beats en ander gedoe komen van Jean-Marc, de stem die het land overwoekert met een karakteristieke sound is van Jean-Luc. De vrucht van dit alles: opper-EBM/electro.

Titelsong A Tribe Of My Own legt meteen de lat heel erg hoog. De diepe en dreigende en heel erge bekende stem van Jean-Luc geeft extra punch aan dit benauwende nummer. Als dan vervolgens Alfa Matrix-labelgenoot Sebastian Komor (Komor Kommando) zijn klauwen in het nummer zet, krijgt het een EBM-clubwaardige uppercut. Nog dansbaarder dan het orginele, een eigen twist van een op zich al superb nummer!
En dan een verrassende cover van Fad Gadget's classico Back To Nature in een remix van Edge Of Dawn. Coldkill doet hetzelfde nummer echt alle eer aan met een ingrijpende darkwave remix die aardig industrieel klinkt.

We krijgen nog een Ledarman / De Meyer nummer met Dots, Circles And Lines. Deze keer in een remix van Mister Rob.

En dit is nog maar het voorspel van de volwaardige langspeler Eleven Grinding Songs van LEDERMAN / DE MEYER... een album dat wel moet zorgen voor het ultieme electro-orgasme. We kijken er dan ook naar uit.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/04/2018


 

Next reviews
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
AUTUMN • The Fall
NORMORIA • Origin
THE SUBMARINE KID • Independent – Drama

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MILDREDA • I was never really there
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire