tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

12/04/2018 : LEDERMAN / DE MEYER - A Tribe Of My Own

LEDERMAN / DE MEYER

A Tribe Of My Own

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[89/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
12/04/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The amalgamation of two figureheads from the Belgian electronic music scene is now a fact! Jean-Marc Lederman (The Weathermen, Kid Montana, Fad Gadget, Gene Loves Jezebel etc) and Jean-Luc De Meyer (Front 242, Underviewer, 32Crash) While the fertile Belgian electronic soil of infectious electronic vibes, beats, melodies and other such things come from the hand of Jean-Marc, the characteristic sound of Jean-Luc’s voice flourishes and grows from these grounds. The fruit of all this can only be: über electro/EBM

Title song, A Tribe Of My Own, immediately sets the bar at a very high level. The deep, threatening and very recognisable voice of Jean-Luc De Meyer gives extra punch to this oppressive song. And when Alfa Matrix-label-mate Sebastian Komor (Komor Kommando) puts his claws on this track, it becomes even EBM club-worthy uppercut, making it a bit more danceable than the original version and giving it his own unique twist to this already superb song!

We also get a surprising cover of Fad Gadget's classic Back To Nature remixed by Edge Of Dawn. Coldkill also had a go on this song resulting in an radical dark-wave sounding remix with an pretty Industrial touch.

The next piece is another genuine Lederman / De Meyer song, Dots, Circles And Lines which gets treated and remixed by Mister Rob.

If this exciting prelude is just the foreplay for the full-fledged album of eleven grinding songs by LEDERMAN / DE MEYER... an ultimate electro-orgasm is most likely coming our way! We can hardly wait!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/04/2018


NL

Een samensmelting van twee boegbeelden uit de wereldwijde elektronische muziekscène is een feit. Jean-Marc Lederman (The Weathermen, Kid Montana, Fad Gadget, Gene Loves Jezebel enz) en Jean-Luc De Meyer (Front 242, Underviewer, 32Crash,...) slaan de handen in elkaar en werken samen onder de naam Lederman/De Meyer. De vruchtbare electronische grond met aanstekelijke electronische vibes, beats en ander gedoe komen van Jean-Marc, de stem die het land overwoekert met een karakteristieke sound is van Jean-Luc. De vrucht van dit alles: opper-EBM/electro.

Titelsong A Tribe Of My Own legt meteen de lat heel erg hoog. De diepe en dreigende en heel erge bekende stem van Jean-Luc geeft extra punch aan dit benauwende nummer. Als dan vervolgens Alfa Matrix-labelgenoot Sebastian Komor (Komor Kommando) zijn klauwen in het nummer zet, krijgt het een EBM-clubwaardige uppercut. Nog dansbaarder dan het orginele, een eigen twist van een op zich al superb nummer!
En dan een verrassende cover van Fad Gadget's classico Back To Nature in een remix van Edge Of Dawn. Coldkill doet hetzelfde nummer echt alle eer aan met een ingrijpende darkwave remix die aardig industrieel klinkt.

We krijgen nog een Ledarman / De Meyer nummer met Dots, Circles And Lines. Deze keer in een remix van Mister Rob.

En dit is nog maar het voorspel van de volwaardige langspeler Eleven Grinding Songs van LEDERMAN / DE MEYER... een album dat wel moet zorgen voor het ultieme electro-orgasme. We kijken er dan ook naar uit.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/04/2018


 

Next reviews
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
AUTUMN • The Fall
NORMORIA • Origin
THE SUBMARINE KID • Independent – Drama

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore

 

Same genre: EBM
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth