tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

12/04/2018 : LEDERMAN / DE MEYER - A Tribe Of My Own

LEDERMAN / DE MEYER

A Tribe Of My Own

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[89/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
12/04/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The amalgamation of two figureheads from the Belgian electronic music scene is now a fact! Jean-Marc Lederman (The Weathermen, Kid Montana, Fad Gadget, Gene Loves Jezebel etc) and Jean-Luc De Meyer (Front 242, Underviewer, 32Crash) While the fertile Belgian electronic soil of infectious electronic vibes, beats, melodies and other such things come from the hand of Jean-Marc, the characteristic sound of Jean-Luc’s voice flourishes and grows from these grounds. The fruit of all this can only be: über electro/EBM

Title song, A Tribe Of My Own, immediately sets the bar at a very high level. The deep, threatening and very recognisable voice of Jean-Luc De Meyer gives extra punch to this oppressive song. And when Alfa Matrix-label-mate Sebastian Komor (Komor Kommando) puts his claws on this track, it becomes even EBM club-worthy uppercut, making it a bit more danceable than the original version and giving it his own unique twist to this already superb song!

We also get a surprising cover of Fad Gadget's classic Back To Nature remixed by Edge Of Dawn. Coldkill also had a go on this song resulting in an radical dark-wave sounding remix with an pretty Industrial touch.

The next piece is another genuine Lederman / De Meyer song, Dots, Circles And Lines which gets treated and remixed by Mister Rob.

If this exciting prelude is just the foreplay for the full-fledged album of eleven grinding songs by LEDERMAN / DE MEYER... an ultimate electro-orgasm is most likely coming our way! We can hardly wait!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/04/2018


NL

Een samensmelting van twee boegbeelden uit de wereldwijde elektronische muziekscène is een feit. Jean-Marc Lederman (The Weathermen, Kid Montana, Fad Gadget, Gene Loves Jezebel enz) en Jean-Luc De Meyer (Front 242, Underviewer, 32Crash,...) slaan de handen in elkaar en werken samen onder de naam Lederman/De Meyer. De vruchtbare electronische grond met aanstekelijke electronische vibes, beats en ander gedoe komen van Jean-Marc, de stem die het land overwoekert met een karakteristieke sound is van Jean-Luc. De vrucht van dit alles: opper-EBM/electro.

Titelsong A Tribe Of My Own legt meteen de lat heel erg hoog. De diepe en dreigende en heel erge bekende stem van Jean-Luc geeft extra punch aan dit benauwende nummer. Als dan vervolgens Alfa Matrix-labelgenoot Sebastian Komor (Komor Kommando) zijn klauwen in het nummer zet, krijgt het een EBM-clubwaardige uppercut. Nog dansbaarder dan het orginele, een eigen twist van een op zich al superb nummer!
En dan een verrassende cover van Fad Gadget's classico Back To Nature in een remix van Edge Of Dawn. Coldkill doet hetzelfde nummer echt alle eer aan met een ingrijpende darkwave remix die aardig industrieel klinkt.

We krijgen nog een Ledarman / De Meyer nummer met Dots, Circles And Lines. Deze keer in een remix van Mister Rob.

En dit is nog maar het voorspel van de volwaardige langspeler Eleven Grinding Songs van LEDERMAN / DE MEYER... een album dat wel moet zorgen voor het ultieme electro-orgasme. We kijken er dan ook naar uit.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/04/2018


 

Next reviews
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
AUTUMN • The Fall
NORMORIA • Origin
THE SUBMARINE KID • Independent – Drama

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil
COCKSURE • TKO (12')

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets

 

Same genre: EBM
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
FAREWELL • Sequoia
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BEBORN BETON • She Cried

Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos