tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

12/04/2018 : LEDERMAN / DE MEYER - A Tribe Of My Own

LEDERMAN / DE MEYER

A Tribe Of My Own

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[89/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
12/04/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The amalgamation of two figureheads from the Belgian electronic music scene is now a fact! Jean-Marc Lederman (The Weathermen, Kid Montana, Fad Gadget, Gene Loves Jezebel etc) and Jean-Luc De Meyer (Front 242, Underviewer, 32Crash) While the fertile Belgian electronic soil of infectious electronic vibes, beats, melodies and other such things come from the hand of Jean-Marc, the characteristic sound of Jean-Luc’s voice flourishes and grows from these grounds. The fruit of all this can only be: über electro/EBM

Title song, A Tribe Of My Own, immediately sets the bar at a very high level. The deep, threatening and very recognisable voice of Jean-Luc De Meyer gives extra punch to this oppressive song. And when Alfa Matrix-label-mate Sebastian Komor (Komor Kommando) puts his claws on this track, it becomes even EBM club-worthy uppercut, making it a bit more danceable than the original version and giving it his own unique twist to this already superb song!

We also get a surprising cover of Fad Gadget's classic Back To Nature remixed by Edge Of Dawn. Coldkill also had a go on this song resulting in an radical dark-wave sounding remix with an pretty Industrial touch.

The next piece is another genuine Lederman / De Meyer song, Dots, Circles And Lines which gets treated and remixed by Mister Rob.

If this exciting prelude is just the foreplay for the full-fledged album of eleven grinding songs by LEDERMAN / DE MEYER... an ultimate electro-orgasm is most likely coming our way! We can hardly wait!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/04/2018


NL

Een samensmelting van twee boegbeelden uit de wereldwijde elektronische muziekscène is een feit. Jean-Marc Lederman (The Weathermen, Kid Montana, Fad Gadget, Gene Loves Jezebel enz) en Jean-Luc De Meyer (Front 242, Underviewer, 32Crash,...) slaan de handen in elkaar en werken samen onder de naam Lederman/De Meyer. De vruchtbare electronische grond met aanstekelijke electronische vibes, beats en ander gedoe komen van Jean-Marc, de stem die het land overwoekert met een karakteristieke sound is van Jean-Luc. De vrucht van dit alles: opper-EBM/electro.

Titelsong A Tribe Of My Own legt meteen de lat heel erg hoog. De diepe en dreigende en heel erge bekende stem van Jean-Luc geeft extra punch aan dit benauwende nummer. Als dan vervolgens Alfa Matrix-labelgenoot Sebastian Komor (Komor Kommando) zijn klauwen in het nummer zet, krijgt het een EBM-clubwaardige uppercut. Nog dansbaarder dan het orginele, een eigen twist van een op zich al superb nummer!
En dan een verrassende cover van Fad Gadget's classico Back To Nature in een remix van Edge Of Dawn. Coldkill doet hetzelfde nummer echt alle eer aan met een ingrijpende darkwave remix die aardig industrieel klinkt.

We krijgen nog een Ledarman / De Meyer nummer met Dots, Circles And Lines. Deze keer in een remix van Mister Rob.

En dit is nog maar het voorspel van de volwaardige langspeler Eleven Grinding Songs van LEDERMAN / DE MEYER... een album dat wel moet zorgen voor het ultieme electro-orgasme. We kijken er dan ook naar uit.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/04/2018


 

Next reviews
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
AUTUMN • The Fall
NORMORIA • Origin
THE SUBMARINE KID • Independent – Drama

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil
COCKSURE • TKO (12')

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots