tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

12/04/2018 : LEDERMAN / DE MEYER - A Tribe Of My Own

LEDERMAN / DE MEYER

A Tribe Of My Own

MusicCD (EP)
Dark ElectroEBMElectro

[89/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
12/04/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The amalgamation of two figureheads from the Belgian electronic music scene is now a fact! Jean-Marc Lederman (The Weathermen, Kid Montana, Fad Gadget, Gene Loves Jezebel etc) and Jean-Luc De Meyer (Front 242, Underviewer, 32Crash) While the fertile Belgian electronic soil of infectious electronic vibes, beats, melodies and other such things come from the hand of Jean-Marc, the characteristic sound of Jean-Luc’s voice flourishes and grows from these grounds. The fruit of all this can only be: über electro/EBM

Title song, A Tribe Of My Own, immediately sets the bar at a very high level. The deep, threatening and very recognisable voice of Jean-Luc De Meyer gives extra punch to this oppressive song. And when Alfa Matrix-label-mate Sebastian Komor (Komor Kommando) puts his claws on this track, it becomes even EBM club-worthy uppercut, making it a bit more danceable than the original version and giving it his own unique twist to this already superb song!

We also get a surprising cover of Fad Gadget's classic Back To Nature remixed by Edge Of Dawn. Coldkill also had a go on this song resulting in an radical dark-wave sounding remix with an pretty Industrial touch.

The next piece is another genuine Lederman / De Meyer song, Dots, Circles And Lines which gets treated and remixed by Mister Rob.

If this exciting prelude is just the foreplay for the full-fledged album of eleven grinding songs by LEDERMAN / DE MEYER... an ultimate electro-orgasm is most likely coming our way! We can hardly wait!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/04/2018


NL

Een samensmelting van twee boegbeelden uit de wereldwijde elektronische muziekscène is een feit. Jean-Marc Lederman (The Weathermen, Kid Montana, Fad Gadget, Gene Loves Jezebel enz) en Jean-Luc De Meyer (Front 242, Underviewer, 32Crash,...) slaan de handen in elkaar en werken samen onder de naam Lederman/De Meyer. De vruchtbare electronische grond met aanstekelijke electronische vibes, beats en ander gedoe komen van Jean-Marc, de stem die het land overwoekert met een karakteristieke sound is van Jean-Luc. De vrucht van dit alles: opper-EBM/electro.

Titelsong A Tribe Of My Own legt meteen de lat heel erg hoog. De diepe en dreigende en heel erge bekende stem van Jean-Luc geeft extra punch aan dit benauwende nummer. Als dan vervolgens Alfa Matrix-labelgenoot Sebastian Komor (Komor Kommando) zijn klauwen in het nummer zet, krijgt het een EBM-clubwaardige uppercut. Nog dansbaarder dan het orginele, een eigen twist van een op zich al superb nummer!
En dan een verrassende cover van Fad Gadget's classico Back To Nature in een remix van Edge Of Dawn. Coldkill doet hetzelfde nummer echt alle eer aan met een ingrijpende darkwave remix die aardig industrieel klinkt.

We krijgen nog een Ledarman / De Meyer nummer met Dots, Circles And Lines. Deze keer in een remix van Mister Rob.

En dit is nog maar het voorspel van de volwaardige langspeler Eleven Grinding Songs van LEDERMAN / DE MEYER... een album dat wel moet zorgen voor het ultieme electro-orgasme. We kijken er dan ook naar uit.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
12/04/2018


 

Next reviews
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
AUTUMN • The Fall
NORMORIA • Origin
THE SUBMARINE KID • Independent – Drama

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRO
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
FORMSHIFT FT. NEON ELECTRONICS • Crash/Overtime
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
PRETTY ADDICTED • It All Stems From Childhood
AKALOTZ • Shift to Evil
COCKSURE • TKO (12')

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: EBM
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice