tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

23/06/2014 : LEGACY FESTIVAL - Mol (21/06/2014)

LEGACY FESTIVAL

Mol (21/06/2014)

Concert


[80/100]   
23/06/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Saturday the 21st of June, a new dance festival was born in Mol, Belgium. First edition, so I expected some problems, and I was right, only one small entry made us wait almost one hour to get in. But this was the only negative point, for the rest this new festival was well organized.

This location is really fantastic, it s a kind of artificial white beach with large swimming pools in the middle of a holiday resort. The Legacy festival is in fact a new concept that brings the various genres of dance from the 80’s to 2000 together. They hosted 5 stages, a ‘90’s stage’, a ‘New Wave’ , a’ Bonzai Label’ , a ‘Sound of Belgium’ and ‘La Rocca’ stage.

Entering the festival there was already a big party going on at the Bonzai stage, the rave, house and trace beats brought by famous DJ's like Yves Deruyter made this stage , in my opinion, the most energetic and popular stage of the day. Next stage I visited was the ‘Back 2 Basicz’ or ‘La Rocca’ stage, with tunes from this famous discotheque in the 90’s and 00’s.

Personally I liked the Orange stage better, The Sound Of Belgium gave us some nice pounding beats. The documentary as seen on TV and movie was perfectly translated into this event stage, with a lineup of Belgium’s most legendary producers like C.J. Bolland or Olivier Pieters. Also popular was the 90’s stage, most DJ’s played very commercial tracks from the 90’s, not my kind of music, but I have respect for every style of music. Not so for DJ Benny Cobra, who shouted several times ‘Fuck the new wave and Bonzai stages’, while playing Flemish and Dutch ‘Schlager’ music. He acted like he was the headliner of this festival, sad to see, and ever more sad to hear.

Some live acts were presented on this stage , 2 Unlimited did a very nice job. Anita and Ray brought the hits they were famous for , 2 nice female sexy dancers made the act complete. The crowd loved it to hear some ‘No Limits’ from the 90’s.Later that evening Snap did a live act too, but I expected more from this band. ‘Rhythm is a Dancer’ stays a great and popular dance song, but they played it for 10 minutes, in a half hour set. Maybe it was too early in the evening, as this was the longest day the sun was still shining a bit, so the light show was nowhere.

But actually I came for the New Wave stage, and the live acts. I was just in time to see the new beat legend ‘Fatal Error’. Started in the 80’s by accident and turned out to be a gigantically hype all over the world. A new kind of dance music was born. ‘Fatal Error’ began as a joke, and in the beginning we didn’t know what to expect, but after some time it all became very painful to listen to. So a small disappointment, directly followed by another, ‘Radical G.’ played no live, but only a DJ set. But I have to say that, in my opinion, Glenn played the best set I heard at this festival, a perfect mix between some great new wave classics and his own electronical stuff.

A perfect warm up for the first ‘real’ live act of the festival, ‘A Split Second’. And although the set was shortened to half an hour, they did a fantastic gig. Even saw lots of people dance during their classic ‘Flesh’. First real highlight of the festival. The DJ sets from Borg, Patrick Codenys and Carlos Peron were very good, but there was at a certain time no one on the dance floor.

The only full length live act was by ‘The Neon Judgement’, Frank and Dirk still know how to make perfect new wave, and the audience loved it. First time that day the ‘purple stage’ was on fire. It was probably strange for them to bring their dark music in the late afternoon while the sun was still shining.

Ending later that evening with Anne Clark featuring HerrB, finally it became dark so for the first time we saw some lights on stage and even nice visuals. A really danceable set that everyone enjoyed and a worthy headliner of this ‘New Wave’ stage.

Although I saw not enough good live acts, I had a great time on the Legacy Festival. Nice location, perfect weather conditions and didn’t have to wait for food or drinks. Added is a small compilation of the live acts on this festival. More and full version vids can be found on my youtube channel (numanoid65)

Peter HESELMANS
23/06/2014


23/06/2014 : LEGACY FESTIVAL - Mol (21/06/2014) 23/06/2014 : LEGACY FESTIVAL - Mol (21/06/2014) 23/06/2014 : LEGACY FESTIVAL - Mol (21/06/2014) 23/06/2014 : LEGACY FESTIVAL - Mol (21/06/2014) 23/06/2014 : LEGACY FESTIVAL - Mol (21/06/2014) 23/06/2014 : LEGACY FESTIVAL - Mol (21/06/2014) 23/06/2014 : LEGACY FESTIVAL - Mol (21/06/2014) 23/06/2014 : LEGACY FESTIVAL - Mol (21/06/2014)

Music reviews

13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno
11
10
ELM
Death Of The North
11
10
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS
Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!
23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love
08
10
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?