tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
06/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I don’t own some of the albums that "changed my life" anymore, and not all of them were an inspiration. They just played a role in my life (an important role in a certain period).

1. LAURIE ANDERSON - Big Science
I think I was 10 or 11 years old when I first heard Oh Superman on the radio. This monotonous ha - ha - ha.... caught my attention, because it was pure and the rest of the track was based on this line. I later discovered on tape the other tracks of this album, because it was not possible to buy this record in East Germany.

2. HOLGER HILLER - AS IS
I bought this album when I bought my first sampling keyboard. As it contained lots of interesting sampled sounds, it inspired me to make my own samples.

3. SANDOW - Stationen einer Sucht 
My favorite album of an East German band. For me, it was the best music to listen to when I was 17 or 18 and living in times when everything around me seemed to change. Songs like Schweigen Und ParolenHerz Schimmelt or Tour De Lose were for me what Smells Like Teen Spirit was for others, it was the sound of a generation.

4. BOW WOW WOW - See jungle, see jungle!
Bow Wow Wow was so energizing for me. Annabella seemed the only person who did whatever she wanted to do...and I was 13 or 14 (you understand).

5. CINDYTALK - Camouflage Heart 
I discovered Gordon Sharp first, and then his band Cindytalk. At the end of the 80s I listened a lot to 4AD bands and he did the vocals on It'll End In Tears and Kangaroo by This Mortal Coil. I was very surprised how different his band was. I still remember that I was silent when hearing all this pain and sadness. It was quite difficult, because it was like listening to everything and nothing at the same time.

6. CONTROLLED BLEEDING - Hog Floor
I have chosen Hog Floor because this was the first Controlled Bleeding album I bought. It´s a good introduction to their music. There is this experimental and artistic side, but also the total abyss of destruction that cleans the brain.

7. XYPHAX - Time of the year
An album I endlessly listened to at the end of the 90s. I am not very good in categorizing music, but it´s a sound that comes close to Autechre or D'arcangelo. Music I like to listen to when I decide to make a long walk in the middle of the night.

8. THIS MORTAL COIL - Filigree and Shadow
The first album on 4AD I heard. 25 years ago this record was often played at home after a night at the clubs. The side that started with My Father was usually the beginning. And that beautiful cover!

9. MIKE OLDFIELD - Ommadawn
Very simple, warm and emotional, but at the same time arranged and mixed in a perfect way. There are so many dimensions and it´s full of feelings.

10. CLOCK DVA - Buried Dreams
My favorite album by Clock DVA is Advantage, but Buried Dreams is the one that had a bigger impact on me when I started my own first musical steps and this album was in terms of sounds a milestone for me. A perfect dark trip.

Didier BECU
06/01/2016


NL

Niet alle platen die mijn leven “veranderden” zitten nog in mijn collectie, en ze waren ook niet allemaal een inspiratie. Het zijn gewoon platen die in een bepaalde periode belangrijk waren in mijn leven.

1. LAURIE ANDERSON - Big Science
Ik denk dat ik 10 of 11 jaar oud was toen ik voor het eerst Oh Superman op de radio hoorde. Dat monotone ha - ha - ha.... trok meteen mijn aandacht want het was zuiver en de rest van het liedje was erop gebaseerd. Later ontdekte ik op een cassette de andere tracks van dit album, want destijds was het niet mogelijk om deze plaat in Oost-Duitsland te kopen.

2. HOLGER HILLER - AS IS
Ik kocht dit album toen ik mijn eerste sampler keyboard aanschafte. De plaat inspireerde me om zelf samples te maken, gewoon omdat er zoveel interessante gesamplede geluiden op staan.

3. SANDOW - Stationen einer Sucht 
Mijn favoriete album van een Oost-Duitse band. Het was voor mij de beste muziek toen ik 17 of 18 was. Het was een tijd waarin alles om me heen leek te veranderen. Nummers als Schweigen Und Parolen, Herz Schimmelt of Tour De Lose waren voor mij het geluid van een generatie, net zoals dat voor sommigen Smells Like Teen Spirit is.

4. BOW WOW WOW - See jungle, see jungle!
Bow Wow Wow was zo energiek voor mij. Annabella leek wel de enige persoon te zijn die deed wat ze wilde doen... en ik was 13 of 14 ( je begrijpt het wel ).

5. CINDYTALK - Camouflage Heart 
Ik ontdekte eerst Gordon Sharp,en dan pas zijn band Cindytalk. Aan het einde van de jaren 80 luisterde ik veel naar 4AD-bands, en hij zong de teksten van It'll End In Tears en Kangaroo op de platen van This Mortal Coil. Ik was zeer verrast toen ik hoorde hoe anders zijn groep klonk. Ik herinner me nog dat ik stil werd bij het horen van al die pijn en verdriet. Het was erg moeilijk, het was alsof je tegelijkertijd naar alles en niets luisterde. 

6. CONTROLLED BLEEDING - Hog Floor
Ik koos voor Hog Floor, gewoon omdat dit de eerste plaat van Controlled Bleeding is die ik ooit kocht. Het is een ideale kennismaking. Er is de experimentele en artistieke kant, maar ook de totale afgrond van de vernietiging die je hersenen reinigt.

7. XYPHAX - Time of the year
Dit is een album waar ik aan het eind van de jaren 90 eindeloos naar heb geluisterd. Ik ben niet erg goed in het categoriseren van muziek, maar hun geluid leunt dicht aan bij Autechre of D' Arcangelo. Het is muziek die ik graag hoor als ik in het midden van de nacht een lange wandeling maak.

8. THIS MORTAL COIL - Filigree and Shadow
Dit was het eerste album op 4AD dat ik hoorde. 25 jaar speelde ik deze plaat vaak toen ik tuis kwam na een nacht in de clubs te hebben doorgebracht. Het was steeds de kant die met mijn My Father begint. En dan is er die mooie cover!

9. MIKE OLDFIELD - Ommadawn
Heel simpel, warm en emotioneel, maar op een perfecte wijze gemixt en gearrangeerd. Een plaat met veel dimensies en gevoelens.

10. CLOCK DVA - Buried Dreams
Mijn favoriete Clock DVA-plaat is Advantage, maar Buried Dreams had een grotere impact op mij. Toen ik mijn eerste stappen in de muziek zette, was dit album in termen van geluiden een echte mijlpaal. Een perfecte donkere trip!

Didier BECU
06/01/2016


06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag