tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
06/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I don’t own some of the albums that "changed my life" anymore, and not all of them were an inspiration. They just played a role in my life (an important role in a certain period).

1. LAURIE ANDERSON - Big Science
I think I was 10 or 11 years old when I first heard Oh Superman on the radio. This monotonous ha - ha - ha.... caught my attention, because it was pure and the rest of the track was based on this line. I later discovered on tape the other tracks of this album, because it was not possible to buy this record in East Germany.

2. HOLGER HILLER - AS IS
I bought this album when I bought my first sampling keyboard. As it contained lots of interesting sampled sounds, it inspired me to make my own samples.

3. SANDOW - Stationen einer Sucht 
My favorite album of an East German band. For me, it was the best music to listen to when I was 17 or 18 and living in times when everything around me seemed to change. Songs like Schweigen Und ParolenHerz Schimmelt or Tour De Lose were for me what Smells Like Teen Spirit was for others, it was the sound of a generation.

4. BOW WOW WOW - See jungle, see jungle!
Bow Wow Wow was so energizing for me. Annabella seemed the only person who did whatever she wanted to do...and I was 13 or 14 (you understand).

5. CINDYTALK - Camouflage Heart 
I discovered Gordon Sharp first, and then his band Cindytalk. At the end of the 80s I listened a lot to 4AD bands and he did the vocals on It'll End In Tears and Kangaroo by This Mortal Coil. I was very surprised how different his band was. I still remember that I was silent when hearing all this pain and sadness. It was quite difficult, because it was like listening to everything and nothing at the same time.

6. CONTROLLED BLEEDING - Hog Floor
I have chosen Hog Floor because this was the first Controlled Bleeding album I bought. It´s a good introduction to their music. There is this experimental and artistic side, but also the total abyss of destruction that cleans the brain.

7. XYPHAX - Time of the year
An album I endlessly listened to at the end of the 90s. I am not very good in categorizing music, but it´s a sound that comes close to Autechre or D'arcangelo. Music I like to listen to when I decide to make a long walk in the middle of the night.

8. THIS MORTAL COIL - Filigree and Shadow
The first album on 4AD I heard. 25 years ago this record was often played at home after a night at the clubs. The side that started with My Father was usually the beginning. And that beautiful cover!

9. MIKE OLDFIELD - Ommadawn
Very simple, warm and emotional, but at the same time arranged and mixed in a perfect way. There are so many dimensions and it´s full of feelings.

10. CLOCK DVA - Buried Dreams
My favorite album by Clock DVA is Advantage, but Buried Dreams is the one that had a bigger impact on me when I started my own first musical steps and this album was in terms of sounds a milestone for me. A perfect dark trip.

Didier BECU
06/01/2016


NL

Niet alle platen die mijn leven “veranderden” zitten nog in mijn collectie, en ze waren ook niet allemaal een inspiratie. Het zijn gewoon platen die in een bepaalde periode belangrijk waren in mijn leven.

1. LAURIE ANDERSON - Big Science
Ik denk dat ik 10 of 11 jaar oud was toen ik voor het eerst Oh Superman op de radio hoorde. Dat monotone ha - ha - ha.... trok meteen mijn aandacht want het was zuiver en de rest van het liedje was erop gebaseerd. Later ontdekte ik op een cassette de andere tracks van dit album, want destijds was het niet mogelijk om deze plaat in Oost-Duitsland te kopen.

2. HOLGER HILLER - AS IS
Ik kocht dit album toen ik mijn eerste sampler keyboard aanschafte. De plaat inspireerde me om zelf samples te maken, gewoon omdat er zoveel interessante gesamplede geluiden op staan.

3. SANDOW - Stationen einer Sucht 
Mijn favoriete album van een Oost-Duitse band. Het was voor mij de beste muziek toen ik 17 of 18 was. Het was een tijd waarin alles om me heen leek te veranderen. Nummers als Schweigen Und Parolen, Herz Schimmelt of Tour De Lose waren voor mij het geluid van een generatie, net zoals dat voor sommigen Smells Like Teen Spirit is.

4. BOW WOW WOW - See jungle, see jungle!
Bow Wow Wow was zo energiek voor mij. Annabella leek wel de enige persoon te zijn die deed wat ze wilde doen... en ik was 13 of 14 ( je begrijpt het wel ).

5. CINDYTALK - Camouflage Heart 
Ik ontdekte eerst Gordon Sharp,en dan pas zijn band Cindytalk. Aan het einde van de jaren 80 luisterde ik veel naar 4AD-bands, en hij zong de teksten van It'll End In Tears en Kangaroo op de platen van This Mortal Coil. Ik was zeer verrast toen ik hoorde hoe anders zijn groep klonk. Ik herinner me nog dat ik stil werd bij het horen van al die pijn en verdriet. Het was erg moeilijk, het was alsof je tegelijkertijd naar alles en niets luisterde. 

6. CONTROLLED BLEEDING - Hog Floor
Ik koos voor Hog Floor, gewoon omdat dit de eerste plaat van Controlled Bleeding is die ik ooit kocht. Het is een ideale kennismaking. Er is de experimentele en artistieke kant, maar ook de totale afgrond van de vernietiging die je hersenen reinigt.

7. XYPHAX - Time of the year
Dit is een album waar ik aan het eind van de jaren 90 eindeloos naar heb geluisterd. Ik ben niet erg goed in het categoriseren van muziek, maar hun geluid leunt dicht aan bij Autechre of D' Arcangelo. Het is muziek die ik graag hoor als ik in het midden van de nacht een lange wandeling maak.

8. THIS MORTAL COIL - Filigree and Shadow
Dit was het eerste album op 4AD dat ik hoorde. 25 jaar speelde ik deze plaat vaak toen ik tuis kwam na een nacht in de clubs te hebben doorgebracht. Het was steeds de kant die met mijn My Father begint. En dan is er die mooie cover!

9. MIKE OLDFIELD - Ommadawn
Heel simpel, warm en emotioneel, maar op een perfecte wijze gemixt en gearrangeerd. Een plaat met veel dimensies en gevoelens.

10. CLOCK DVA - Buried Dreams
Mijn favoriete Clock DVA-plaat is Advantage, maar Buried Dreams had een grotere impact op mij. Toen ik mijn eerste stappen in de muziek zette, was dit album in termen van geluiden een echte mijlpaal. Een perfecte donkere trip!

Didier BECU
06/01/2016


06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/01/2016 : LEIF KUNZEL (MONO NO AWARE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl