tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : LET'S EAT GRANDMA - I, Gemini

LET'S EAT GRANDMA

I, Gemini

MusicCD
Dark PopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalIndie

[78/100]   

Transgressive Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Let's Eat Grandma, it’s a very unusual name, unless you are Rosa Walton and Jenny Hollingworth. Two teenage girls have managed to win both the heart of the press and the public in a record time.

Meanwhile, all kinds of names were invented to describe their magical indie pop, an appropriate term has not been found so far. Their funny indie-pop is a slightly commercial, but it remains special.

The two teenage girls use a variety of tools that comes from a toy box (from a simple flute to a glockenspiel) and they make sugar-sweet indie songs which are sometimes playful, but also quite melancholic.

The topics used in I, Gemini are not really common for music. Or do you know a band that sings about baking a chocolate cake? No, The Muppets do not count.

When listening to the playful pop of Rosa and Jenny, we were reminded of the late Shonen Knife. It sounds incredibly naive, but it’s quite genius. The two classically trained girls from Norwich are indeed excellent. The unique voice remind us of CocoRosie, and that is always a bonus!

Whether Let's Eat Grandma is a hype or not remains to be seen, but the duo surely made an excellent debut. For day dreamers who like toy instruments and bizarre fairy tales!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Let’s Eat Grandma, het is geen naam om mee naar buiten te komen, tenzij je Rosa Walton en Jenny Hollingworth heet. Deze twee tienermeisjes zijn er immers in geslaagd om in een recordtempo zowel het hart van de pers als van het publiek te breken.

Men heeft ondertussen reeds allerlei namen bedacht voor de stijl van hun sprookjesachtige indiepop, een passende term heeft men tot nu toe echter nog niet gevonden. Hun grappige indiepop is wel een tikkeltje commercieel, toch is hij apart.

De twee tienermeisjes gebruiken allerlei instrumenten die ze uit hun speelgoeddoos hebben opgevist (van een eenvoudige blokfluit tot een glockenspiel) en brouwen daarmee zeemzoete indiesongs die soms speels, maar ook best zwaarmoedig aanvoelen.

De onderwerpen die op I, Gemini worden aangesneden zijn niet echt gebruikelijk voor de muziek. Of ken jij nog een band die het over het bakken van een chocoladecake heeft? Neen, K3 telt niet mee.

Bij het beluisteren van de speelse pop van Rosa en Jenny dachten we aan Shonen Knife zaliger. Het klinkt ontzettend naïef, toch mag je er donder op zeggen dat hier lang over is nagedacht. De twee meisjes uit Norwich, die een klassieke muziekopleiding hebben genoten, doen het immers uitstekend. De aparte stemmen herinneren ons aan wat CocoRosie doet, en dat is altijd mooi meegenomen!

Of Let’s Eat Grandma een blijver is of gewoon een hype valt alsnog af te wachten, het uitstekend debuut is alvast geleverd. Voor dagdromers die van speelgoedinstrumenten en bizarre sprookjes houden!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
RED MECCA • Electricity

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: INDIE
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)