tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LET'S EAT GRANDMA - I, Gemini

LET'S EAT GRANDMA

I, Gemini

MusicCD
Dark PopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalIndie

[78/100]   

Transgressive Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Let's Eat Grandma, it’s a very unusual name, unless you are Rosa Walton and Jenny Hollingworth. Two teenage girls have managed to win both the heart of the press and the public in a record time.

Meanwhile, all kinds of names were invented to describe their magical indie pop, an appropriate term has not been found so far. Their funny indie-pop is a slightly commercial, but it remains special.

The two teenage girls use a variety of tools that comes from a toy box (from a simple flute to a glockenspiel) and they make sugar-sweet indie songs which are sometimes playful, but also quite melancholic.

The topics used in I, Gemini are not really common for music. Or do you know a band that sings about baking a chocolate cake? No, The Muppets do not count.

When listening to the playful pop of Rosa and Jenny, we were reminded of the late Shonen Knife. It sounds incredibly naive, but it’s quite genius. The two classically trained girls from Norwich are indeed excellent. The unique voice remind us of CocoRosie, and that is always a bonus!

Whether Let's Eat Grandma is a hype or not remains to be seen, but the duo surely made an excellent debut. For day dreamers who like toy instruments and bizarre fairy tales!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Let’s Eat Grandma, het is geen naam om mee naar buiten te komen, tenzij je Rosa Walton en Jenny Hollingworth heet. Deze twee tienermeisjes zijn er immers in geslaagd om in een recordtempo zowel het hart van de pers als van het publiek te breken.

Men heeft ondertussen reeds allerlei namen bedacht voor de stijl van hun sprookjesachtige indiepop, een passende term heeft men tot nu toe echter nog niet gevonden. Hun grappige indiepop is wel een tikkeltje commercieel, toch is hij apart.

De twee tienermeisjes gebruiken allerlei instrumenten die ze uit hun speelgoeddoos hebben opgevist (van een eenvoudige blokfluit tot een glockenspiel) en brouwen daarmee zeemzoete indiesongs die soms speels, maar ook best zwaarmoedig aanvoelen.

De onderwerpen die op I, Gemini worden aangesneden zijn niet echt gebruikelijk voor de muziek. Of ken jij nog een band die het over het bakken van een chocoladecake heeft? Neen, K3 telt niet mee.

Bij het beluisteren van de speelse pop van Rosa en Jenny dachten we aan Shonen Knife zaliger. Het klinkt ontzettend naïef, toch mag je er donder op zeggen dat hier lang over is nagedacht. De twee meisjes uit Norwich, die een klassieke muziekopleiding hebben genoten, doen het immers uitstekend. De aparte stemmen herinneren ons aan wat CocoRosie doet, en dat is altijd mooi meegenomen!

Of Let’s Eat Grandma een blijver is of gewoon een hype valt alsnog af te wachten, het uitstekend debuut is alvast geleverd. Voor dagdromers die van speelgoedinstrumenten en bizarre sprookjes houden!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
BRODKA • Clashes

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido