tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LET'S EAT GRANDMA - I, Gemini

LET'S EAT GRANDMA

I, Gemini

MusicCD
Dark PopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalIndie

[78/100]   

Transgressive Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Let's Eat Grandma, it’s a very unusual name, unless you are Rosa Walton and Jenny Hollingworth. Two teenage girls have managed to win both the heart of the press and the public in a record time.

Meanwhile, all kinds of names were invented to describe their magical indie pop, an appropriate term has not been found so far. Their funny indie-pop is a slightly commercial, but it remains special.

The two teenage girls use a variety of tools that comes from a toy box (from a simple flute to a glockenspiel) and they make sugar-sweet indie songs which are sometimes playful, but also quite melancholic.

The topics used in I, Gemini are not really common for music. Or do you know a band that sings about baking a chocolate cake? No, The Muppets do not count.

When listening to the playful pop of Rosa and Jenny, we were reminded of the late Shonen Knife. It sounds incredibly naive, but it’s quite genius. The two classically trained girls from Norwich are indeed excellent. The unique voice remind us of CocoRosie, and that is always a bonus!

Whether Let's Eat Grandma is a hype or not remains to be seen, but the duo surely made an excellent debut. For day dreamers who like toy instruments and bizarre fairy tales!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Let’s Eat Grandma, het is geen naam om mee naar buiten te komen, tenzij je Rosa Walton en Jenny Hollingworth heet. Deze twee tienermeisjes zijn er immers in geslaagd om in een recordtempo zowel het hart van de pers als van het publiek te breken.

Men heeft ondertussen reeds allerlei namen bedacht voor de stijl van hun sprookjesachtige indiepop, een passende term heeft men tot nu toe echter nog niet gevonden. Hun grappige indiepop is wel een tikkeltje commercieel, toch is hij apart.

De twee tienermeisjes gebruiken allerlei instrumenten die ze uit hun speelgoeddoos hebben opgevist (van een eenvoudige blokfluit tot een glockenspiel) en brouwen daarmee zeemzoete indiesongs die soms speels, maar ook best zwaarmoedig aanvoelen.

De onderwerpen die op I, Gemini worden aangesneden zijn niet echt gebruikelijk voor de muziek. Of ken jij nog een band die het over het bakken van een chocoladecake heeft? Neen, K3 telt niet mee.

Bij het beluisteren van de speelse pop van Rosa en Jenny dachten we aan Shonen Knife zaliger. Het klinkt ontzettend naïef, toch mag je er donder op zeggen dat hier lang over is nagedacht. De twee meisjes uit Norwich, die een klassieke muziekopleiding hebben genoten, doen het immers uitstekend. De aparte stemmen herinneren ons aan wat CocoRosie doet, en dat is altijd mooi meegenomen!

Of Let’s Eat Grandma een blijver is of gewoon een hype valt alsnog af te wachten, het uitstekend debuut is alvast geleverd. Voor dagdromers die van speelgoedinstrumenten en bizarre sprookjes houden!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life

 

Same genre: DARK POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS