tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LET'S EAT GRANDMA - I, Gemini

LET'S EAT GRANDMA

I, Gemini

MusicCD
Dark PopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalIndie

[78/100]   

Transgressive Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Let's Eat Grandma, it’s a very unusual name, unless you are Rosa Walton and Jenny Hollingworth. Two teenage girls have managed to win both the heart of the press and the public in a record time.

Meanwhile, all kinds of names were invented to describe their magical indie pop, an appropriate term has not been found so far. Their funny indie-pop is a slightly commercial, but it remains special.

The two teenage girls use a variety of tools that comes from a toy box (from a simple flute to a glockenspiel) and they make sugar-sweet indie songs which are sometimes playful, but also quite melancholic.

The topics used in I, Gemini are not really common for music. Or do you know a band that sings about baking a chocolate cake? No, The Muppets do not count.

When listening to the playful pop of Rosa and Jenny, we were reminded of the late Shonen Knife. It sounds incredibly naive, but it’s quite genius. The two classically trained girls from Norwich are indeed excellent. The unique voice remind us of CocoRosie, and that is always a bonus!

Whether Let's Eat Grandma is a hype or not remains to be seen, but the duo surely made an excellent debut. For day dreamers who like toy instruments and bizarre fairy tales!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Let’s Eat Grandma, het is geen naam om mee naar buiten te komen, tenzij je Rosa Walton en Jenny Hollingworth heet. Deze twee tienermeisjes zijn er immers in geslaagd om in een recordtempo zowel het hart van de pers als van het publiek te breken.

Men heeft ondertussen reeds allerlei namen bedacht voor de stijl van hun sprookjesachtige indiepop, een passende term heeft men tot nu toe echter nog niet gevonden. Hun grappige indiepop is wel een tikkeltje commercieel, toch is hij apart.

De twee tienermeisjes gebruiken allerlei instrumenten die ze uit hun speelgoeddoos hebben opgevist (van een eenvoudige blokfluit tot een glockenspiel) en brouwen daarmee zeemzoete indiesongs die soms speels, maar ook best zwaarmoedig aanvoelen.

De onderwerpen die op I, Gemini worden aangesneden zijn niet echt gebruikelijk voor de muziek. Of ken jij nog een band die het over het bakken van een chocoladecake heeft? Neen, K3 telt niet mee.

Bij het beluisteren van de speelse pop van Rosa en Jenny dachten we aan Shonen Knife zaliger. Het klinkt ontzettend naïef, toch mag je er donder op zeggen dat hier lang over is nagedacht. De twee meisjes uit Norwich, die een klassieke muziekopleiding hebben genoten, doen het immers uitstekend. De aparte stemmen herinneren ons aan wat CocoRosie doet, en dat is altijd mooi meegenomen!

Of Let’s Eat Grandma een blijver is of gewoon een hype valt alsnog af te wachten, het uitstekend debuut is alvast geleverd. Voor dagdromers die van speelgoedinstrumenten en bizarre sprookjes houden!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
18
09
CALVA Y NADA
Der Sturm