tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LET'S EAT GRANDMA - I, Gemini

LET'S EAT GRANDMA

I, Gemini

MusicCD
Dark PopEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalIndie

[78/100]   

Transgressive Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Let's Eat Grandma, it’s a very unusual name, unless you are Rosa Walton and Jenny Hollingworth. Two teenage girls have managed to win both the heart of the press and the public in a record time.

Meanwhile, all kinds of names were invented to describe their magical indie pop, an appropriate term has not been found so far. Their funny indie-pop is a slightly commercial, but it remains special.

The two teenage girls use a variety of tools that comes from a toy box (from a simple flute to a glockenspiel) and they make sugar-sweet indie songs which are sometimes playful, but also quite melancholic.

The topics used in I, Gemini are not really common for music. Or do you know a band that sings about baking a chocolate cake? No, The Muppets do not count.

When listening to the playful pop of Rosa and Jenny, we were reminded of the late Shonen Knife. It sounds incredibly naive, but it’s quite genius. The two classically trained girls from Norwich are indeed excellent. The unique voice remind us of CocoRosie, and that is always a bonus!

Whether Let's Eat Grandma is a hype or not remains to be seen, but the duo surely made an excellent debut. For day dreamers who like toy instruments and bizarre fairy tales!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Let’s Eat Grandma, het is geen naam om mee naar buiten te komen, tenzij je Rosa Walton en Jenny Hollingworth heet. Deze twee tienermeisjes zijn er immers in geslaagd om in een recordtempo zowel het hart van de pers als van het publiek te breken.

Men heeft ondertussen reeds allerlei namen bedacht voor de stijl van hun sprookjesachtige indiepop, een passende term heeft men tot nu toe echter nog niet gevonden. Hun grappige indiepop is wel een tikkeltje commercieel, toch is hij apart.

De twee tienermeisjes gebruiken allerlei instrumenten die ze uit hun speelgoeddoos hebben opgevist (van een eenvoudige blokfluit tot een glockenspiel) en brouwen daarmee zeemzoete indiesongs die soms speels, maar ook best zwaarmoedig aanvoelen.

De onderwerpen die op I, Gemini worden aangesneden zijn niet echt gebruikelijk voor de muziek. Of ken jij nog een band die het over het bakken van een chocoladecake heeft? Neen, K3 telt niet mee.

Bij het beluisteren van de speelse pop van Rosa en Jenny dachten we aan Shonen Knife zaliger. Het klinkt ontzettend naïef, toch mag je er donder op zeggen dat hier lang over is nagedacht. De twee meisjes uit Norwich, die een klassieke muziekopleiding hebben genoten, doen het immers uitstekend. De aparte stemmen herinneren ons aan wat CocoRosie doet, en dat is altijd mooi meegenomen!

Of Let’s Eat Grandma een blijver is of gewoon een hype valt alsnog af te wachten, het uitstekend debuut is alvast geleverd. Voor dagdromers die van speelgoedinstrumenten en bizarre sprookjes houden!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
A-WA • Habib Galbi
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
NICOLAS VAN MEIRHAEGHE (EMPUSAE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER SCHILLING • Error In The System
PETER CASAER • AFFLICTION
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE • Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
HANTE • Ten Albums That Changed My life

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule

Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)