tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

17/05/2011 : LEVANT - Beyond The Masque Of Eden

LEVANT

Beyond The Masque Of Eden

MusicCD
AmbientDark WaveElectroNeoclassical

[70/100]   
17/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

Time for some bizarre music which comes from Romania.

LeVant is a project founded by George D. Satanciulescu. This musician (a psychologist too) is known in the neo classical genre as the man behind Ad Ombra, a band that got compared with Elend and Stoa. They released two albums so far on the well respected Rage In Eden-label.

And yet, this solopiece isn’t that neoclassical at all, as in fact "Beyond the masque of Eden" can be best described as electronic ambient that likes to flirt with other genres. You can hear some classic darkwave-influences but also guitarsounds that seem to come from some old progrock record.

This music has a sort of cinematography feel, running at 45 minutes long, Stanciulescu is taking you on a journey with (most of the time, instrumental) tracks that deserve to be labelled as “very beautiful”.

Sole disadvantage is that so far we couldn’t decide is if we like this wide range of styles or not, where as others will see this only as a bonus thing. It’s just the way you see things, not?

Didier BECU
17/05/2011


NL

Tijd voor een bizar stukje muziek uit Roemenië, Levant is namelijk het projekt rondom George D. Satanciulescu.

Deze muzikant (tevens psycholoog) is in het neoklassieke genre meer bekend als de man die achter Ad Ombra staat, een groep die vaak vergeleken wordt met Elend en Stoa en tot dusver twee albums heeft uitgebracht, en dit op het gerespecteerde Rage In Eden-label.

Veel neoklassiek blijft er op diens soloproject echter niet veel over want eigenlijk zou je "Beyond the masque of Eden" best kunnen omschrijven als een electronische ambientplaat. Weliswaar is het er eentje die graag met andere genres flirt, gaande van klassieke darkwave tot zelfs gitaren die uit één of andere progrockplaat lijken te komen.

Op bijna cinematografische wijze tovert Stanciulescu 45 minuten lang 11 ( grotendeels instrumentale tracks) uit zijn mouw die vaak het etiket “wondermooi” verdienen.

Het enige minpunt waar we tot dusver niet uitgeraakt zijn is of die vele diverse stijlen niet een beetje van het goede teveel zijn. Want tja, soms klinkt het net allemaal net iets teveel van het goede, terwijl weer anderen die verscheidenheid van Levant nu net als absoluut pluspunt zullen aanzien. Het is maar hoe je het bekijkt.

Didier BECU
17/05/2011


 

Next reviews
HEKATE • Die Welt der dunklen Gärten
OHGR • Undeveloped
SPECTRA*PARIS • FRIDAY THE 13TH | KORTRIJK | DE KREUN | 13/05/2011 | When indus meets beauty
DER PLAN • Normalette Surprise
THE NEON JUDGEMENT • Early Tapes
PAIL • Faith in the void
SIXTH JUNE • Back for a day EP
//TENSE// • No escape 12'inch
TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN • To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions
CHARLES BAUDELAIRE • Les fleurs du mal

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
10
Struggles And Dreams With Darkwave Band THE BLUE HOUR's New LP, 'Lore'
24
10
Industrial Metal Band RAZE THE ALTAR Brings Sacrifice And Perseverance To New Single
24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
MY CRUEL GORO
Lost E
24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow