tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/01/2014 : LIFE IN SODOM - The World I View

LIFE IN SODOM

The World I View

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveElectro RockNew wave

[90/100]   

Nutrix Recordings
20/01/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This one surprised me from the start as I even forgot that I wanted to review it. I like to get in touch with bands I don't know and sometimes they can really surprise you in the most positive way and honestly: so did this one!

Already from the first notes my attention was drawn into the music, the voice somehow reminded me of some other band (but even after listening to it endlessly no name came up yet)! It sounds a bit like a Neofolk band with a great melancholic touch! There is even a classical touch in the beginning and also in the end! 'The world I View' & 'Idol Eyes' are simply great tracks! In this last one you hear more guitars and some more synths and is a bit more up-tempo.

'Frightened' is a nice soft song, with a spooky sound. In this the voice is a bit trembling and I love it! Somehow they really managed to get the right score for this song! At some point I’m even wondering if this song can stand a chance on the dance floor, so are there any candidates to try it out?

It was a bit strange to hear their version of The Beatles-song 'Don't bother me', but I absolutely love their electronic version! As on this one we hear for the first time a woman singing and I was thinking that I was listening to some other band! I love surprises and this one is a big hit!

'Could I Be The Fool' sounds a bit like Frank Tovey aka Fad Gadget and absolutely adore it too!

'My Tears Run Dry' is a nice rocker with some reggae influences and some spooky background sounds. I also love it when the more raw male backings jump in (sounds a bit like the Belgian artist Arno). This one simply genius, a jewel!

'All But Love' is a nice soft one, pure melancholy, a real tearjerker! I think I can even hear a harp, a piano and a cello on it. This song is simply too short, I feel like it can go on like forever! 

'Hold on' is more up-tempo, with more guitars, more electronics and a nice retro sound! Love the two nicely blending in voices! Somehow Virginia's voice on this one sounds as if she was Anneke from The Gathering singing in duo with Frank Tovey! Once again a real beauty, a rare pearl!

'The Hollow and Haunted House (Spooky Mix)' is a nice story telling song with once again two nicely blending in voices, nice guitars and well mixed electronics!

'Solitary Figure' has even a children's choir in it! At some point it sounds a bit like some old The Cure song. Love the melancholy, the nice drums, guitars and voices!

'It's Time to Fade Away' is indeed the last song and once again it hits you, making you ready to hit the repeat-button! Once again I love the mix of both voices (male and female), the great guitars and laid back drums! This one has somehow a Twin Peaks sound too! I absolutely love it, can't say it enough!

I'm really happy I got this cd send over from the US and hope from the deep deep of my heart that this band will become one day a major player in our scene as they really deserve it! I enjoyed every single song and for sure because there is so much variation without losing the quality!

So follow these people, buy the cd, book them, like their page... share this review!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Life-In-Sodom/276231239082713?fref=ts

want to hear some:

http://www.reverbnation.com/lifeinsodom?utm_campaign=FacebookSharing_v3&utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=thumbnail&utm_content=artist_2059644

Filip VAN MUYLEM
20/01/2014


 

Next reviews
AU REVOIR SIMONE • More Than (single)
KATADREUFFE • Malconfort
PAUL BARTEL • FILM: Lust In The Dust
ADAM WINGARD • You're next
SPIRITUAL FRONT • Black Hearts In Black Suits
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DUMMES ZEUX KANN MAN VIEL REDEN
ALICIA SCHERSON • Il Futuro
ATTRITION • Acid Tongue : Remodel EP 2014
TOMORROW WE SAIL • For Those Who Caught The Sun In Flight
TRAVIS ZARIWNY • Scavengers

 

Other reviews from LIFE IN SODOM
LIFE IN SODOM • The Hollow and Haunted House EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire