tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : LISA CUTHBERT - Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)

LISA CUTHBERT

Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When i discovered Paramour a few years ago, I immediately became a fan of Lisa’s voice and music. I was curious how it would sound live, especially as this month she released her new album The Hextapes.

About the support act I can only say that the songs by Circle Bros all sound a bit the same: soundscapes which can be interesting, but I missed some variation.

Lisa Cuthbert brought some candles with her. The curtains were closed. She was alone on stage with just her voice and her Korg. She immediately started strong and after a few songs we heard a first highlight with The Sooner You Know. A song with beautiful and emotional vocals.

The songs also did it very good in a stripped version. At moments I imagined some green landscapes, some sheep, a knight on a horse, with now and a flash of a funeral procession that walks through a grey village. The music breathes also a sense of melancholy and sorrow. The distortion on her piano reinforces that feeling even more. She also made contact with her audience, and in such a little venue like the Kinky Star that’s a must. She also played one of her new songs which sounded more modern than her previous material. At the end of the set there were also covers like the unknown (at least for me) Clare Maguire and the almost inevitable, but beautiful version of This Corrosion by The Sisters of Mercy. With another encore (The Party’s Over) we came to the end of a fine evening.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Toen ik enkele jaren geleden het album Paramour mocht bespreken, was ik meteen gewonnen voor deze dame. Ze heeft een prachtige en sterke stem. Ik was dan ook benieuwd hoe dit alles live zou klinken. Bovendien komt deze maand haar album The Hextapes uit.

Over het voorprogramma Circle Bros (Wim Lecluyse) kan ik kort zijn: alle nummers klonken hetzelfde. Hij brengt een soort klanktapijt (en dat kan interessant zijn), maar hier ontbrak variatie in uitwerking en klankkleur. Hij merkte een paar keer op dat we toch wel een stil publiek waren.

Lisa Cuthbert had de kamperfoelie en de kaarsen aangestoken. De gordijnen waren dichtgetrokken. Ze vulde het podium met haar Korg en haar stem. Ze begon meteen sterk en na een paar songs kwam, voor mij althans, het eerste hoogtepunt: The Sooner You Know. Wondermooie en emotievolle vocallijnen in die song. Live een sterke song. De liedjes doen het trouwens ook goed in een sobere en uitgeklede versie. Bij momenten zag ik in mijn verbeelding uitgestrekte graslanden, kuddes schapen, ridders te paard… met hier en daar flitsen van bv. een rouwstout die door grijze dorpjes trekt.

De muziek en de zang ademen immers ook een vorm van weemoed en smart uit. De distortion op haar piano versterkte dat gevoel nog meer. Ze stak ook tijd in haar publiek tussen de songs door. In een kleine ruimte moet dat wel een beetje, vind ik. Ze bracht ook een song uit haar nieuwe album, waarvan de begeleidingsmuziek iets minder klassiek klonk dan op haar vorige albums. Tegen het einde bracht ze ook enkele covers zoals van de mij onbekende Clare Maguire en het (bijna) onvermijdelijke maar prachtig gezongen This Corrosion van The Sisters of Mercy. Met nog een toegift (The Party’s Over) kwam er een einde aan een heel fijn concert.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation