tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : LISA CUTHBERT - Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)

LISA CUTHBERT

Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When i discovered Paramour a few years ago, I immediately became a fan of Lisa’s voice and music. I was curious how it would sound live, especially as this month she released her new album The Hextapes.

About the support act I can only say that the songs by Circle Bros all sound a bit the same: soundscapes which can be interesting, but I missed some variation.

Lisa Cuthbert brought some candles with her. The curtains were closed. She was alone on stage with just her voice and her Korg. She immediately started strong and after a few songs we heard a first highlight with The Sooner You Know. A song with beautiful and emotional vocals.

The songs also did it very good in a stripped version. At moments I imagined some green landscapes, some sheep, a knight on a horse, with now and a flash of a funeral procession that walks through a grey village. The music breathes also a sense of melancholy and sorrow. The distortion on her piano reinforces that feeling even more. She also made contact with her audience, and in such a little venue like the Kinky Star that’s a must. She also played one of her new songs which sounded more modern than her previous material. At the end of the set there were also covers like the unknown (at least for me) Clare Maguire and the almost inevitable, but beautiful version of This Corrosion by The Sisters of Mercy. With another encore (The Party’s Over) we came to the end of a fine evening.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Toen ik enkele jaren geleden het album Paramour mocht bespreken, was ik meteen gewonnen voor deze dame. Ze heeft een prachtige en sterke stem. Ik was dan ook benieuwd hoe dit alles live zou klinken. Bovendien komt deze maand haar album The Hextapes uit.

Over het voorprogramma Circle Bros (Wim Lecluyse) kan ik kort zijn: alle nummers klonken hetzelfde. Hij brengt een soort klanktapijt (en dat kan interessant zijn), maar hier ontbrak variatie in uitwerking en klankkleur. Hij merkte een paar keer op dat we toch wel een stil publiek waren.

Lisa Cuthbert had de kamperfoelie en de kaarsen aangestoken. De gordijnen waren dichtgetrokken. Ze vulde het podium met haar Korg en haar stem. Ze begon meteen sterk en na een paar songs kwam, voor mij althans, het eerste hoogtepunt: The Sooner You Know. Wondermooie en emotievolle vocallijnen in die song. Live een sterke song. De liedjes doen het trouwens ook goed in een sobere en uitgeklede versie. Bij momenten zag ik in mijn verbeelding uitgestrekte graslanden, kuddes schapen, ridders te paard… met hier en daar flitsen van bv. een rouwstout die door grijze dorpjes trekt.

De muziek en de zang ademen immers ook een vorm van weemoed en smart uit. De distortion op haar piano versterkte dat gevoel nog meer. Ze stak ook tijd in haar publiek tussen de songs door. In een kleine ruimte moet dat wel een beetje, vind ik. Ze bracht ook een song uit haar nieuwe album, waarvan de begeleidingsmuziek iets minder klassiek klonk dan op haar vorige albums. Tegen het einde bracht ze ook enkele covers zoals van de mij onbekende Clare Maguire en het (bijna) onvermijdelijke maar prachtig gezongen This Corrosion van The Sisters of Mercy. Met nog een toegift (The Party’s Over) kwam er een einde aan een heel fijn concert.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)