tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : LISA CUTHBERT - Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)

LISA CUTHBERT

Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

When i discovered Paramour a few years ago, I immediately became a fan of Lisa’s voice and music. I was curious how it would sound live, especially as this month she released her new album The Hextapes.

About the support act I can only say that the songs by Circle Bros all sound a bit the same: soundscapes which can be interesting, but I missed some variation.

Lisa Cuthbert brought some candles with her. The curtains were closed. She was alone on stage with just her voice and her Korg. She immediately started strong and after a few songs we heard a first highlight with The Sooner You Know. A song with beautiful and emotional vocals.

The songs also did it very good in a stripped version. At moments I imagined some green landscapes, some sheep, a knight on a horse, with now and a flash of a funeral procession that walks through a grey village. The music breathes also a sense of melancholy and sorrow. The distortion on her piano reinforces that feeling even more. She also made contact with her audience, and in such a little venue like the Kinky Star that’s a must. She also played one of her new songs which sounded more modern than her previous material. At the end of the set there were also covers like the unknown (at least for me) Clare Maguire and the almost inevitable, but beautiful version of This Corrosion by The Sisters of Mercy. With another encore (The Party’s Over) we came to the end of a fine evening.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Toen ik enkele jaren geleden het album Paramour mocht bespreken, was ik meteen gewonnen voor deze dame. Ze heeft een prachtige en sterke stem. Ik was dan ook benieuwd hoe dit alles live zou klinken. Bovendien komt deze maand haar album The Hextapes uit.

Over het voorprogramma Circle Bros (Wim Lecluyse) kan ik kort zijn: alle nummers klonken hetzelfde. Hij brengt een soort klanktapijt (en dat kan interessant zijn), maar hier ontbrak variatie in uitwerking en klankkleur. Hij merkte een paar keer op dat we toch wel een stil publiek waren.

Lisa Cuthbert had de kamperfoelie en de kaarsen aangestoken. De gordijnen waren dichtgetrokken. Ze vulde het podium met haar Korg en haar stem. Ze begon meteen sterk en na een paar songs kwam, voor mij althans, het eerste hoogtepunt: The Sooner You Know. Wondermooie en emotievolle vocallijnen in die song. Live een sterke song. De liedjes doen het trouwens ook goed in een sobere en uitgeklede versie. Bij momenten zag ik in mijn verbeelding uitgestrekte graslanden, kuddes schapen, ridders te paard… met hier en daar flitsen van bv. een rouwstout die door grijze dorpjes trekt.

De muziek en de zang ademen immers ook een vorm van weemoed en smart uit. De distortion op haar piano versterkte dat gevoel nog meer. Ze stak ook tijd in haar publiek tussen de songs door. In een kleine ruimte moet dat wel een beetje, vind ik. Ze bracht ook een song uit haar nieuwe album, waarvan de begeleidingsmuziek iets minder klassiek klonk dan op haar vorige albums. Tegen het einde bracht ze ook enkele covers zoals van de mij onbekende Clare Maguire en het (bijna) onvermijdelijke maar prachtig gezongen This Corrosion van The Sisters of Mercy. Met nog een toegift (The Party’s Over) kwam er een einde aan een heel fijn concert.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)