tempobet yeni adresi
like this digital review

14/09/2014 : LISA GERRARD - Twilight Kingdom

LISA GERRARD

Twilight Kingdom

MusicDigital
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / Tribal 14/09/2014, Paul PLEDGER

After the revelatory experiences of new Dead Can Dance material AND a swathe of long-awaited live shows a few years back, it's back to solo business for the feminine half of the group.

Following on from her numerous soundtrack collaborations with the likes of Hans Zimmer and Klaus Schulze, Gerrard has re-employed the services of previous orchestrating cohort Patrick Cassidy, plus Astrid Williamson, Daniel Johns and narrative from Russell Crowe (keeping it Gladiator, it seems).

Twilight Kingdom is musically similar to her other co-written albums with Cassidy such as Immortal Memory and The Silver Tree in that it's other-wordly, mournful, noble and cinematic in equal measures. Hymnal arrangements sit comfortably with Gerrard's familiarly expressive hosannas and descants, particularly on the gorgeous sorrowful Our Kingdom Came and nape-tingling Become, while her guests lend their own subtle brand of glossolalia throughout the album. For sheer lip-trembling emotion though, head to Of Love Undone, the product of someone singing from the very pit of their soul.

To tackle Twilight Kingdom whilst doing anything other than sitting in a darkened room almost defeats the object of its existence. Or you could just do the ironing to it, whatever floats your raft. However you choose to experience one of the world's most amazing vocalists, you could do worse than start here.

Currently only on digital (boo), you can stream Twilight Kingdom here for now.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
14/09/2014


 

Next reviews
MICHAEL APTED • The World Is Not Enough
MERCHANDISE • After The End
THE WAKE • Testament (Best Of)
CHRIS W. FREEMAN & JUSTIN JONES • Sorority Party Massacre
HARMONY KORINE • Spring Breakers
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
JOHN CURRAN • Tracks
NEONSOL • Citadel
• UNFORGETTABLE -SEASON 2
RITHY PANH • The Missing Picture

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
FIRST AID KIT • Stay Gold
THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT • Holdrejtek

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi