tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

08/12/2016 : LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA - B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016

LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA

B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016

Concert
08/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Belgian electro scene is more alive than ever. On Friday, November 25, three Belgians performed at club B52 in Eernegem.

Pieter Coussement started the evening with his project Llumen. The danceable and melodic EBM was truly enchanting. Ever since the 90s, Pieter is active in electronic music through various collaborations and projects. With Llumen he released a first EP (Cold in December) in March 2016. EBM is the general genre, but it also contains more danceable up-tempo songs and synth-pop melodies. He made a cover of U-man (Front 24. Really nice! Peter brought his set with conviction. The songs are great and make us yearn for that full album that has been announced.

Then is was time for Psy'Aviah, the band around Yves Schelpe. The music cannot be put in one genre. Psy'Aviah flirts with various genres and influences from different music styles. Live on stage, Yves is assisted by Ben van de Cruys on guitar. On the last album Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars, Yves used various singers, but live the vocals are sung by Marieke in a most excellent way! She has a very diverse and beautiful voice that really works on all tracks. The band opened with Alcubierre Drive, followed by Paused. Halfway through the set we heard a fine cover of Coldplay's Clocks. Psy'Aviah has not performed live for a few years, but even though the music sounds a bit more poppy, there still is a dark edge to it.

To conclude the evening Jan Dewulf and his wife Gwenny Cooman took the stage with the dark electro project Mildreda. The digital album released earlier this year is quite dark with a lot of beats. And those were very present during this performance. Opener How Do We Tell The Kids was sublime, painfully slow and yet so deep. In the same mood, but extended with some excerpts of classical music, the song Aborted followed with hard thumping bass drums. It was a nicely built and intense set. The stage in the B52 was too small and Jan Dewulf cried out his pain a few times, standing in the middle of the audience. You could feel his emotions. Mildreda also did a cover of the marvelous Fate (Suicide Commando). It was a tribute to Johan. Relentlessly Mildreda continued with very strong and dark electro, but with Zugabe Rush the marvelous set ended.

As usual, the absentees were wrong. Three Belgian acts in various genres, that actually deserve a larger stage and more support. A more than successful evening!

Setlist Llumen:
Where We Collide
Lux Aeterna
Silicon Cinema
World on Mute
Force Of Nurture
Death Walks On High Heels
Cold In December
U-men

Setlist Psy'Aviah:
Alcubierre Drive
Paused
Into The Game
Not What I Expected
Our Common End / Clocks
Sacrifices
Face To Face
Words
Never Look Back
Deliverance / Virtual Gods / Wild Ride
Frozen

Setlist Mildreda:
How Do We Tell The Kids
Aborted
This Time
Stories
Fate (Suicide Commando-cover)
Erazor
Anthem Of Tomorrow
Into The Dark Night
Fire
The Parting
Pale Blue Dot
Rush

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


NL

De Belgische elektroscène is meer dan levend. Vrijdag 25 november stonden drie Belgische acts op de planken in de fijne Eernegemse club B52.

Pieter Coussement mocht met zijn Llumen de avond openen. De dansbare en melodieuze EBM kon meer dan bekoren. Al sedert de jaren 90 is hij doende met elektronische muziek en samenwerkingen in diverse projecten. Met Llumen, dat in maart 2016 een eerste ep Cold In December uitbracht, is compromisloze EBM het uithangbord. De diverse stijlen zijn heel herkenbaar: van meer dansbare uptempo songs, tot synthpopmelodieën. En met U-man van Front 242 kregen we nog een mooie cover cadeau ook. De darkbeats vliegen je om de oren en vocaal klopt het ook: Pieter bracht het met overtuiging, de songs staan en doen ons uitkijken naar het full album dat is aangekondigd.

En dan tijd voor een andere gevestigde waarde: Psy'Aviah, de band rond Yves Schelpe, die al heel wat muzikale watertjes doorzwom. De muziek is niet te vatten in een 'genre' of 'stijl'. Niet dat dat een must is. En wat Psy'Aviah betreft: het is niét te labelen. Er wordt geflirt met diverse genres en er zijn invloeden uit uiteenlopende muziekstijlen. Live on stage omringt Yves zich met Ben van de Cruys op gitaar. Op het laatste album Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars deed Yves een beroep op diverse zangers en zangeressen. Live doet Marieke het, en hoe! Ze heeft een heel divers en mooi stemgeluid dat in alle tracks wérkt. De set had alles om het lijf. Openen deed de band met Alcubierre Drive, gevolgd door Paused, een eerder gezapiger song. Halverwege de set kregen we een fijne cover van Coldplays Clocks. In Face To Face trok Marieke haar vocale registers open. Haar stem klinkt van heel opzwepend tot zagerig, klagend monotoon, wat karakter geeft aan de sfeer van de songs.

Psy'Aviah staat na jaren opnieuw op de podia en dat is ook de plaats waar de band het beste tot zijn recht komt. Ook al klinkt het wat meer afgelijnd en poppy, toch heeft het nog altijd een donker(der) randje.

Om de avond af te sluiten betraden Jan Dewulf en zijn eega Gwenny Cooman het podium met hun darkelectro-project Mildreda. Het digitale album dat eerder dit jaar verscheen is vrij donker en bulkt van de darkbeats. En live waren die heel sterk aanwezig. In opener How Do We Tell The Kids was het meteen prijs: tergend traag en toch zo diep. Aborted tapt uit hetzelfde vaatje met flarden klassieke muziek tussen keihard dreunende basdrums. De set werd aardig opgebouwd en Jan ging diep. Heel diep. Het podium in de B52 was te klein en een paar keer ging hij de club in, keihard zijn pijn uitschreeuwen. Jan ging heel diep. Je voelde de emotie. Maar er was ook bij Mildreda tijd voor een 'cover' en wel van Fate van Suicide Commando. Het was een eerbetoon aan Johan die de scène en Mildreda een heel warm hart toedraagt. Meedogenloos liet Mildreda heel stevige darkelektro los op de club die daverde op haar grondvesten. Met de Zugabe Rush doofden de beats finaal uit.

Het lijkt en is een dooddoener, maar toch: de afwezigen hadden ongelijk. Drie Belgische acts in diverse genres, die eigenlijk grotere podium en meer support verdienen. Een meer dan geslaagde avond.

Setlist Llumen:
Where We Collide
Lux Aeterna
Silicon Cinema
World on Mute
Force Of Nurture
Death Walks On High Heels
Cold In December
U-men

Setlist Psy'Aviah:
Alcubierre Drive
Paused
Into The Game
Not What I Expected
Our Common End / Clocks
Sacrifices
Face To Face
Words
Never Look Back
Deliverance / Virtual Gods / Wild Ride
Frozen

Setlist Mildreda:
How Do We Tell The Kids
Aborted
This Time
Stories
Fate (Suicide Commando-cover)
Erazor
Anthem Of Tomorrow
Into The Dark Night
Fire
The Parting
Pale Blue Dot
Rush

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA - B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016 08/12/2016 : LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA - B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016 08/12/2016 : LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA - B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016 08/12/2016 : LLUMEN, PSY'AVIAH, MILDREDA - B52 Eernegem - 25 november 2016

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine