tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

02/12/2013 : LOUIS LETERRIER - Now You See Me

LOUIS LETERRIER

Now You See Me

Movie
Crime

[54/100]   

E1
02/12/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Since the Oceans-trilogy from Steven Soderbergh, Hollywood is aware of the fact that today you can gain money with heistmovies. This thought must also been running through Louis Leterrier’s head who had the brilliant idea to develop a heist with some magicians. And yes it’s bingo, as Now You See Me became one of this autumn’s greatestest blockbusters.

Four magicians (Jesse Eisenberg, Woody Harrelson, Isla Fisher en Dave Franco) still know how to do their tricks, but unfortunately enough they are street performers. One day they got an invitation by an unknown. They form themselves as The Four Horsemen and a year later they perform their show at the biggest venues in Las Vegas. And then one day it happens, as they succeed in robbing a bank in Paris while they’re at the American gambling town. The four get immense popular as they throw the money to the audience, just like some modern Robin Hoods. The FBI isn’t that amused with their tricks and under the command of Dylan Rhodes (Mark Ruffalo), the Feds are chasing the magicians. But how can you put someone behind bars when you don’t have any proof? The detectives are forced to resolve the magic trick, and you can guess who’s best at playing this game.

Admitted, on paper this sounds absolute great for an excellent entertaining movie, but the result is far from overwhelming. This is definitely the fault from Louis Leterrier who made his movie just too hip. Agreed, we haven’t expected something else from the maker of The TransporterThe Incredible Hulk or Clash of the Titans, but it’s a shame nonetheless. The problem is that this movie is far too fast. Through this, it’s absolutely not simple to comprehend the complicated (silly) plots and the explanation of all those magic tricks. After two hours you’re completely tired, and of course everything has to be presented in those unattractive CG-effects which makes everything even seem more unbelievable. Worst of all is the dumb ending which is so exaggerated that afterwards you feel like regretting the two hours you have spent in front of your telly.

Now You See Me is having a huge cast, but only Jesse Eisenberg and Woody Harrelson (who has the ideal face to perform a charlatan) are able in convincing us. Michael Caine has become nothing but a shadow, Morgan Freeman is playing so much on automatic pilot that it gets boring, the brother from James Franco can’t act and also Isla Fisher is lost in this mess.

When you regard Now You See Me as pure entertainment then it has its merits, but the main feeling after two hours is that this movie looks to much like a cheap trick box. The movie is out on Entertainment One on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
02/12/2013


NL

Sinds de Oceans-trilogie van Steven Soderbergh weet men in Hollywood dat men met mits dat ene tikkeltje geluk met heistmovies de kassa’s weer opnieuw kan doen rinkelen. Dat moet ook Louis Leterrier hebben gedacht. En tja, waarom niet eens zo’n kraak laten uitvoeren door vier goochelaars? Bingo, want Now You See Me werd deze herfst één van de grootste blockbusters.

Vier goochelaars (Jesse Eisenberg, Woody Harrelson, Isla Fisher en Dave Franco) hebben hun kunstjes nog lang niet verleerd, wel zijn ze ondertussen aan lager wal geraakt. Geheel onverwachts worden de vier uitgenodigd door een onbekende. Ze vormen The Four Horsemen en maken een jaar later het mooie weer in de grote zalen van Las Vegas. En dan gebeurt het, vanuit de gokstad kraken de vier in een paar luttele minuten een bank in Parijs. De vier raken er wel ontzettend populair mee, want het geld wordt gewoon over het publiek uitgestrooid. Wie minder kan lachen met deze moderne Robin Hoods is de FBI. Onder leiding van Dylan Rhodes (Mark Ruffalo) zet deze politiedienst een achtervolging in op de illusionisten. Alleen, moeten de speurneuzen eerst nog ontrafelen hoe het allemaal precies is verlopen, je kan immers moeilijk iemand veroordelen voor een misdrijf in Parijs terwijl die op hetzelfde moment in Las Vegas was.

Toegegeven, het klinkt allemaal zeer mooi, toch is het eindresultaat heel wat minder. De hoofdschuldige is zonder twijfel regisseur Louis Leterrier die zijn film veel te hip heeft gemaakt. Niet dat we de van de maker van The TransporterThe Incredible Hulk of Clash of t he Titans iets anders hadden verwacht. De film (en dus ook de plots, maar vooral ook de uitleg over de goocheltrucs) gaan zodanig snel dat Now You See Me een ontzettend vermoeiende filmrit is geworden. Bovendien maakt Leterrier gretig gebruik van allerhande (saaie) CG-effecten die niet de minste aantrekkingskracht hebben. Nog erger is de ontknoping. Je moet geen getrainde speurneus zijn om de ware toedrachtal na een tijdje al te kunnen raden. Het slot is trouwens zo ongeloofwaardig (om niet te zeggen debiel) dat je al gauw spijt krijgt van de twee uur die je voor het televisiescherm hebt doorgebracht.

Now You See Me pakt eveneens uit met een grote sterrencast, toch weet (op Jesse Eisenberg en Woody Harrelson na) niemand echt te overtuigen. Michael Caine (de geldschieter) is ondertussen niet meer dan een schim van zichzelf geworden, Morgan Freeman speelt zodanig op automatische piloot dat het vlug verveelt, het broertje van James Franco kan voor geen meter acteren en ook Isla Fisher loopt hopeloos verloren in dit zooitje.

Als je Now You See Me als puur entertainment bekijkt, mag je de film gerust bij de grote hoop gooien, toch blijft het al bij al niet meer dan een trukendoos van de witte producten. De film is nu op dvd en Blu-ray uitgebracht, en dit door Entertainment One. 

Didier BECU
02/12/2013


02/12/2013 : LOUIS LETERRIER - Now You See Me 02/12/2013 : LOUIS LETERRIER - Now You See Me 02/12/2013 : LOUIS LETERRIER - Now You See Me 02/12/2013 : LOUIS LETERRIER - Now You See Me 02/12/2013 : LOUIS LETERRIER - Now You See Me 02/12/2013 : LOUIS LETERRIER - Now You See Me 02/12/2013 : LOUIS LETERRIER - Now You See Me 02/12/2013 : LOUIS LETERRIER - Now You See Me

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You