tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : LOVE IN PRAGUE - Fallen Angels

LOVE IN PRAGUE

Fallen Angels

MusicCD


[75/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
08/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Another interesting French duo from Lyon appears on the indie music scene. Although described as a post punk influenced band, listening to their second album Fallen Angels, I can think of some “shoegazing” bands that left a mark on me back in my high school days… I wouldn’t go so far as to describe them as a Cocteau Twins and Joy Division cross breed, but more like Slowdive and Pale Saints. They are mellow, they are dreamy with a guitar that makes me think of My Bloody Valentine, Ride or early Lush, so yes, shoegazing is back I would say.

The album consists of 9 tracks, and that dreamy melancholic feel runs through it from the start to the very last song. Even though Benoît is not as elaborate in his vocal performance, he doesn’t have to be; his almost narrative way of singing is directing the listener to where the main focus should be: Benoît’s guitar and keyboard or Chloé’s bass line. There isn’t much change in the general feel of each song but some tracks can be labelled as post punkish such as Never Ending Story or Lost.

However my personal favorites are Fallen Angels and Alone since I still cherish the time of “shoegaze” bands and it seems that the interest in the genre is being renewed as I discover more recent bands reinventing the sound today. But even saying so, Love in Prague put their own stamp on the music they’re creating, as there is never a step back in time, only forward, and future is what you can here today on Love in Prague’s new album.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


NL

Een interessante Frans duo komt uit Lyon. Hoewel het als postpunk wordt omschreven, denk ik bij hun tweede album Fallen Angels toch aan de shoegazebands die een stempel op mijn jeugd hebben gedrukt. Ik zou niet zo ver gaan om ze als een kruising van Cocteau Twins en Joy Division te beschouwen, maar eerder Slowdive en Pale Saints. De muziek is zacht, met wat dromerige gitaren die mij aan My Bloody Valentine, Ride of het vroegere werk van Lush doen denken, dus ja, shoegaze is terug zou ik zeggen.

Het album bestaat uit 9 tracks en het dromerige melancholische gevoel hoor je vanaf het begin tot de allerlaatste seconde. Hoewel Benoît geen grote variatie in zijn stem legt, stoort dat niet. Een stem die uiterst goed past bij zijn gitaar- en keyboardwerk en bij Chloés bas. De algemene sfeer van elke song verandert niet echt, maar sommige tracks zoals Never Ending Story of Lost krijgen toch het postpunketiket.

Mijn persoonlijke favorieten zijn Fallen Angels en Alone omdat ik nog altijd de shoegazetijd koester en het lijkt erop alsof de belangstelling voor dit genre terug is, want ik ontdek steeds meer recente bands die het geluid vandaag opnieuw uitvinden. Maar Love In Prague zet zijn eigen stempel op de muziek. Het is geen stap terug in de tijd, wel vooruit, en de toekomst is wat je op dit nieuwe album van Love In Prague kan horen.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm