tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : LOVE IN PRAGUE - Fallen Angels

LOVE IN PRAGUE

Fallen Angels

MusicCD


[75/100]   

Unknown Pleasures Records
08/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Another interesting French duo from Lyon appears on the indie music scene. Although described as a post punk influenced band, listening to their second album Fallen Angels, I can think of some “shoegazing” bands that left a mark on me back in my high school days… I wouldn’t go so far as to describe them as a Cocteau Twins and Joy Division cross breed, but more like Slowdive and Pale Saints. They are mellow, they are dreamy with a guitar that makes me think of My Bloody Valentine, Ride or early Lush, so yes, shoegazing is back I would say.

The album consists of 9 tracks, and that dreamy melancholic feel runs through it from the start to the very last song. Even though Benoît is not as elaborate in his vocal performance, he doesn’t have to be; his almost narrative way of singing is directing the listener to where the main focus should be: Benoît’s guitar and keyboard or Chloé’s bass line. There isn’t much change in the general feel of each song but some tracks can be labelled as post punkish such as Never Ending Story or Lost.

However my personal favorites are Fallen Angels and Alone since I still cherish the time of “shoegaze” bands and it seems that the interest in the genre is being renewed as I discover more recent bands reinventing the sound today. But even saying so, Love in Prague put their own stamp on the music they’re creating, as there is never a step back in time, only forward, and future is what you can here today on Love in Prague’s new album.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


NL

Een interessante Frans duo komt uit Lyon. Hoewel het als postpunk wordt omschreven, denk ik bij hun tweede album Fallen Angels toch aan de shoegazebands die een stempel op mijn jeugd hebben gedrukt. Ik zou niet zo ver gaan om ze als een kruising van Cocteau Twins en Joy Division te beschouwen, maar eerder Slowdive en Pale Saints. De muziek is zacht, met wat dromerige gitaren die mij aan My Bloody Valentine, Ride of het vroegere werk van Lush doen denken, dus ja, shoegaze is terug zou ik zeggen.

Het album bestaat uit 9 tracks en het dromerige melancholische gevoel hoor je vanaf het begin tot de allerlaatste seconde. Hoewel Benoît geen grote variatie in zijn stem legt, stoort dat niet. Een stem die uiterst goed past bij zijn gitaar- en keyboardwerk en bij Chloés bas. De algemene sfeer van elke song verandert niet echt, maar sommige tracks zoals Never Ending Story of Lost krijgen toch het postpunketiket.

Mijn persoonlijke favorieten zijn Fallen Angels en Alone omdat ik nog altijd de shoegazetijd koester en het lijkt erop alsof de belangstelling voor dit genre terug is, want ik ontdek steeds meer recente bands die het geluid vandaag opnieuw uitvinden. Maar Love In Prague zet zijn eigen stempel op de muziek. Het is geen stap terug in de tijd, wel vooruit, en de toekomst is wat je op dit nieuwe album van Love In Prague kan horen.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque