tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita

LUC BESSON

Malavita

Movie
ComedyCrime

[66/100]   

Belga Films
10/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Once I had the dream thinking that Robert De Niro would be an eternal synonym for outstanding acting. In a way he was, at least in times when he was the favourite actor from Martin Scorsese. But since someone thought he could be a comedian as well, things have gone terribly wrong. Afterwards De Niro became more like a trademark for movies you'd better avoid. The famous New Yorker nowadays might think of a sequel from Taxi Driver, but we all know that he'll never top his brilliance. And yet things seem getting better. His small uncredited role in American Hustle was delicious and in the newest comedy Malavita he is good as well. The secret recipe? Let him just play a criminal....

Malavita is not outstanding cinema, after all it's a Besson-movie, but this comedy works. Fred Blake (Robert De Niro) is a former crook who had the guts to betray his "family" to the FBI. A quite dangerous situation as Fred and his family now become part of a protected witness-programme. And so he has to go with wife Maggie (Michelle Pfeiffer), daughter Belle (Dianna Agron, from Glee) and son Warren (John D'Leo) to Normandy. A place where nothing ever happens! His neighbours think he's just there to write a book about World War II, but of course one moment the truth arises.


The most bizarre thing about this movie is that the script is based on a book from Tonino Benacquista. Perhaps the name doesn't immediately rings a bell, but he's the brain behind topmovies like De Battre Mon Coeur S’Est Arrêté or the Audiard-hit Sur Mes Lèvres. As expected Luc Besson makes something totally different from it. But this time even his enemies can sleep on both ears as Malavita is more than decent.

De Niro is just playing on automatic pilot, but it works. And yes, everything will once fade away, except the eternal beauty (and her acting skills!) from Michelle Pfeiffers will forever remain. And what about upcoming star Dianna Agron? Yes, for her we would even consider watching an episode from Glee. Kind of! All jokes aside: Malavita is great popcorn-entertainment, and you don't even have to be ashamed about that!

Malavita is released on Belga Films and comes in a handy combopack in where you have both the DVD and the Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
10/03/2014


NL

Wellicht zal Robert De Niro jammer genoeg voor mij eeuwig een synoniem voor ontgoocheling blijven. Ooit dacht ik dat de New Yorker de beste acteur aller tijden was. De lievelingsacteur van Martin Scorsese was dat ook, ten minste toch tot ergens in het midden van de jaren 80. Nadien werd de karakterkop een schim van zichzelf, en zelfs minder dat. Meer zelfs, zijn naam betekende vanaf dan eigenlijk dat het om een film ging waaraan je maar beter je kostbare tijd niet besteedt. De acteur droomt tegenwoordig wel luidop over een sequel van Taxi Driver, maar niets lijkt erop dat hij er zal in slagen om zijn torenhoge niveau van toen terug zal kunnen toveren. En toch is er beterschap in zicht. Zijn rolletje in American Hustle was overheerlijk en ook in deze nieuwe misdaadkomedie is De Niro uiterst genietbaar. Het geheim van het recept? Laat De Niro gewoon een maffiabaas spelen...


Malavita is wel geen baanbrekende cinema, ten slotte gaat het nog altijd om een Besson-film, maar de komedie is onderhoudend en zelfs leuk! Fred Blake (Robert De Niro) is een voormalige crimineel die het aandurfde om zijn maffiafamilie bij de FBI te verlinken. Een zeer gevaarlijke beslissing waardoor Fred en zijn gezin van getuigenbescherming geniet. Samen met vrouw Maggie (Michelle Pfeiffer), dochter Belle (Dianna Agron, inderdaad uit Glee) en zoonlief Warren (John D'Leo) verhuist Fred naar Normandië waar niks te beleven valt. De buren weten niet wat er op Freds kerfstok staat. Voor hun is hij niet meer dan een maffe Amerikaan die een boek over de Tweede Wereldoorlog wil schrijven, maar dat blijft uiteraard niet lang duren.


Het bizarre aan dit verhaal is dat het eigenlijk over een boek van auteur Tonino Benacquista gaat, een man die verantwoordelijk voor keiharde misdaadverhalen als De Battre Mon Coeur S’Est Arrêté en de Audiard-hit Sur Mes Lèvres is. Zoals te verwachten viel, tapt Besson natuurlijk uit een heel ander vaatje. Maar deze keer mogen zelfs zijn grootste vijanden op beide oren slapen omdat de Franse megaster zich heeft weten te beheersen. Een Besson-film blijft nog altijd zowel letterlijk als figuurlijk explosief, desalniettemin is deze komedie niet onnozel en dat wil ook wat zeggen.

De Niro speelt wel gewoon op automatische piloot, maar schittert toch. Alles zal wel ooit vergaan, alleen Michelle Pfeiffers schoonheid (en in dit geval een heel klein beetje haar acteertalent) blijft bestaan. Voor Dianna Agron zouden we zelfs overwegen om eens naar een aflevering van Glee te kijken. Popcornvermaak zonder dat je er moet voor schamen, dat is Malavita.


Malavita is uitgebracht door Belga Films en dat in een handig combopack waarin je zowel de dvd als de Blu-ray vindt.

Didier BECU
10/03/2014


10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita

 

Next reviews
KIRLIAN CAMERA, ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL, DER PRAGER HANDGRIFF, IC 434 & HERMAXISS • live at JC The Klinker, Aarschot, 8/3/2014, Belgium
METSATÖLL • Karjajuht
JEAN-JACQUES ANNAUD • Quest For Fire
JUSTIN CHADWICK • Mandela, Long Walk To Freedom
ZBYNEK BRYNYCH • Transport From Paradise
DOLLS OF PAIN • Déréliction
THE UNGUIDED • Fragile Immortality
DANIEL CALPARSORO • The Chase
KINE • Meditations In April Green
MASSIV IN MENSCH • The Cortex Zero Effect

 

Other reviews from LUC BESSON
LUC BESSON • Lucy
LUC BESSON • CINEMA: Lucy

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + CRIME
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
MARTIN BREST • Midnight Run
PATRICK MCDONAGH • In Bruges
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER • 22 Jump Street

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction

 

Same genre: CRIME
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)