tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita

LUC BESSON

Malavita

Movie
ComedyCrime

[66/100]   

Belga Films
10/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Once I had the dream thinking that Robert De Niro would be an eternal synonym for outstanding acting. In a way he was, at least in times when he was the favourite actor from Martin Scorsese. But since someone thought he could be a comedian as well, things have gone terribly wrong. Afterwards De Niro became more like a trademark for movies you'd better avoid. The famous New Yorker nowadays might think of a sequel from Taxi Driver, but we all know that he'll never top his brilliance. And yet things seem getting better. His small uncredited role in American Hustle was delicious and in the newest comedy Malavita he is good as well. The secret recipe? Let him just play a criminal....

Malavita is not outstanding cinema, after all it's a Besson-movie, but this comedy works. Fred Blake (Robert De Niro) is a former crook who had the guts to betray his "family" to the FBI. A quite dangerous situation as Fred and his family now become part of a protected witness-programme. And so he has to go with wife Maggie (Michelle Pfeiffer), daughter Belle (Dianna Agron, from Glee) and son Warren (John D'Leo) to Normandy. A place where nothing ever happens! His neighbours think he's just there to write a book about World War II, but of course one moment the truth arises.


The most bizarre thing about this movie is that the script is based on a book from Tonino Benacquista. Perhaps the name doesn't immediately rings a bell, but he's the brain behind topmovies like De Battre Mon Coeur S’Est Arrêté or the Audiard-hit Sur Mes Lèvres. As expected Luc Besson makes something totally different from it. But this time even his enemies can sleep on both ears as Malavita is more than decent.

De Niro is just playing on automatic pilot, but it works. And yes, everything will once fade away, except the eternal beauty (and her acting skills!) from Michelle Pfeiffers will forever remain. And what about upcoming star Dianna Agron? Yes, for her we would even consider watching an episode from Glee. Kind of! All jokes aside: Malavita is great popcorn-entertainment, and you don't even have to be ashamed about that!

Malavita is released on Belga Films and comes in a handy combopack in where you have both the DVD and the Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
10/03/2014


NL

Wellicht zal Robert De Niro jammer genoeg voor mij eeuwig een synoniem voor ontgoocheling blijven. Ooit dacht ik dat de New Yorker de beste acteur aller tijden was. De lievelingsacteur van Martin Scorsese was dat ook, ten minste toch tot ergens in het midden van de jaren 80. Nadien werd de karakterkop een schim van zichzelf, en zelfs minder dat. Meer zelfs, zijn naam betekende vanaf dan eigenlijk dat het om een film ging waaraan je maar beter je kostbare tijd niet besteedt. De acteur droomt tegenwoordig wel luidop over een sequel van Taxi Driver, maar niets lijkt erop dat hij er zal in slagen om zijn torenhoge niveau van toen terug zal kunnen toveren. En toch is er beterschap in zicht. Zijn rolletje in American Hustle was overheerlijk en ook in deze nieuwe misdaadkomedie is De Niro uiterst genietbaar. Het geheim van het recept? Laat De Niro gewoon een maffiabaas spelen...


Malavita is wel geen baanbrekende cinema, ten slotte gaat het nog altijd om een Besson-film, maar de komedie is onderhoudend en zelfs leuk! Fred Blake (Robert De Niro) is een voormalige crimineel die het aandurfde om zijn maffiafamilie bij de FBI te verlinken. Een zeer gevaarlijke beslissing waardoor Fred en zijn gezin van getuigenbescherming geniet. Samen met vrouw Maggie (Michelle Pfeiffer), dochter Belle (Dianna Agron, inderdaad uit Glee) en zoonlief Warren (John D'Leo) verhuist Fred naar Normandië waar niks te beleven valt. De buren weten niet wat er op Freds kerfstok staat. Voor hun is hij niet meer dan een maffe Amerikaan die een boek over de Tweede Wereldoorlog wil schrijven, maar dat blijft uiteraard niet lang duren.


Het bizarre aan dit verhaal is dat het eigenlijk over een boek van auteur Tonino Benacquista gaat, een man die verantwoordelijk voor keiharde misdaadverhalen als De Battre Mon Coeur S’Est Arrêté en de Audiard-hit Sur Mes Lèvres is. Zoals te verwachten viel, tapt Besson natuurlijk uit een heel ander vaatje. Maar deze keer mogen zelfs zijn grootste vijanden op beide oren slapen omdat de Franse megaster zich heeft weten te beheersen. Een Besson-film blijft nog altijd zowel letterlijk als figuurlijk explosief, desalniettemin is deze komedie niet onnozel en dat wil ook wat zeggen.

De Niro speelt wel gewoon op automatische piloot, maar schittert toch. Alles zal wel ooit vergaan, alleen Michelle Pfeiffers schoonheid (en in dit geval een heel klein beetje haar acteertalent) blijft bestaan. Voor Dianna Agron zouden we zelfs overwegen om eens naar een aflevering van Glee te kijken. Popcornvermaak zonder dat je er moet voor schamen, dat is Malavita.


Malavita is uitgebracht door Belga Films en dat in een handig combopack waarin je zowel de dvd als de Blu-ray vindt.

Didier BECU
10/03/2014


10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita 10/03/2014 : LUC BESSON - Malavita

 

Next reviews
KIRLIAN CAMERA, ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL, DER PRAGER HANDGRIFF, IC 434 & HERMAXISS • live at JC The Klinker, Aarschot, 8/3/2014, Belgium
METSATÖLL • Karjajuht
JEAN-JACQUES ANNAUD • Quest For Fire
JUSTIN CHADWICK • Mandela, Long Walk To Freedom
ZBYNEK BRYNYCH • Transport From Paradise
DOLLS OF PAIN • Déréliction
THE UNGUIDED • Fragile Immortality
DANIEL CALPARSORO • The Chase
KINE • Meditations In April Green
MASSIV IN MENSCH • The Cortex Zero Effect

 

Other reviews from LUC BESSON
LUC BESSON • Lucy
LUC BESSON • CINEMA: Lucy

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + CRIME
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
MARTIN BREST • Midnight Run
PATRICK MCDONAGH • In Bruges
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
PHIL LORD & CHRIS MILLER • 22 Jump Street

 

Same genre: COMEDY
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence

 

Same genre: CRIME
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules