tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper

LUCIO FULCI

The New York Ripper

MovieCult movies
GialloHorrorSlasher

[85/100]   

Shameless
29/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

I know it keeps some persons awake, but I never asked myself the question how far directors can go to shock their audience. After all it’s only film, but I’m sure if you put the question to the Italian horror master Lucio Fulci, he’ll say: ‘Very far!” Many people had their difficulties with his definition of gore and a film like The New York Ripper was even banned in some countries. These days such a warning looks rather cool on a cover, but back then it simply meant that many people were never able to see the movie! Today The New York Ripper is both known as one of the best giallo’s ever and also one of the most brutal slasher ever made!

If you are one of those who shut their eyes during the scene from Dali’s Un Chien Andalou in which someone cuts an eye in two, then you definitely will faint if you see this movie! The plot is very simple, you can even ask yourself if there is any plot at all! New York is frightened by a serial killer who picks up all the most beautiful ladies in town. That’s of course the ideal excuse for Fulci to include lots of scenes with nude bodies. But mind you, Fulci is not the kind of director who uses horror to bring you porn. Just like Dario Argento, Lucio Fulci knows very well how to bring brutality with style. Some horror fans have compared this classic to Maniac by William Lustig, but The New York Ripper is harder. Especially the character of the serial killer is quite weird. You only know in the very last minutes who is the one who murders beauties with a razor blade, but you can hear the voice: Donald Duck! Talking about originality and bizarre ideas!

The New York Ripper is worldwide released on DVD on several small labels, but the ultimate Blu-ray is released on the British Shameless-label (the one with the yellow covers!).

Didier BECU
29/10/2014


NL

Zelf heb ik er nooit bij stilgestaan omdat een film altijd een film blijft, toch vragen heel wat mensen zich af hoe ver cineasten kunnen gaan om het publiek te choqueren. Voor de Italiaanse regisseur Lucio Fulci is het antwoord daarop “zeer ver”. Heel wat van zijn werken zijn door moraalridders verguisd en The New York Ripper werd zelfs in heel wat landen verbannen. Tegenwoordig oogt zo’n verbanning uiterst cool op een dvd-doosje, maar destijds betekende dat wel dat de meeste mensen de film gewoon nooit te zien kregen. Vandaag staat The New York Ripper niet alleen bekend als één van de niet te missen giallo’s, maar ook als één van de meest brutale slashers die ooit is gemaakt.

Wie ooit zijn ogen sloot toen hij zag hoe Dali in Un Chien Andalou een pupil doormidden sneed, zal dat zeker ook doen in deze film. De plot, mocht die al aanwezig zijn, is van geen belang. In New York loopt er een seriemoordenaar rond en als slachtoffers kiest hij er de allermooiste vrouwen uit. Dat is natuurlijk een ideaal excuus voor Fulci om zijn film vol schaars geklede (als ze al gekleed zijn!) dames te stoppen. Fulci is evenwel meer dan zo maar een regisseur die goedkope porno in een horrorfilm verstopt. Net zoals zijn landgenoot Dario Argento weet hij uitstekend hoe je brutaliteit stijlvol moet verfilmen. Heel wat films hebben deze cultklassieker met Maniac van William Lustig vergeleken, toch gaat Fulci een stapje verder. Vooral het personage van de seriemoordenaar is hoogst eigenaardig. Het duurt wel 80 minuten vooraleer je weet wie al deze mooie vrouwen met een scheermes bewerkt, maar je hoort wel de hele tijd de stem. En neen, het is niet zo maar een stem, wel die van Donald Duck! Over originaliteit en bizarre ideeën gesproken.

The New York Ripper is ondertussen al wereldwijd door heel wat kleine labels op dvd uitgebracht, maar voor de ultieme Blu-ray moet je bij het Britse Shameless-label zijn (jawel, die met hun gele hoesjes!)

Didier BECU
29/10/2014


29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?