tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper

LUCIO FULCI

The New York Ripper

MovieCult movies
GialloHorrorSlasher

[85/100]   

Shameless
29/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

I know it keeps some persons awake, but I never asked myself the question how far directors can go to shock their audience. After all it’s only film, but I’m sure if you put the question to the Italian horror master Lucio Fulci, he’ll say: ‘Very far!” Many people had their difficulties with his definition of gore and a film like The New York Ripper was even banned in some countries. These days such a warning looks rather cool on a cover, but back then it simply meant that many people were never able to see the movie! Today The New York Ripper is both known as one of the best giallo’s ever and also one of the most brutal slasher ever made!

If you are one of those who shut their eyes during the scene from Dali’s Un Chien Andalou in which someone cuts an eye in two, then you definitely will faint if you see this movie! The plot is very simple, you can even ask yourself if there is any plot at all! New York is frightened by a serial killer who picks up all the most beautiful ladies in town. That’s of course the ideal excuse for Fulci to include lots of scenes with nude bodies. But mind you, Fulci is not the kind of director who uses horror to bring you porn. Just like Dario Argento, Lucio Fulci knows very well how to bring brutality with style. Some horror fans have compared this classic to Maniac by William Lustig, but The New York Ripper is harder. Especially the character of the serial killer is quite weird. You only know in the very last minutes who is the one who murders beauties with a razor blade, but you can hear the voice: Donald Duck! Talking about originality and bizarre ideas!

The New York Ripper is worldwide released on DVD on several small labels, but the ultimate Blu-ray is released on the British Shameless-label (the one with the yellow covers!).

Didier BECU
29/10/2014


NL

Zelf heb ik er nooit bij stilgestaan omdat een film altijd een film blijft, toch vragen heel wat mensen zich af hoe ver cineasten kunnen gaan om het publiek te choqueren. Voor de Italiaanse regisseur Lucio Fulci is het antwoord daarop “zeer ver”. Heel wat van zijn werken zijn door moraalridders verguisd en The New York Ripper werd zelfs in heel wat landen verbannen. Tegenwoordig oogt zo’n verbanning uiterst cool op een dvd-doosje, maar destijds betekende dat wel dat de meeste mensen de film gewoon nooit te zien kregen. Vandaag staat The New York Ripper niet alleen bekend als één van de niet te missen giallo’s, maar ook als één van de meest brutale slashers die ooit is gemaakt.

Wie ooit zijn ogen sloot toen hij zag hoe Dali in Un Chien Andalou een pupil doormidden sneed, zal dat zeker ook doen in deze film. De plot, mocht die al aanwezig zijn, is van geen belang. In New York loopt er een seriemoordenaar rond en als slachtoffers kiest hij er de allermooiste vrouwen uit. Dat is natuurlijk een ideaal excuus voor Fulci om zijn film vol schaars geklede (als ze al gekleed zijn!) dames te stoppen. Fulci is evenwel meer dan zo maar een regisseur die goedkope porno in een horrorfilm verstopt. Net zoals zijn landgenoot Dario Argento weet hij uitstekend hoe je brutaliteit stijlvol moet verfilmen. Heel wat films hebben deze cultklassieker met Maniac van William Lustig vergeleken, toch gaat Fulci een stapje verder. Vooral het personage van de seriemoordenaar is hoogst eigenaardig. Het duurt wel 80 minuten vooraleer je weet wie al deze mooie vrouwen met een scheermes bewerkt, maar je hoort wel de hele tijd de stem. En neen, het is niet zo maar een stem, wel die van Donald Duck! Over originaliteit en bizarre ideeën gesproken.

The New York Ripper is ondertussen al wereldwijd door heel wat kleine labels op dvd uitgebracht, maar voor de ultieme Blu-ray moet je bij het Britse Shameless-label zijn (jawel, die met hun gele hoesjes!)

Didier BECU
29/10/2014


29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper 29/10/2014 : LUCIO FULCI - The New York Ripper

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa