tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LUH - Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing

LUH

Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing

MusicCD
Indie

[79/100]   

Mute
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It takes a while before you get used to the band name. Not only does it sound too much like a famous biscuit brand, you often think of Lush as well. However, the new band of Ellery Roberts has nothing to do with these two.

LUH stands for Lost Under Heaven. Indeed, a rather bombastic name and the same goes for the music on this debut. If the name of Ellery Roberts sounds familiar, it is because you might also know his former band WU LYF. When this band from Manchester was at its end, Ellery met the Dutch artist Ebony Horn in Amsterdam. It immediately clicked between the two, they became a couple and LUH is the artistic effect.

When you thought that the music of WU LYF sounded too much like a cacophony, then that certainly will be the case now. Ellery's voice sounds pretty loud, just not over the top, almost hysterical and it contains strange, unusual musical structures that are similar to those of Cardiacs.

The music of LUH is certainly not for everyone's taste, let us be honest about that. One finds it sheer affectation, while the other gets wet pants. Indeed, it is more about emotions (frustration, envy, anger, fear) than anbout “real” songs. However, do not be put off by these heavy words, as every note goes right through your body and always hits the right spot. No radio-friendly stuff, this Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing, but a very intense experience of two tortured souls.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is een beetje wennen aan de bandnaam. Niet alleen klinkt hij net iets te veel als een bekend koekjesmerk, ook denk je net iets te vaak aan Lush. De nieuwe band van Ellery Roberts heeft echter niets met deze twee te maken. LUH staat voor Lost Under Heaven. Inderdaad, een nogal bombastische naam en dat geldt tevens voor de muziek die je op dit debuut hoort.

Mocht de naam van Ellery Roberts je bekend in de oren klinken, dan is dat zonder twijfel omdat je wellicht ook zijn vorige band WU LYF kent. Toen deze band uit Manchester op zijn laatste benen liep, ontmoette Ellery in Amsterdam de Nederlandse kunstenares Ebony Hoorn. Het klikte meteen tussen beiden, ze werden een paar en LUH is daarvan het artistieke gevolg.

Dacht je toen dat de muziek van WU LYF net iets te veel als een cacofonie klonk, dan zal dat zeker ook nu het geval zijn. De stem van Ellery klinkt vrij schreeuwerig, net niet over the top, bijna hysterisch en bevat vreemde, ongewone muzikale structuren die wel wat weg hebben van Cardiacs.

De muziek van LUH is zeker geen spek voor ieders bek, laat ons daar eerlijk over zijn. De ene zal het pure aanstellerij vinden, terwijl de andere er een natte broek van krijgt. Het gaat inderdaad meer om emoties (frustraties, nijd, woede, angst) dan om echte songs. Laat je evenwel door deze zware woorden niet zo maar afschrikken, iedere noot gaat regelrecht door je lichaam en raakt steeds de juiste plek. Geen radiovriendelijke hap, deze Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing dus, wel een zeer intense belevenis van twee gekwelde zielen.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia