tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LUH - Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing

LUH

Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing

MusicCD
Indie

[79/100]   

Mute
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It takes a while before you get used to the band name. Not only does it sound too much like a famous biscuit brand, you often think of Lush as well. However, the new band of Ellery Roberts has nothing to do with these two.

LUH stands for Lost Under Heaven. Indeed, a rather bombastic name and the same goes for the music on this debut. If the name of Ellery Roberts sounds familiar, it is because you might also know his former band WU LYF. When this band from Manchester was at its end, Ellery met the Dutch artist Ebony Horn in Amsterdam. It immediately clicked between the two, they became a couple and LUH is the artistic effect.

When you thought that the music of WU LYF sounded too much like a cacophony, then that certainly will be the case now. Ellery's voice sounds pretty loud, just not over the top, almost hysterical and it contains strange, unusual musical structures that are similar to those of Cardiacs.

The music of LUH is certainly not for everyone's taste, let us be honest about that. One finds it sheer affectation, while the other gets wet pants. Indeed, it is more about emotions (frustration, envy, anger, fear) than anbout “real” songs. However, do not be put off by these heavy words, as every note goes right through your body and always hits the right spot. No radio-friendly stuff, this Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing, but a very intense experience of two tortured souls.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is een beetje wennen aan de bandnaam. Niet alleen klinkt hij net iets te veel als een bekend koekjesmerk, ook denk je net iets te vaak aan Lush. De nieuwe band van Ellery Roberts heeft echter niets met deze twee te maken. LUH staat voor Lost Under Heaven. Inderdaad, een nogal bombastische naam en dat geldt tevens voor de muziek die je op dit debuut hoort.

Mocht de naam van Ellery Roberts je bekend in de oren klinken, dan is dat zonder twijfel omdat je wellicht ook zijn vorige band WU LYF kent. Toen deze band uit Manchester op zijn laatste benen liep, ontmoette Ellery in Amsterdam de Nederlandse kunstenares Ebony Hoorn. Het klikte meteen tussen beiden, ze werden een paar en LUH is daarvan het artistieke gevolg.

Dacht je toen dat de muziek van WU LYF net iets te veel als een cacofonie klonk, dan zal dat zeker ook nu het geval zijn. De stem van Ellery klinkt vrij schreeuwerig, net niet over the top, bijna hysterisch en bevat vreemde, ongewone muzikale structuren die wel wat weg hebben van Cardiacs.

De muziek van LUH is zeker geen spek voor ieders bek, laat ons daar eerlijk over zijn. De ene zal het pure aanstellerij vinden, terwijl de andere er een natte broek van krijgt. Het gaat inderdaad meer om emoties (frustraties, nijd, woede, angst) dan om echte songs. Laat je evenwel door deze zware woorden niet zo maar afschrikken, iedere noot gaat regelrecht door je lichaam en raakt steeds de juiste plek. Geen radiovriendelijke hap, deze Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing dus, wel een zeer intense belevenis van twee gekwelde zielen.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid