tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LUH - Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing

LUH

Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing

MusicCD
Indie

[79/100]   

Mute
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It takes a while before you get used to the band name. Not only does it sound too much like a famous biscuit brand, you often think of Lush as well. However, the new band of Ellery Roberts has nothing to do with these two.

LUH stands for Lost Under Heaven. Indeed, a rather bombastic name and the same goes for the music on this debut. If the name of Ellery Roberts sounds familiar, it is because you might also know his former band WU LYF. When this band from Manchester was at its end, Ellery met the Dutch artist Ebony Horn in Amsterdam. It immediately clicked between the two, they became a couple and LUH is the artistic effect.

When you thought that the music of WU LYF sounded too much like a cacophony, then that certainly will be the case now. Ellery's voice sounds pretty loud, just not over the top, almost hysterical and it contains strange, unusual musical structures that are similar to those of Cardiacs.

The music of LUH is certainly not for everyone's taste, let us be honest about that. One finds it sheer affectation, while the other gets wet pants. Indeed, it is more about emotions (frustration, envy, anger, fear) than anbout “real” songs. However, do not be put off by these heavy words, as every note goes right through your body and always hits the right spot. No radio-friendly stuff, this Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing, but a very intense experience of two tortured souls.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is een beetje wennen aan de bandnaam. Niet alleen klinkt hij net iets te veel als een bekend koekjesmerk, ook denk je net iets te vaak aan Lush. De nieuwe band van Ellery Roberts heeft echter niets met deze twee te maken. LUH staat voor Lost Under Heaven. Inderdaad, een nogal bombastische naam en dat geldt tevens voor de muziek die je op dit debuut hoort.

Mocht de naam van Ellery Roberts je bekend in de oren klinken, dan is dat zonder twijfel omdat je wellicht ook zijn vorige band WU LYF kent. Toen deze band uit Manchester op zijn laatste benen liep, ontmoette Ellery in Amsterdam de Nederlandse kunstenares Ebony Hoorn. Het klikte meteen tussen beiden, ze werden een paar en LUH is daarvan het artistieke gevolg.

Dacht je toen dat de muziek van WU LYF net iets te veel als een cacofonie klonk, dan zal dat zeker ook nu het geval zijn. De stem van Ellery klinkt vrij schreeuwerig, net niet over the top, bijna hysterisch en bevat vreemde, ongewone muzikale structuren die wel wat weg hebben van Cardiacs.

De muziek van LUH is zeker geen spek voor ieders bek, laat ons daar eerlijk over zijn. De ene zal het pure aanstellerij vinden, terwijl de andere er een natte broek van krijgt. Het gaat inderdaad meer om emoties (frustraties, nijd, woede, angst) dan om echte songs. Laat je evenwel door deze zware woorden niet zo maar afschrikken, iedere noot gaat regelrecht door je lichaam en raakt steeds de juiste plek. Geen radiovriendelijke hap, deze Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing dus, wel een zeer intense belevenis van twee gekwelde zielen.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design