tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : LUH - Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing

LUH

Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing

MusicCD
Indie

[79/100]   

Mute
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It takes a while before you get used to the band name. Not only does it sound too much like a famous biscuit brand, you often think of Lush as well. However, the new band of Ellery Roberts has nothing to do with these two.

LUH stands for Lost Under Heaven. Indeed, a rather bombastic name and the same goes for the music on this debut. If the name of Ellery Roberts sounds familiar, it is because you might also know his former band WU LYF. When this band from Manchester was at its end, Ellery met the Dutch artist Ebony Horn in Amsterdam. It immediately clicked between the two, they became a couple and LUH is the artistic effect.

When you thought that the music of WU LYF sounded too much like a cacophony, then that certainly will be the case now. Ellery's voice sounds pretty loud, just not over the top, almost hysterical and it contains strange, unusual musical structures that are similar to those of Cardiacs.

The music of LUH is certainly not for everyone's taste, let us be honest about that. One finds it sheer affectation, while the other gets wet pants. Indeed, it is more about emotions (frustration, envy, anger, fear) than anbout “real” songs. However, do not be put off by these heavy words, as every note goes right through your body and always hits the right spot. No radio-friendly stuff, this Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing, but a very intense experience of two tortured souls.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is een beetje wennen aan de bandnaam. Niet alleen klinkt hij net iets te veel als een bekend koekjesmerk, ook denk je net iets te vaak aan Lush. De nieuwe band van Ellery Roberts heeft echter niets met deze twee te maken. LUH staat voor Lost Under Heaven. Inderdaad, een nogal bombastische naam en dat geldt tevens voor de muziek die je op dit debuut hoort.

Mocht de naam van Ellery Roberts je bekend in de oren klinken, dan is dat zonder twijfel omdat je wellicht ook zijn vorige band WU LYF kent. Toen deze band uit Manchester op zijn laatste benen liep, ontmoette Ellery in Amsterdam de Nederlandse kunstenares Ebony Hoorn. Het klikte meteen tussen beiden, ze werden een paar en LUH is daarvan het artistieke gevolg.

Dacht je toen dat de muziek van WU LYF net iets te veel als een cacofonie klonk, dan zal dat zeker ook nu het geval zijn. De stem van Ellery klinkt vrij schreeuwerig, net niet over the top, bijna hysterisch en bevat vreemde, ongewone muzikale structuren die wel wat weg hebben van Cardiacs.

De muziek van LUH is zeker geen spek voor ieders bek, laat ons daar eerlijk over zijn. De ene zal het pure aanstellerij vinden, terwijl de andere er een natte broek van krijgt. Het gaat inderdaad meer om emoties (frustraties, nijd, woede, angst) dan om echte songs. Laat je evenwel door deze zware woorden niet zo maar afschrikken, iedere noot gaat regelrecht door je lichaam en raakt steeds de juiste plek. Geen radiovriendelijke hap, deze Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing dus, wel een zeer intense belevenis van twee gekwelde zielen.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap