tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LUST FOR YOUTH - Compassion

LUST FOR YOUTH

Compassion

MusicCD
Dark WaveSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Synthpop fans surely know Lust For Youth. The Danish trio is part of the underground with releases on the Italian label Avant! Compassion is the third album, released on Sacred Bones Records.

The icy photograph on the cover makes you think of Peter Saville, who designed the artwork for Factory. And yes, Lust For Youth is another hip indie band that takes its inspiration from the golden 80s, and how!

Stardom is synthpop of great class and exudes great feelings and heroism. A strange track, at least when compared with many superficial compositions of other synthpop bands. In vain, but the Danes manage to deceive us in a perfect way. If Limerence was played by any other synth band, the result would probably be a Depeche Mode cast-off, but Lust For Youth is smart and gives the music a touch of dark wave (think Clan Of Xymox).

Speaking of Clan Of Xymox! Easy Window is an instrumental in which you easily recognize the old 4AD influences. It’s cold, but at the same time it is masterly. At first hearing, Sudden Ambition is a trifle that would fail in the pre-selection of the Eurovision Song Contest, but by adding that little extra (say, an old Cure guitar) theband gives the song the necessary grandeur.

On Tokyo we even think of... The Names! Would Lust For Youth know who The Names are? We do not know, at least the band has listened to the melancholic albums of the 80s.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van de betere synthpop kennen Lust For Youth natuurlijk al een tijdje. Het Deense trio draait immers al een hele poos in de underground mee en had het releases op het Italiaanse Avant! Compassion is het derde album , dit keer op Sacred Bones Records.

Het hoesje met de ijskoude foto doet je meteen denken aan Peter Saville, je weet wel de kunstenaar die de meeste Factory-hoezen ontwierp. Het plaatje klopt volledig, Lust For Youth is ook weer zo’n hippe indieband die volop zijn inspiraties uit de gouden jaren 80 haalt, en hoe!

Stardom begint meteen groots, het is synthpop van grote klasse die grote gevoelens en heroïsme uitstraalt. Een wat vreemde track, ten minste als je hem vergelijkt met oppervlakkige composities waarmee vele synthpopbands tevergeefs je hart proberen te veroveren.

Neen, de Denen slagen erin om ons perfect om de tuin te leiden. Laat Limerence door gelijk welke synthband spelen en het resultaat zal wellicht niet meer dan een Depeche Mode-afdankertje zijn, maar Lust For Youth is zo slim om er bijv. een vleugje darkwave aan toe te voegen (denk aan Clan Of Xymox), waardoor deze song ver boven het gemiddelde klimt.

Over Clan Of Xymox gesproken! Easy Window is een instrumentale compositie waarin je de oude 4AD-invloeden zo in herkent...ijskoud, maar tegelijkertijd magistraal.

Sudden Ambition is op het eerste gehoor niet meer dan een niemendalletje dat niet eens door de preselectie van het Eurovisiesongfestival zou geraken, toch slagen de drie er weer in om door het toevoegen van dat extraatje (zeg maar een ouderwets Cure-gitaartje) de song de nodige grandeur te geven. Bij Tokyo denken we zelf aan...The Names!

Zou Lust For Youth The Names kennen? We weten het niet, in ieder geval heeft het gezelschap wel naar de juiste weemoedige gitaren van de jaren 80 geluisterd.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer