tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LUST FOR YOUTH - Compassion

LUST FOR YOUTH

Compassion

MusicCD
Dark WaveSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Synthpop fans surely know Lust For Youth. The Danish trio is part of the underground with releases on the Italian label Avant! Compassion is the third album, released on Sacred Bones Records.

The icy photograph on the cover makes you think of Peter Saville, who designed the artwork for Factory. And yes, Lust For Youth is another hip indie band that takes its inspiration from the golden 80s, and how!

Stardom is synthpop of great class and exudes great feelings and heroism. A strange track, at least when compared with many superficial compositions of other synthpop bands. In vain, but the Danes manage to deceive us in a perfect way. If Limerence was played by any other synth band, the result would probably be a Depeche Mode cast-off, but Lust For Youth is smart and gives the music a touch of dark wave (think Clan Of Xymox).

Speaking of Clan Of Xymox! Easy Window is an instrumental in which you easily recognize the old 4AD influences. It’s cold, but at the same time it is masterly. At first hearing, Sudden Ambition is a trifle that would fail in the pre-selection of the Eurovision Song Contest, but by adding that little extra (say, an old Cure guitar) theband gives the song the necessary grandeur.

On Tokyo we even think of... The Names! Would Lust For Youth know who The Names are? We do not know, at least the band has listened to the melancholic albums of the 80s.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van de betere synthpop kennen Lust For Youth natuurlijk al een tijdje. Het Deense trio draait immers al een hele poos in de underground mee en had het releases op het Italiaanse Avant! Compassion is het derde album , dit keer op Sacred Bones Records.

Het hoesje met de ijskoude foto doet je meteen denken aan Peter Saville, je weet wel de kunstenaar die de meeste Factory-hoezen ontwierp. Het plaatje klopt volledig, Lust For Youth is ook weer zo’n hippe indieband die volop zijn inspiraties uit de gouden jaren 80 haalt, en hoe!

Stardom begint meteen groots, het is synthpop van grote klasse die grote gevoelens en heroïsme uitstraalt. Een wat vreemde track, ten minste als je hem vergelijkt met oppervlakkige composities waarmee vele synthpopbands tevergeefs je hart proberen te veroveren.

Neen, de Denen slagen erin om ons perfect om de tuin te leiden. Laat Limerence door gelijk welke synthband spelen en het resultaat zal wellicht niet meer dan een Depeche Mode-afdankertje zijn, maar Lust For Youth is zo slim om er bijv. een vleugje darkwave aan toe te voegen (denk aan Clan Of Xymox), waardoor deze song ver boven het gemiddelde klimt.

Over Clan Of Xymox gesproken! Easy Window is een instrumentale compositie waarin je de oude 4AD-invloeden zo in herkent...ijskoud, maar tegelijkertijd magistraal.

Sudden Ambition is op het eerste gehoor niet meer dan een niemendalletje dat niet eens door de preselectie van het Eurovisiesongfestival zou geraken, toch slagen de drie er weer in om door het toevoegen van dat extraatje (zeg maar een ouderwets Cure-gitaartje) de song de nodige grandeur te geven. Bij Tokyo denken we zelf aan...The Names!

Zou Lust For Youth The Names kennen? We weten het niet, in ieder geval heeft het gezelschap wel naar de juiste weemoedige gitaren van de jaren 80 geluisterd.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)