tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : LUST FOR YOUTH - Compassion

LUST FOR YOUTH

Compassion

MusicCD
Dark WaveSynth Wave

[84/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Synthpop fans surely know Lust For Youth. The Danish trio is part of the underground with releases on the Italian label Avant! Compassion is the third album, released on Sacred Bones Records.

The icy photograph on the cover makes you think of Peter Saville, who designed the artwork for Factory. And yes, Lust For Youth is another hip indie band that takes its inspiration from the golden 80s, and how!

Stardom is synthpop of great class and exudes great feelings and heroism. A strange track, at least when compared with many superficial compositions of other synthpop bands. In vain, but the Danes manage to deceive us in a perfect way. If Limerence was played by any other synth band, the result would probably be a Depeche Mode cast-off, but Lust For Youth is smart and gives the music a touch of dark wave (think Clan Of Xymox).

Speaking of Clan Of Xymox! Easy Window is an instrumental in which you easily recognize the old 4AD influences. It’s cold, but at the same time it is masterly. At first hearing, Sudden Ambition is a trifle that would fail in the pre-selection of the Eurovision Song Contest, but by adding that little extra (say, an old Cure guitar) theband gives the song the necessary grandeur.

On Tokyo we even think of... The Names! Would Lust For Youth know who The Names are? We do not know, at least the band has listened to the melancholic albums of the 80s.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van de betere synthpop kennen Lust For Youth natuurlijk al een tijdje. Het Deense trio draait immers al een hele poos in de underground mee en had het releases op het Italiaanse Avant! Compassion is het derde album , dit keer op Sacred Bones Records.

Het hoesje met de ijskoude foto doet je meteen denken aan Peter Saville, je weet wel de kunstenaar die de meeste Factory-hoezen ontwierp. Het plaatje klopt volledig, Lust For Youth is ook weer zo’n hippe indieband die volop zijn inspiraties uit de gouden jaren 80 haalt, en hoe!

Stardom begint meteen groots, het is synthpop van grote klasse die grote gevoelens en heroïsme uitstraalt. Een wat vreemde track, ten minste als je hem vergelijkt met oppervlakkige composities waarmee vele synthpopbands tevergeefs je hart proberen te veroveren.

Neen, de Denen slagen erin om ons perfect om de tuin te leiden. Laat Limerence door gelijk welke synthband spelen en het resultaat zal wellicht niet meer dan een Depeche Mode-afdankertje zijn, maar Lust For Youth is zo slim om er bijv. een vleugje darkwave aan toe te voegen (denk aan Clan Of Xymox), waardoor deze song ver boven het gemiddelde klimt.

Over Clan Of Xymox gesproken! Easy Window is een instrumentale compositie waarin je de oude 4AD-invloeden zo in herkent...ijskoud, maar tegelijkertijd magistraal.

Sudden Ambition is op het eerste gehoor niet meer dan een niemendalletje dat niet eens door de preselectie van het Eurovisiesongfestival zou geraken, toch slagen de drie er weer in om door het toevoegen van dat extraatje (zeg maar een ouderwets Cure-gitaartje) de song de nodige grandeur te geven. Bij Tokyo denken we zelf aan...The Names!

Zou Lust For Youth The Names kennen? We weten het niet, in ieder geval heeft het gezelschap wel naar de juiste weemoedige gitaren van de jaren 80 geluisterd.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete