tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/12/2014 : LYDIA LUNCH/CYPRESS GROVE/SPIRITUAL FRONT - Twin Horses

LYDIA LUNCH/CYPRESS GROVE/SPIRITUAL FRONT

Twin Horses

MusicCD
AcousticNeofolk
Rustblade Records
17/12/2014, Allan NILSSON

Twin Horses is the result of the second collaboration of the veteran enfant terrible Lydia Lunch and the guitar player Cypress Grove. On part two appears the nihilistic folk band Spiritual Front. The lead singer has no doubt an interesting voice, but I feel he could have done something more challenging with it. It is basically an acoustic album with a loop here or drum machine there. I had hoped for something else, something edgier, wilder and more experimental.

The album is frankly a bit bland. Define bland! Well, bland is (in this context) when nothing really happens, nothing is fermenting, nothing points ahead and nothing can really be seized as a starting point for a new discovery. Lydia is a performance artist, not a singer or a musician. A trained musician and singer knows how to sing and play in tune.

In the past, she has done many compelling collaborations with musicians like Rowland S. Howard (Honeymoon in Red, 1987; Shotgun Wedding, 1991), Jim Thirlwell (Stinkfist, 1987; Don't Fear the Reaper, 1991) and Omar Lopez-Rodriguez (Omar Rodriguez Lopez & Lydia Lunch, 2007) to mention a few. The most interesting song on the album is Lunch's rendition of Hotel California (The Eagles). Admittedly, I have never listened to the Eagles' lyrics so focused until I heard Lydia perform this song. I think it was Alfred Hitchcock who said that to have a "style" is to copy oneself. No, I cannot really recommend this album.

Allan NILSSON
17/12/2014


Music reviews

25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell