tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

MACHINISTA

Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[80/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
04/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This year Machinista released its second album Garmonbozia. A few months later their label Analogue Trash Records already comes up with the expanded and remix edition of the debut Xenoglossy.

Of course, most fans know the regular album with straight beats, fine grooves, synth patterns with a 80s touch and Lindqwister’s excellent vocals. Or to say it in shorter way: this is stuff for fans of Erasure, Pet Shop Boys or OMD.

What about this remix album, then? We hear two remixes of Take Comfort In Being Sad. The Judas Remix is ​​a strong one: the addition of dark guitar sounds is a new element in the usual machinista electropop style and shows the real potential of this song. The Tolchock Remix offers nothing new. Of Molecules And Carbon we hear five remixes. The better and the most notable ones are The Spacebuoy Glam Dance Remix (indeed a DJ/Dance Mix), The Swedlt Remix and The Erotic Each Crawley Remix, that sounds much like The Cure. The new version of Salvation by Vogon Poetry is great too. Furthermore, we hear fine mixes of Pushing The Stars Away, Crash and The Blues And The Reds.

This remix album brings some songs to another level, or looks at them a different angle. If you want to buy their debut, then you better take this expanded edition in your arms as well, as after all it is a nice bonus.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


NL

Dit jaar bracht Machinista zijn tweede album Garmonbozia uit. Enkele maanden later is AnalogueTrash Records er al met de expanded-en-remixeditie van het debuut Xenoglossy. Wil het label via deze weg nog een graantje meepikken? Wie zal het zeggen?

Het reguliere album is bij de fans intussen bekend en bevat straight beats, fijne grooves, synth patronen met een jarentachtiggevoel en de fijne zang van Lindqwister. Of kortom, voer voor de liefhebbers van Erasure, Pet Shop Boys of OMD.

Hoe zit het dan met dat remixalbum? We horen twee herbewerkingen van Take Comfort In Being Sad. The Judas Remix is een sterke remix. Door de toevoeging van de donkere gitaarklanken, verlaat men het pad van Machinista’s luchtige electropop waardoor je het potentieel van deze song beter merkt. The Tolchock Remix brengt eigenlijk niets nieuws onder de zon. Van Molecules And Carbon krijgen we zo maar eventjes vijf remixes. De betere en de opmerkelijkste zijn The Spacebuoy Glam Dance Remix (inderdaad een DJ/Dance Mix), The Swedlt Remix en The Erotic Elk Crawley Remix, dat erg als The Cure klinkt. De behandeling die Salvation kreeg door Vogon Poetry is ook geslaagd. Voorts horen we nog fijne mixes van Pushing The Stars Away, Crash en The Blues And The Reds.

Het remixalbum is geslaagd en tilt enkele nummers tot een ander niveau of kiest verschillende invalshoek. Als je je dit debuut wil aanschaffen, dan raad ik zeker aan om ook deze expanded-editie in je armen te sluiten. Het is immers een leuke bonus.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition) 04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag