tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

MACHINISTA

Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[80/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
04/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This year Machinista released its second album Garmonbozia. A few months later their label Analogue Trash Records already comes up with the expanded and remix edition of the debut Xenoglossy.

Of course, most fans know the regular album with straight beats, fine grooves, synth patterns with a 80s touch and Lindqwister’s excellent vocals. Or to say it in shorter way: this is stuff for fans of Erasure, Pet Shop Boys or OMD.

What about this remix album, then? We hear two remixes of Take Comfort In Being Sad. The Judas Remix is ​​a strong one: the addition of dark guitar sounds is a new element in the usual machinista electropop style and shows the real potential of this song. The Tolchock Remix offers nothing new. Of Molecules And Carbon we hear five remixes. The better and the most notable ones are The Spacebuoy Glam Dance Remix (indeed a DJ/Dance Mix), The Swedlt Remix and The Erotic Each Crawley Remix, that sounds much like The Cure. The new version of Salvation by Vogon Poetry is great too. Furthermore, we hear fine mixes of Pushing The Stars Away, Crash and The Blues And The Reds.

This remix album brings some songs to another level, or looks at them a different angle. If you want to buy their debut, then you better take this expanded edition in your arms as well, as after all it is a nice bonus.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


NL

Dit jaar bracht Machinista zijn tweede album Garmonbozia uit. Enkele maanden later is AnalogueTrash Records er al met de expanded-en-remixeditie van het debuut Xenoglossy. Wil het label via deze weg nog een graantje meepikken? Wie zal het zeggen?

Het reguliere album is bij de fans intussen bekend en bevat straight beats, fijne grooves, synth patronen met een jarentachtiggevoel en de fijne zang van Lindqwister. Of kortom, voer voor de liefhebbers van Erasure, Pet Shop Boys of OMD.

Hoe zit het dan met dat remixalbum? We horen twee herbewerkingen van Take Comfort In Being Sad. The Judas Remix is een sterke remix. Door de toevoeging van de donkere gitaarklanken, verlaat men het pad van Machinista’s luchtige electropop waardoor je het potentieel van deze song beter merkt. The Tolchock Remix brengt eigenlijk niets nieuws onder de zon. Van Molecules And Carbon krijgen we zo maar eventjes vijf remixes. De betere en de opmerkelijkste zijn The Spacebuoy Glam Dance Remix (inderdaad een DJ/Dance Mix), The Swedlt Remix en The Erotic Elk Crawley Remix, dat erg als The Cure klinkt. De behandeling die Salvation kreeg door Vogon Poetry is ook geslaagd. Voorts horen we nog fijne mixes van Pushing The Stars Away, Crash en The Blues And The Reds.

Het remixalbum is geslaagd en tilt enkele nummers tot een ander niveau of kiest verschillende invalshoek. Als je je dit debuut wil aanschaffen, dan raad ik zeker aan om ook deze expanded-editie in je armen te sluiten. Het is immers een leuke bonus.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition) 04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom