tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

MACHINISTA

Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[80/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
04/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This year Machinista released its second album Garmonbozia. A few months later their label Analogue Trash Records already comes up with the expanded and remix edition of the debut Xenoglossy.

Of course, most fans know the regular album with straight beats, fine grooves, synth patterns with a 80s touch and Lindqwister’s excellent vocals. Or to say it in shorter way: this is stuff for fans of Erasure, Pet Shop Boys or OMD.

What about this remix album, then? We hear two remixes of Take Comfort In Being Sad. The Judas Remix is ​​a strong one: the addition of dark guitar sounds is a new element in the usual machinista electropop style and shows the real potential of this song. The Tolchock Remix offers nothing new. Of Molecules And Carbon we hear five remixes. The better and the most notable ones are The Spacebuoy Glam Dance Remix (indeed a DJ/Dance Mix), The Swedlt Remix and The Erotic Each Crawley Remix, that sounds much like The Cure. The new version of Salvation by Vogon Poetry is great too. Furthermore, we hear fine mixes of Pushing The Stars Away, Crash and The Blues And The Reds.

This remix album brings some songs to another level, or looks at them a different angle. If you want to buy their debut, then you better take this expanded edition in your arms as well, as after all it is a nice bonus.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


NL

Dit jaar bracht Machinista zijn tweede album Garmonbozia uit. Enkele maanden later is AnalogueTrash Records er al met de expanded-en-remixeditie van het debuut Xenoglossy. Wil het label via deze weg nog een graantje meepikken? Wie zal het zeggen?

Het reguliere album is bij de fans intussen bekend en bevat straight beats, fijne grooves, synth patronen met een jarentachtiggevoel en de fijne zang van Lindqwister. Of kortom, voer voor de liefhebbers van Erasure, Pet Shop Boys of OMD.

Hoe zit het dan met dat remixalbum? We horen twee herbewerkingen van Take Comfort In Being Sad. The Judas Remix is een sterke remix. Door de toevoeging van de donkere gitaarklanken, verlaat men het pad van Machinista’s luchtige electropop waardoor je het potentieel van deze song beter merkt. The Tolchock Remix brengt eigenlijk niets nieuws onder de zon. Van Molecules And Carbon krijgen we zo maar eventjes vijf remixes. De betere en de opmerkelijkste zijn The Spacebuoy Glam Dance Remix (inderdaad een DJ/Dance Mix), The Swedlt Remix en The Erotic Elk Crawley Remix, dat erg als The Cure klinkt. De behandeling die Salvation kreeg door Vogon Poetry is ook geslaagd. Voorts horen we nog fijne mixes van Pushing The Stars Away, Crash en The Blues And The Reds.

Het remixalbum is geslaagd en tilt enkele nummers tot een ander niveau of kiest verschillende invalshoek. Als je je dit debuut wil aanschaffen, dan raad ik zeker aan om ook deze expanded-editie in je armen te sluiten. Het is immers een leuke bonus.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition) 04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life