tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

MACHINISTA

Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[80/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
04/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This year Machinista released its second album Garmonbozia. A few months later their label Analogue Trash Records already comes up with the expanded and remix edition of the debut Xenoglossy.

Of course, most fans know the regular album with straight beats, fine grooves, synth patterns with a 80s touch and Lindqwister’s excellent vocals. Or to say it in shorter way: this is stuff for fans of Erasure, Pet Shop Boys or OMD.

What about this remix album, then? We hear two remixes of Take Comfort In Being Sad. The Judas Remix is ​​a strong one: the addition of dark guitar sounds is a new element in the usual machinista electropop style and shows the real potential of this song. The Tolchock Remix offers nothing new. Of Molecules And Carbon we hear five remixes. The better and the most notable ones are The Spacebuoy Glam Dance Remix (indeed a DJ/Dance Mix), The Swedlt Remix and The Erotic Each Crawley Remix, that sounds much like The Cure. The new version of Salvation by Vogon Poetry is great too. Furthermore, we hear fine mixes of Pushing The Stars Away, Crash and The Blues And The Reds.

This remix album brings some songs to another level, or looks at them a different angle. If you want to buy their debut, then you better take this expanded edition in your arms as well, as after all it is a nice bonus.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


NL

Dit jaar bracht Machinista zijn tweede album Garmonbozia uit. Enkele maanden later is AnalogueTrash Records er al met de expanded-en-remixeditie van het debuut Xenoglossy. Wil het label via deze weg nog een graantje meepikken? Wie zal het zeggen?

Het reguliere album is bij de fans intussen bekend en bevat straight beats, fijne grooves, synth patronen met een jarentachtiggevoel en de fijne zang van Lindqwister. Of kortom, voer voor de liefhebbers van Erasure, Pet Shop Boys of OMD.

Hoe zit het dan met dat remixalbum? We horen twee herbewerkingen van Take Comfort In Being Sad. The Judas Remix is een sterke remix. Door de toevoeging van de donkere gitaarklanken, verlaat men het pad van Machinista’s luchtige electropop waardoor je het potentieel van deze song beter merkt. The Tolchock Remix brengt eigenlijk niets nieuws onder de zon. Van Molecules And Carbon krijgen we zo maar eventjes vijf remixes. De betere en de opmerkelijkste zijn The Spacebuoy Glam Dance Remix (inderdaad een DJ/Dance Mix), The Swedlt Remix en The Erotic Elk Crawley Remix, dat erg als The Cure klinkt. De behandeling die Salvation kreeg door Vogon Poetry is ook geslaagd. Voorts horen we nog fijne mixes van Pushing The Stars Away, Crash en The Blues And The Reds.

Het remixalbum is geslaagd en tilt enkele nummers tot een ander niveau of kiest verschillende invalshoek. Als je je dit debuut wil aanschaffen, dan raad ik zeker aan om ook deze expanded-editie in je armen te sluiten. Het is immers een leuke bonus.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition) 04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen