tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

MACHINISTA

Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[80/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
04/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This year Machinista released its second album Garmonbozia. A few months later their label Analogue Trash Records already comes up with the expanded and remix edition of the debut Xenoglossy.

Of course, most fans know the regular album with straight beats, fine grooves, synth patterns with a 80s touch and Lindqwister’s excellent vocals. Or to say it in shorter way: this is stuff for fans of Erasure, Pet Shop Boys or OMD.

What about this remix album, then? We hear two remixes of Take Comfort In Being Sad. The Judas Remix is ​​a strong one: the addition of dark guitar sounds is a new element in the usual machinista electropop style and shows the real potential of this song. The Tolchock Remix offers nothing new. Of Molecules And Carbon we hear five remixes. The better and the most notable ones are The Spacebuoy Glam Dance Remix (indeed a DJ/Dance Mix), The Swedlt Remix and The Erotic Each Crawley Remix, that sounds much like The Cure. The new version of Salvation by Vogon Poetry is great too. Furthermore, we hear fine mixes of Pushing The Stars Away, Crash and The Blues And The Reds.

This remix album brings some songs to another level, or looks at them a different angle. If you want to buy their debut, then you better take this expanded edition in your arms as well, as after all it is a nice bonus.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


NL

Dit jaar bracht Machinista zijn tweede album Garmonbozia uit. Enkele maanden later is AnalogueTrash Records er al met de expanded-en-remixeditie van het debuut Xenoglossy. Wil het label via deze weg nog een graantje meepikken? Wie zal het zeggen?

Het reguliere album is bij de fans intussen bekend en bevat straight beats, fijne grooves, synth patronen met een jarentachtiggevoel en de fijne zang van Lindqwister. Of kortom, voer voor de liefhebbers van Erasure, Pet Shop Boys of OMD.

Hoe zit het dan met dat remixalbum? We horen twee herbewerkingen van Take Comfort In Being Sad. The Judas Remix is een sterke remix. Door de toevoeging van de donkere gitaarklanken, verlaat men het pad van Machinista’s luchtige electropop waardoor je het potentieel van deze song beter merkt. The Tolchock Remix brengt eigenlijk niets nieuws onder de zon. Van Molecules And Carbon krijgen we zo maar eventjes vijf remixes. De betere en de opmerkelijkste zijn The Spacebuoy Glam Dance Remix (inderdaad een DJ/Dance Mix), The Swedlt Remix en The Erotic Elk Crawley Remix, dat erg als The Cure klinkt. De behandeling die Salvation kreeg door Vogon Poetry is ook geslaagd. Voorts horen we nog fijne mixes van Pushing The Stars Away, Crash en The Blues And The Reds.

Het remixalbum is geslaagd en tilt enkele nummers tot een ander niveau of kiest verschillende invalshoek. Als je je dit debuut wil aanschaffen, dan raad ik zeker aan om ook deze expanded-editie in je armen te sluiten. Het is immers een leuke bonus.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/10/2015


04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition) 04/10/2015 : MACHINISTA - Xenoglossy (Expanded and remixed edition)

Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart