tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS - Radio Harlaz

MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS

Radio Harlaz

MusicCD
Country

[77/100]   

Zeal Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you think it’s not important to know why a particular record is made, but in the case of the new CD of Mad About Mountains, you better do. The theme of this album is the tragic fate of Glenn Campbell. Once the man was the hero of the country scene (you certainly know his super hit Rhinestone Cowboy), but since a while the man suffers from Alzheimer's disease. The now 79-year-old American, who sold 50 million records worldwide, can no longer communicate with the world and he does not even know what a guitar is used for.

Although the roots of Mad About Mountains are in Belgium, this band sounds all-American: country of the best sort, but purged of all silly clichés and preserving the beauty. The voice of Piet De Pessemier is very similar to Neil Young's. This is indeed not the first time we hear something like that, but Piet never tries to hard (it's just Piet) and that is why Mad About Mountains has such a spontaneous character you fall for.

Sometimes heartbreakingly beautiful (I'll Be Me), then a tad naughty with erupting guitars (The Wishing Well), then it makes you silent (Stronger and Numbers) or you just whistle along. This handsome album ends with a cover of the hit that made Campbell famous (Rhinestone Cowboy). High quality from Flanders.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Het zou best kunnen dat je het onbelangrijk vindt om te weten waarom een bepaalde plaat is gemaakt, maar in het geval van de nieuwe Mad About Mountains doe je dat toch maar beter. Het thema van de nieuweling gaat immers over het tragische lot van Glenn Campbell. Ooit was de man de held van de countryscène (je kent zeker zijn superhit Rhinestone Cowboy), sinds een tijdje is de man helaas geveld door de ziekte van Alzheimer. De nu 79-jarige Amerikaan, die wereldwijd 50 miljoen platen verkocht, kan niet meer met de wereld communiceren en de stakkerd weet niet eens meer waartoe een gitaar dient.

Hoewel de roots van Mad About Mountains in Herk De Stad liggen, klinkt deze band op en top Amerikaans: country van het beste soort, wel gezuiverd van alle onnozele clichés en met behoud van de schoonheid. Opvallend is de stem van Piet De Pessemier, die heel sterk op die van Neil Young lijkt. Dat is inderdaad niet de eerste keer dat we zoiets horen, gelukkig probeert Piet nooit zijn best te doen om zo te klinken (het is gewoon Piet) en dat geeft Mad About Mountains dat spontane karakter waar je voor valt.

Soms hartbrekend mooi (I’ll Be Me), geregeld een tikkeltje stout met losbarstende gitaren (The Wishing Well), dan word je er weer stil van (Stronger en Numbers) of fluit je het gewoon mee. Deze knappe plaat wordt afgesloten met een cover van de hit die Campbell zo beroemd maakte (Rhinestone Cowboy dus). Hoogstaande kwaliteit uit Vlaanderen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless