tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS - Radio Harlaz

MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS

Radio Harlaz

MusicCD
Country

[77/100]   

Zeal Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you think it’s not important to know why a particular record is made, but in the case of the new CD of Mad About Mountains, you better do. The theme of this album is the tragic fate of Glenn Campbell. Once the man was the hero of the country scene (you certainly know his super hit Rhinestone Cowboy), but since a while the man suffers from Alzheimer's disease. The now 79-year-old American, who sold 50 million records worldwide, can no longer communicate with the world and he does not even know what a guitar is used for.

Although the roots of Mad About Mountains are in Belgium, this band sounds all-American: country of the best sort, but purged of all silly clichés and preserving the beauty. The voice of Piet De Pessemier is very similar to Neil Young's. This is indeed not the first time we hear something like that, but Piet never tries to hard (it's just Piet) and that is why Mad About Mountains has such a spontaneous character you fall for.

Sometimes heartbreakingly beautiful (I'll Be Me), then a tad naughty with erupting guitars (The Wishing Well), then it makes you silent (Stronger and Numbers) or you just whistle along. This handsome album ends with a cover of the hit that made Campbell famous (Rhinestone Cowboy). High quality from Flanders.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Het zou best kunnen dat je het onbelangrijk vindt om te weten waarom een bepaalde plaat is gemaakt, maar in het geval van de nieuwe Mad About Mountains doe je dat toch maar beter. Het thema van de nieuweling gaat immers over het tragische lot van Glenn Campbell. Ooit was de man de held van de countryscène (je kent zeker zijn superhit Rhinestone Cowboy), sinds een tijdje is de man helaas geveld door de ziekte van Alzheimer. De nu 79-jarige Amerikaan, die wereldwijd 50 miljoen platen verkocht, kan niet meer met de wereld communiceren en de stakkerd weet niet eens meer waartoe een gitaar dient.

Hoewel de roots van Mad About Mountains in Herk De Stad liggen, klinkt deze band op en top Amerikaans: country van het beste soort, wel gezuiverd van alle onnozele clichés en met behoud van de schoonheid. Opvallend is de stem van Piet De Pessemier, die heel sterk op die van Neil Young lijkt. Dat is inderdaad niet de eerste keer dat we zoiets horen, gelukkig probeert Piet nooit zijn best te doen om zo te klinken (het is gewoon Piet) en dat geeft Mad About Mountains dat spontane karakter waar je voor valt.

Soms hartbrekend mooi (I’ll Be Me), geregeld een tikkeltje stout met losbarstende gitaren (The Wishing Well), dan word je er weer stil van (Stronger en Numbers) of fluit je het gewoon mee. Deze knappe plaat wordt afgesloten met een cover van de hit die Campbell zo beroemd maakte (Rhinestone Cowboy dus). Hoogstaande kwaliteit uit Vlaanderen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl