tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS - Radio Harlaz

MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS

Radio Harlaz

MusicCD
Country

[77/100]   

Zeal Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you think it’s not important to know why a particular record is made, but in the case of the new CD of Mad About Mountains, you better do. The theme of this album is the tragic fate of Glenn Campbell. Once the man was the hero of the country scene (you certainly know his super hit Rhinestone Cowboy), but since a while the man suffers from Alzheimer's disease. The now 79-year-old American, who sold 50 million records worldwide, can no longer communicate with the world and he does not even know what a guitar is used for.

Although the roots of Mad About Mountains are in Belgium, this band sounds all-American: country of the best sort, but purged of all silly clichés and preserving the beauty. The voice of Piet De Pessemier is very similar to Neil Young's. This is indeed not the first time we hear something like that, but Piet never tries to hard (it's just Piet) and that is why Mad About Mountains has such a spontaneous character you fall for.

Sometimes heartbreakingly beautiful (I'll Be Me), then a tad naughty with erupting guitars (The Wishing Well), then it makes you silent (Stronger and Numbers) or you just whistle along. This handsome album ends with a cover of the hit that made Campbell famous (Rhinestone Cowboy). High quality from Flanders.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Het zou best kunnen dat je het onbelangrijk vindt om te weten waarom een bepaalde plaat is gemaakt, maar in het geval van de nieuwe Mad About Mountains doe je dat toch maar beter. Het thema van de nieuweling gaat immers over het tragische lot van Glenn Campbell. Ooit was de man de held van de countryscène (je kent zeker zijn superhit Rhinestone Cowboy), sinds een tijdje is de man helaas geveld door de ziekte van Alzheimer. De nu 79-jarige Amerikaan, die wereldwijd 50 miljoen platen verkocht, kan niet meer met de wereld communiceren en de stakkerd weet niet eens meer waartoe een gitaar dient.

Hoewel de roots van Mad About Mountains in Herk De Stad liggen, klinkt deze band op en top Amerikaans: country van het beste soort, wel gezuiverd van alle onnozele clichés en met behoud van de schoonheid. Opvallend is de stem van Piet De Pessemier, die heel sterk op die van Neil Young lijkt. Dat is inderdaad niet de eerste keer dat we zoiets horen, gelukkig probeert Piet nooit zijn best te doen om zo te klinken (het is gewoon Piet) en dat geeft Mad About Mountains dat spontane karakter waar je voor valt.

Soms hartbrekend mooi (I’ll Be Me), geregeld een tikkeltje stout met losbarstende gitaren (The Wishing Well), dan word je er weer stil van (Stronger en Numbers) of fluit je het gewoon mee. Deze knappe plaat wordt afgesloten met een cover van de hit die Campbell zo beroemd maakte (Rhinestone Cowboy dus). Hoogstaande kwaliteit uit Vlaanderen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
04
LADYTRON
Destroy Everything You Touch
26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only