tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS - Radio Harlaz

MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS

Radio Harlaz

MusicCD
Country

[77/100]   

Zeal Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you think it’s not important to know why a particular record is made, but in the case of the new CD of Mad About Mountains, you better do. The theme of this album is the tragic fate of Glenn Campbell. Once the man was the hero of the country scene (you certainly know his super hit Rhinestone Cowboy), but since a while the man suffers from Alzheimer's disease. The now 79-year-old American, who sold 50 million records worldwide, can no longer communicate with the world and he does not even know what a guitar is used for.

Although the roots of Mad About Mountains are in Belgium, this band sounds all-American: country of the best sort, but purged of all silly clichés and preserving the beauty. The voice of Piet De Pessemier is very similar to Neil Young's. This is indeed not the first time we hear something like that, but Piet never tries to hard (it's just Piet) and that is why Mad About Mountains has such a spontaneous character you fall for.

Sometimes heartbreakingly beautiful (I'll Be Me), then a tad naughty with erupting guitars (The Wishing Well), then it makes you silent (Stronger and Numbers) or you just whistle along. This handsome album ends with a cover of the hit that made Campbell famous (Rhinestone Cowboy). High quality from Flanders.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Het zou best kunnen dat je het onbelangrijk vindt om te weten waarom een bepaalde plaat is gemaakt, maar in het geval van de nieuwe Mad About Mountains doe je dat toch maar beter. Het thema van de nieuweling gaat immers over het tragische lot van Glenn Campbell. Ooit was de man de held van de countryscène (je kent zeker zijn superhit Rhinestone Cowboy), sinds een tijdje is de man helaas geveld door de ziekte van Alzheimer. De nu 79-jarige Amerikaan, die wereldwijd 50 miljoen platen verkocht, kan niet meer met de wereld communiceren en de stakkerd weet niet eens meer waartoe een gitaar dient.

Hoewel de roots van Mad About Mountains in Herk De Stad liggen, klinkt deze band op en top Amerikaans: country van het beste soort, wel gezuiverd van alle onnozele clichés en met behoud van de schoonheid. Opvallend is de stem van Piet De Pessemier, die heel sterk op die van Neil Young lijkt. Dat is inderdaad niet de eerste keer dat we zoiets horen, gelukkig probeert Piet nooit zijn best te doen om zo te klinken (het is gewoon Piet) en dat geeft Mad About Mountains dat spontane karakter waar je voor valt.

Soms hartbrekend mooi (I’ll Be Me), geregeld een tikkeltje stout met losbarstende gitaren (The Wishing Well), dan word je er weer stil van (Stronger en Numbers) of fluit je het gewoon mee. Deze knappe plaat wordt afgesloten met een cover van de hit die Campbell zo beroemd maakte (Rhinestone Cowboy dus). Hoogstaande kwaliteit uit Vlaanderen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent