tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS - Radio Harlaz

MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS

Radio Harlaz

MusicCD
Country

[77/100]   

Zeal Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps you think it’s not important to know why a particular record is made, but in the case of the new CD of Mad About Mountains, you better do. The theme of this album is the tragic fate of Glenn Campbell. Once the man was the hero of the country scene (you certainly know his super hit Rhinestone Cowboy), but since a while the man suffers from Alzheimer's disease. The now 79-year-old American, who sold 50 million records worldwide, can no longer communicate with the world and he does not even know what a guitar is used for.

Although the roots of Mad About Mountains are in Belgium, this band sounds all-American: country of the best sort, but purged of all silly clichés and preserving the beauty. The voice of Piet De Pessemier is very similar to Neil Young's. This is indeed not the first time we hear something like that, but Piet never tries to hard (it's just Piet) and that is why Mad About Mountains has such a spontaneous character you fall for.

Sometimes heartbreakingly beautiful (I'll Be Me), then a tad naughty with erupting guitars (The Wishing Well), then it makes you silent (Stronger and Numbers) or you just whistle along. This handsome album ends with a cover of the hit that made Campbell famous (Rhinestone Cowboy). High quality from Flanders.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Het zou best kunnen dat je het onbelangrijk vindt om te weten waarom een bepaalde plaat is gemaakt, maar in het geval van de nieuwe Mad About Mountains doe je dat toch maar beter. Het thema van de nieuweling gaat immers over het tragische lot van Glenn Campbell. Ooit was de man de held van de countryscène (je kent zeker zijn superhit Rhinestone Cowboy), sinds een tijdje is de man helaas geveld door de ziekte van Alzheimer. De nu 79-jarige Amerikaan, die wereldwijd 50 miljoen platen verkocht, kan niet meer met de wereld communiceren en de stakkerd weet niet eens meer waartoe een gitaar dient.

Hoewel de roots van Mad About Mountains in Herk De Stad liggen, klinkt deze band op en top Amerikaans: country van het beste soort, wel gezuiverd van alle onnozele clichés en met behoud van de schoonheid. Opvallend is de stem van Piet De Pessemier, die heel sterk op die van Neil Young lijkt. Dat is inderdaad niet de eerste keer dat we zoiets horen, gelukkig probeert Piet nooit zijn best te doen om zo te klinken (het is gewoon Piet) en dat geeft Mad About Mountains dat spontane karakter waar je voor valt.

Soms hartbrekend mooi (I’ll Be Me), geregeld een tikkeltje stout met losbarstende gitaren (The Wishing Well), dan word je er weer stil van (Stronger en Numbers) of fluit je het gewoon mee. Deze knappe plaat wordt afgesloten met een cover van de hit die Campbell zo beroemd maakte (Rhinestone Cowboy dus). Hoogstaande kwaliteit uit Vlaanderen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
LES PANTIES
L'Arrivée
26
09
WHISPERING SONS
Time
26
09
WHISPERING SONS
Wall
25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter