tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MAD MASKS - Mad Masks

MAD MASKS

Mad Masks

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[82/100]   

Peripheral Minimal
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Last year, the debut album of the French duo Mad Masks was released on the British label Peripheral Minimal. The record features eleven instrumental tracks, and they all have something in common: they suggest fear. This is the kind of music that will make you shiver as you might think someone touches your shoulder, even if there is no one behind you.

It's hard to stick a label on this album. One considers it as an ode to non-existing horror movies, others see it as pure industrial and we regard it as minimal synth with much distortion and a very creepy atmosphere. Despite the fact that the eleven songs are heavy, they are easy to digest and because of the added post-punk sound, the distorted compositions are more accessible.

Sometimes it sounds ice cold, sometimes repetitive, militaristic drums are added (Khel), or you just relive the heyday of Deutsch Nepal (Tragodia).

The dark music of Zio Voodoo and Dominique Stela is definitely not made for everyone (as sometimes it seems like a trip to death), but they certainly will charm a lot of people because of the diversity of this great album.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Vorig jaar verscheen het debuut van het Franse duo Mad Masks op het Britse label Peripheral Minimal. Je vindt er elf instrumentale tracks op terug, en ze hebben allemaal iets gemeenschappelijk: bij het beluisteren krijg je het er behoorlijk benauwd van. Dit is het soort muziek waarbij je het angstige gevoel hebt dat men (misschien een geest) op je schouder klopt zonder dat er iemand achter je staat. Muziek voor paranoïde zielen, zeg maar.

Het is moeilijk om een etiket op deze plaat te plakken. De ene beschouwt het als een ode aan niet-bestaande horrorfilms, anderen zien het als pure industrial, maar laten wij het bij minimal synth houden met veel distortie die verrijkt wordt met een uiterst creepy sfeertje. Ondanks het feit dat de elf songs loodzwaar klinken, kan je ze toch vrij gemakkelijk verteren doordat de vervormde geluiden tevens een postpunkgeluid hebben dat de composities een meer toegankelijk karakter geeft. Dit is niet zo maar de zoveelste experimentele release waar geen mens (of weinig toch) raad mee weet.

Soms klinkt het ijskoud, soms repetitief, dan weer worden er militaristische drums aan toegevoegd (Khel) of denk je gewoon aan de hoogdagen van Deutsch Nepal (Tragodia).

De donkere muziek van Zio Voodoo en Dominique Stela is zeker geen voer voor iedereen (soms lijkt het wel een reis naar de dood), maar wegens de diversiteit van stijlen, zullen ze hiermee zeker heel wat mensen bekoren.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ARBEID ADELT! • Seaside Revisited 3 (16/04/2016)
NON-ALIGNMENT PACT • ////
SOLAR BEARS • Advancement
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
HIDDEN IN TREETOPS • Lost
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
RROYCE • The Principle Of Grace
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
TEHO TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD • Nerissimo

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + MINIMAL
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap