tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MAD MASKS - Mad Masks

MAD MASKS

Mad Masks

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[82/100]   

Peripheral Minimal
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Last year, the debut album of the French duo Mad Masks was released on the British label Peripheral Minimal. The record features eleven instrumental tracks, and they all have something in common: they suggest fear. This is the kind of music that will make you shiver as you might think someone touches your shoulder, even if there is no one behind you.

It's hard to stick a label on this album. One considers it as an ode to non-existing horror movies, others see it as pure industrial and we regard it as minimal synth with much distortion and a very creepy atmosphere. Despite the fact that the eleven songs are heavy, they are easy to digest and because of the added post-punk sound, the distorted compositions are more accessible.

Sometimes it sounds ice cold, sometimes repetitive, militaristic drums are added (Khel), or you just relive the heyday of Deutsch Nepal (Tragodia).

The dark music of Zio Voodoo and Dominique Stela is definitely not made for everyone (as sometimes it seems like a trip to death), but they certainly will charm a lot of people because of the diversity of this great album.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Vorig jaar verscheen het debuut van het Franse duo Mad Masks op het Britse label Peripheral Minimal. Je vindt er elf instrumentale tracks op terug, en ze hebben allemaal iets gemeenschappelijk: bij het beluisteren krijg je het er behoorlijk benauwd van. Dit is het soort muziek waarbij je het angstige gevoel hebt dat men (misschien een geest) op je schouder klopt zonder dat er iemand achter je staat. Muziek voor paranoïde zielen, zeg maar.

Het is moeilijk om een etiket op deze plaat te plakken. De ene beschouwt het als een ode aan niet-bestaande horrorfilms, anderen zien het als pure industrial, maar laten wij het bij minimal synth houden met veel distortie die verrijkt wordt met een uiterst creepy sfeertje. Ondanks het feit dat de elf songs loodzwaar klinken, kan je ze toch vrij gemakkelijk verteren doordat de vervormde geluiden tevens een postpunkgeluid hebben dat de composities een meer toegankelijk karakter geeft. Dit is niet zo maar de zoveelste experimentele release waar geen mens (of weinig toch) raad mee weet.

Soms klinkt het ijskoud, soms repetitief, dan weer worden er militaristische drums aan toegevoegd (Khel) of denk je gewoon aan de hoogdagen van Deutsch Nepal (Tragodia).

De donkere muziek van Zio Voodoo en Dominique Stela is zeker geen voer voor iedereen (soms lijkt het wel een reis naar de dood), maar wegens de diversiteit van stijlen, zullen ze hiermee zeker heel wat mensen bekoren.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ARBEID ADELT! • Seaside Revisited 3 (16/04/2016)
NON-ALIGNMENT PACT • ////
SOLAR BEARS • Advancement
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
HIDDEN IN TREETOPS • Lost
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
RROYCE • The Principle Of Grace
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
TEHO TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD • Nerissimo

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + MINIMAL
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death