tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MAD MASKS - Mad Masks

MAD MASKS

Mad Masks

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[82/100]   

Peripheral Minimal
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Last year, the debut album of the French duo Mad Masks was released on the British label Peripheral Minimal. The record features eleven instrumental tracks, and they all have something in common: they suggest fear. This is the kind of music that will make you shiver as you might think someone touches your shoulder, even if there is no one behind you.

It's hard to stick a label on this album. One considers it as an ode to non-existing horror movies, others see it as pure industrial and we regard it as minimal synth with much distortion and a very creepy atmosphere. Despite the fact that the eleven songs are heavy, they are easy to digest and because of the added post-punk sound, the distorted compositions are more accessible.

Sometimes it sounds ice cold, sometimes repetitive, militaristic drums are added (Khel), or you just relive the heyday of Deutsch Nepal (Tragodia).

The dark music of Zio Voodoo and Dominique Stela is definitely not made for everyone (as sometimes it seems like a trip to death), but they certainly will charm a lot of people because of the diversity of this great album.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Vorig jaar verscheen het debuut van het Franse duo Mad Masks op het Britse label Peripheral Minimal. Je vindt er elf instrumentale tracks op terug, en ze hebben allemaal iets gemeenschappelijk: bij het beluisteren krijg je het er behoorlijk benauwd van. Dit is het soort muziek waarbij je het angstige gevoel hebt dat men (misschien een geest) op je schouder klopt zonder dat er iemand achter je staat. Muziek voor paranoïde zielen, zeg maar.

Het is moeilijk om een etiket op deze plaat te plakken. De ene beschouwt het als een ode aan niet-bestaande horrorfilms, anderen zien het als pure industrial, maar laten wij het bij minimal synth houden met veel distortie die verrijkt wordt met een uiterst creepy sfeertje. Ondanks het feit dat de elf songs loodzwaar klinken, kan je ze toch vrij gemakkelijk verteren doordat de vervormde geluiden tevens een postpunkgeluid hebben dat de composities een meer toegankelijk karakter geeft. Dit is niet zo maar de zoveelste experimentele release waar geen mens (of weinig toch) raad mee weet.

Soms klinkt het ijskoud, soms repetitief, dan weer worden er militaristische drums aan toegevoegd (Khel) of denk je gewoon aan de hoogdagen van Deutsch Nepal (Tragodia).

De donkere muziek van Zio Voodoo en Dominique Stela is zeker geen voer voor iedereen (soms lijkt het wel een reis naar de dood), maar wegens de diversiteit van stijlen, zullen ze hiermee zeker heel wat mensen bekoren.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ARBEID ADELT! • Seaside Revisited 3 (16/04/2016)
NON-ALIGNMENT PACT • ////
SOLAR BEARS • Advancement
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Distortland
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
HIDDEN IN TREETOPS • Lost
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
RROYCE • The Principle Of Grace
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
TEHO TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD • Nerissimo

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + MINIMAL
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels

Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo