tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty

MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN

Christmas Cruelty

Movie
HorrorSlasher

[60/100]   

Self-released
07/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Normally Christmas movies end up at bottom of the pile (and never again they rise above), unless Santa is a serial killer. Like clowns, Santa Claus has inspired a lot of filmmakers to make bloody slashers. There are plenty of examples: Silent Night, Deadly Night, Elves, Do not Open Till Christmas and of course Black Christmas by Bob Clark (one of the very first slashers ever). New to the list is the Norwegian Christmas Cruelty (or O'Hellige Jul!) by Magne Stensvoll and Per-Ingvar Tomren.

These two gentlemen wanted to amuse themselves. They play themselves and even keep their own names. Although they did not intend to conquer the world with Christmas Cruelty, it has become one of the nicest (and if not, certainly one of the bloodiest!) horror films of the year.

The opening scene is an instant hit. A lunatic (Tormod Lien) rapes a woman and then murders a baby with a circular saw, and this while the other family members are watching the scene. Yes, it's the kind of gore that Magne Stensvoll and Per-Ingvar Tomren punch you in the stomach! Expect no psychological study of a crazed psychopath, we just follow a sadistic Santa who is normal family man during the rest of the day.

Some will say that this kind of horror is sick, but Christmas Cruelty is a horror film for people who are in love with film. In every scene you see the camera aiming at some film poster (eg. Good Fellas), a DVD or the mouse pad that features the image of Jaws. On the technical side there might be some minor points, but you watch Christmas Cruelty in one breath without being bored. And that is something you can’t say of many releases that are praised by the serious press (no, we don’t invent that shit) So, heaven be praised as Christmas Cruelty is a brilliant ode to the slasher genre by two filmmakers with passion. Something like that is also called fireworks...

Didier BECU
07/12/2014


NL

Normaal belanden kerstfilms bij ons zonder genade onderaan de stapel (en dit om er nooit meer vanonder te komen), maar natuurlijk geldt dat niet als de kerstman een seriemoordenaar wordt. Net zoals dat het geval is met clowns, heeft het personage van de kerstman heel wat regisseurs geïnspireerd om een bloederige slasher te maken. Er bestaan voorbeelden genoeg: Silent Night, Deadly Night, Elves, Don’t Open Till Christmas en natuurlijk Black Christmas van Bob Clark (één van de allereerste slashers ooit). Nieuw in het rijtje is de Noorse Christmas Cruelty (of O'Hellige Jul!) van Magne Stensvoll en Per-Ingvar Tomren.

Deze twee heren wilden zich gewoon wat amuseren, ze spelen zelf een rol en behielden zelfs hun eigen naam. Maar toch, ofschoon het niet de bedoeling was om met Christmas Cruelty de wereld te veroveren, is het wel één van de leukste (en als het dat niet is, zeker de bloederigste!) horrorfilms van het jaar geworden. De openingsscène is meteen raak. Een krankzinnige gek (Tormod Lien) verkracht een vrouw en bewerkt vervolgens een baby met een cirkelzaag, en dat terwijl de andere familieleden gekneveld toekijken. Ja, het is dat soort gore waarmee Magne Stensvoll en Per-Ingvar Tomren je in de maag stompen! Verwacht dus geen psychologische studie van een dolgedraaide psychopaat, we volgen gewoon de handel en wandel een sadistische kerstman die na zijn uren gewoon een brave huisvader is.

Sommigen zullen natuurlijk vinden dat dit soort gruwel niet kan, maar los daarvan is Christmas Cruelty een horrorfilm die door mensen is gemaakt die tot over hun oren verliefd zijn op het medium film. In iedere scène zie je wel de camera naar één of andere poster (bijv. Good Fellas), naar een dvd of gewoon een muismatje met daarop de afbeelding van Jaws gluren. Op technisch vlak zijn er misschien wel wat mankementen, maar Christmas Cruelty bekijk je in één adem zonder dat je je daarbij ook maar één seconde verveelt. En dat geldt niet meteen voor alle releases die door de betere filmpers (neen, wij vinden dit soort nonsens niet uit) de hemel worden in geprezen. Christmas Cruelty is een briljante ode van twee filmmakers met passie. Zoiets noemt men ook wel vuurwerk…

Didier BECU
07/12/2014


07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty 07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty 07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty 07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty 07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty 07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty 07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty 07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty 07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty 07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty 07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty 07/12/2014 : MAGNE STEINSVOLL & PER-INGVAR TOMREN - Christmas Cruelty

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money