tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/04/2015 : MAGNUM - Escape from the Shadow Garden live 2014 (CD or LP)

MAGNUM

Escape from the Shadow Garden live 2014 (CD or LP)

MusicCD
MetalProg Rock

[80/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
21/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Do we need to introduce this band? Magnum already exists since 1972. Yours truly just walked out of his diapers. We get a live version of their latest album for which they toured in 2014. They open with ‘Live ‘til You Die’ from their last CD. I must say that it sound nipping. Which setlist do we get? (Only) three songs from ‘Escape from the Shadow Garden’. The rest are songs from (and before) their SPV/Steamhammer period. We get some ‘oldies’ like ‘Vigilante’ and ‘Kingdom of Madness’. Luckely no ballads like ‘Must Have Been Love’ or other minor work from the late 80’s. This is a well balanced set that rocks. Of course they already have many live albums out. When you don’t have a live album of them or you don’t know them that well, then this is an ideal starter. Also released as a double LP.

TRACKLIST:
1. Live ‘til You Die
2. Black Skies
3. Freedom Day
4. Dance of the Black Tattoo
5. Blood Red Laughter
6. Unwritten Sacrifice
7. How Far Jerusalem
8. Les Morts Dansant
9. Falling For the Big Plan
10. All England’s Eyes
11. Vigilante
12. Kingdom of Madness

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/04/2015


NL

Moeten we deze band nog voorstellen? Magnum bestaat al sedert 1972. Toen kwam ondergetekende net uit de pampers. Hier krijgen we een live registratie toen ze met de gelijknamige cd ( Escape from…) in 2014 toerden. Ze beginnen met het openingsnummer van deze cd. Het moet gezegd dat het vinnig klinkt. Wat krijgen we te horen? Drie nummers (slechts ?) uit hun laatste album, aangevuld met nummers van voor en tijdens hun SPV/Steamhammer-periode. Ook ‘oudjes’ zoals Vigilante of Kingdom of Madness staan er op. Gelukkig geen ballads zoals Must Have Been Love of enkele minder sterke nummers uit de jaren 80. Dit livealbum heeft een evenwichtige set en klinkt vurig. Natuurlijk heeft Magnum al talloze livealbums in zijn catalogus staan. Heb je nog geen livealbum of ken je het oeuvre van deze band niet zo goed, dan is dit wel een goede aankoop. Ook verkrijgbaar op dubbel-lp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
21/04/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)