tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

15/01/2015 : MAN WITHOUT WORLD - And Then It Ends

MAN WITHOUT WORLD

And Then It Ends

MusicCassette
Minimal

[85/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
15/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the work of Jorg Bruyndonckx. Previously he was a member of the EBM group Kill Vision. This tape contains embryonic instrumental versions of already performed songs.

Opener Fusion Diffusion Through sounds experimental, both in form and sound, with lots of distorted synth sounds. My first idea was that this would be a difficult album to listen to, but no.... The following tracks sound normal, at times a bit monotonous. Vocals are not needed, and I can imagine where to place them: musical landscapes consisting of pure electronic music with sparse added percussion/electronic drums.

Outstanding tracks are Acetone with the sound of a flying mosquito or fly, and a bass that comes from the New Beat- period; And Then It Ends has a nice, slow but minimal construction; S=S has a lot of variation in sound and detail. Here Jorg tells a story with sounds and synths. End at World 's Edge seems to suggest a dark world with synth sounds that have an Anne Clark-touch. Some songs have no percussion and are ambient like I Am Not Above and Jupiter.

A beautiful and well balanced album, and a must for fans of the genre. Watch the clip Nymphs Are Volcanic performed live @ Wool -E record Shop on 09/27/2014 

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


NL

Dit is het werk van Jorg Bruyndonckx. Vroeger nog lid van de EBM groep Kill Vision. Deze tape bevat embryonale instrumentale versies waarmee hij al een paar keer optrad. In eerste instantie zong hij nog zelf, maar nu is daar een zangeres bijgekomen die een deel van de zangpartijen voor haar rekening neemt. Op deze tape gaat het dus nog om puur instrumentale versies.

Opener Fusion Through Diffusion klinkt experimenteel. Dit zowel qua vorm als qua geluid. Strepen en flarden vervormde synthgeluiden die wegvallen en terugkomen. Mijn eerste idee was dan ook dat dit een zwaar album zou worden om helemaal te beluisteren. Maar dat valt heus mee. De nummers die erna volgen zijn eerder normale, bij momenten monotone instrumentals. Ze vragen niet altijd om zang, maar van enkele nummers kan ik mij wel voorstellen waar ik die zou kunnen plaatsen. Er is hier dus sprake van muzikale landscapes bestaande uit pure electronische muziek met spaarzaam toegevoegde percussie/electronische drums.

Wat springt er voor mij uit: Acetone, dat qua geluid een voorbijvliegende mug of bromvlieg lijkt te imiteren. Een bas die uit de new beat- of houseperiode lijkt af te stammen. De bas laat het nummer leven. And Then It Ends heeft een mooie, trage, maar minimale opbouw. S=S kent veel variatie qua geluid en details. Hier wordt een verhaal verteld met geluiden en synths. End at World’s Edge lijkt een donker wereldbeeld voor te stellen. De synthgeluiden doen hier wat denken aan Anne Clark.

Op enkele nummers komt er geen percussie voor en krijgen de songs een ambiente inslag. Zoals bv. I Am Not en afsluiter Above Jupiter.

Een mooi en evenwichtig album. Een aanrader voor liefhebbers van het genre. Wil je weten hoe dit alles klinkt met zang, klik dan eens op de link hieronder. Je hoort All Nymphs Are Volcanic live gebracht @ Wool-E record shop op 27/09/2014.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion