tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

15/01/2015 : MAN WITHOUT WORLD - And Then It Ends

MAN WITHOUT WORLD

And Then It Ends

MusicCassette
Minimal

[85/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
15/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the work of Jorg Bruyndonckx. Previously he was a member of the EBM group Kill Vision. This tape contains embryonic instrumental versions of already performed songs.

Opener Fusion Diffusion Through sounds experimental, both in form and sound, with lots of distorted synth sounds. My first idea was that this would be a difficult album to listen to, but no.... The following tracks sound normal, at times a bit monotonous. Vocals are not needed, and I can imagine where to place them: musical landscapes consisting of pure electronic music with sparse added percussion/electronic drums.

Outstanding tracks are Acetone with the sound of a flying mosquito or fly, and a bass that comes from the New Beat- period; And Then It Ends has a nice, slow but minimal construction; S=S has a lot of variation in sound and detail. Here Jorg tells a story with sounds and synths. End at World 's Edge seems to suggest a dark world with synth sounds that have an Anne Clark-touch. Some songs have no percussion and are ambient like I Am Not Above and Jupiter.

A beautiful and well balanced album, and a must for fans of the genre. Watch the clip Nymphs Are Volcanic performed live @ Wool -E record Shop on 09/27/2014 

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


NL

Dit is het werk van Jorg Bruyndonckx. Vroeger nog lid van de EBM groep Kill Vision. Deze tape bevat embryonale instrumentale versies waarmee hij al een paar keer optrad. In eerste instantie zong hij nog zelf, maar nu is daar een zangeres bijgekomen die een deel van de zangpartijen voor haar rekening neemt. Op deze tape gaat het dus nog om puur instrumentale versies.

Opener Fusion Through Diffusion klinkt experimenteel. Dit zowel qua vorm als qua geluid. Strepen en flarden vervormde synthgeluiden die wegvallen en terugkomen. Mijn eerste idee was dan ook dat dit een zwaar album zou worden om helemaal te beluisteren. Maar dat valt heus mee. De nummers die erna volgen zijn eerder normale, bij momenten monotone instrumentals. Ze vragen niet altijd om zang, maar van enkele nummers kan ik mij wel voorstellen waar ik die zou kunnen plaatsen. Er is hier dus sprake van muzikale landscapes bestaande uit pure electronische muziek met spaarzaam toegevoegde percussie/electronische drums.

Wat springt er voor mij uit: Acetone, dat qua geluid een voorbijvliegende mug of bromvlieg lijkt te imiteren. Een bas die uit de new beat- of houseperiode lijkt af te stammen. De bas laat het nummer leven. And Then It Ends heeft een mooie, trage, maar minimale opbouw. S=S kent veel variatie qua geluid en details. Hier wordt een verhaal verteld met geluiden en synths. End at World’s Edge lijkt een donker wereldbeeld voor te stellen. De synthgeluiden doen hier wat denken aan Anne Clark.

Op enkele nummers komt er geen percussie voor en krijgen de songs een ambiente inslag. Zoals bv. I Am Not en afsluiter Above Jupiter.

Een mooi en evenwichtig album. Een aanrader voor liefhebbers van het genre. Wil je weten hoe dit alles klinkt met zang, klik dan eens op de link hieronder. Je hoort All Nymphs Are Volcanic live gebracht @ Wool-E record shop op 27/09/2014.

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth