tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/10/2014 : MANIC STREET PREACHERS - Futurology

MANIC STREET PREACHERS

Futurology

MusicCD
Dark PopGlamrockIndie Rock

[70/100]   

Columbia Records
08/10/2014, Paul PLEDGER

What seems like the Manic's 500th album (it's actually studio-album number 12), Futurology follows hot on the heels of last year's Rewind The Film, barely nine months apart in fact. Less introspective than its predecessor, we're off to a restrained start with the title-track before Walk Me To The Bridge blazes its trail in an epic Slash and Burn style and restores my faith in a band who've frustrated and fascinated in equal measure during the past decade.

Faith No More's We Care a Lot rears its chops during the chorus of the slightly-maniacal and rather good Let's Go To War, while I'm frequently reminded of the good old Manics on much of this album. "Take your badges off and do your show..." they proclaim in lively fashion on The Next Jet To Leave Moscow, while on Europa Geht Durch Mich they dip into I Travel by Simple Minds for the opening line "Europe has a language problem".

It's an aural landscape of soundbites and quotes, dressed up with a sense of urgency and none of the drudgery of recent releases. A guest appearance from Scritti Politti's Green Gartside on Between the Clock and the Bed also turns out to be inspired for what is the album's most languid tune - there's still a sense of the epic about it, mark you. With the possible exception of the cheesy Sex, Love, Money and Power, it's a good album - welcome back. If you can invest in the deluxe edition with the demos, go for it.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
08/10/2014


 

Next reviews
MARTIN CARR • Mainstream
• BLACKLIST SEASON 1
THOM YORKE • Tomorrow's Modern Boxes
THE CHARLATANS • Talking In Tones
DAVID AYER • Sabotage
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
RODDY FRAME • Seven Dials
ZIGURI • Ziguri
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
MARK LANEGAN BAND • Phantom Radio

 

Other reviews from MANIC STREET PREACHERS
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: GLAMROCK
JOBRIATH • Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
GHOST • Popestar
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
KISSING PARTY • Looking Back it was Romantic but at the Time I was Suffocating

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)