tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

10/12/2016 : MAQUINA TOTAL - Maquina Total

MAQUINA TOTAL

Maquina Total

MusicCassette
Ambient PopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[88/100]   

Domestica Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Maquina Total is the second EP of Virgili Jubero, the man behind this project. Located in Barcelona, ​​he surprises us with a five-track cassette. Yes indeed, the cassette form has become a niche product (besides vinyl of course).

The voice reminds me of the singer of Tindersticks: a dark, deep and slightly toneless sound. We hear electro and synth compositions, plugged into a dreampop or coldwave atmosphere.

Son is an ambient-like intro with synths that tend strongly to Trevor Horn. The song paves the way for Urbanització Esmeralda, an instrumental composition that can be situated between EBM and The Knife: strong and driven by the synth bass, with minimal vocals at the end.

Sol A Cancun floats on lovely sounding synth sounds with sober vocals. Beautiful. Que es L'Amor? includes rudimentary digital percussion sounds. On Estatua, the pace goes up.

Maquina Total released an EP that is spacey, melodic and captivating. We hope to hear more of these guys in the future!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Maquina Total is de tweede ep van Virgili Jubero, de man achter dit project. Werkzaam in Barcelona, verrast hij ons hier met een vijf tracks tellende cassette. Jawel, cassette is ook een nichemarkt geworden (naast vinyl).

De stem doet mij wat denken aan de zanger van Tindersticks: een wat donker, diep en lichtjes toonloos geluid. We horen electro- en syntcomposities die in een dreampop-, coldwave- of sfeerrijk jasje zijngestopt. Son is een ambient-achtige intro met synths die sterk naar Trevor Horn neigen, en de song maakt de weg vrij voor Urbanització Esmeralda, een instrumentale compositie die ergens tussen EBM en The Knife ligt: sterk en vooruitgedreven door de synthbas, met minimale zang op het einde.

Sol A Cancun drijft op liefelijk klinkende synthklanken met de sobere en nuchtere zang als kontrast. Mooi. Què És L'Amor? is voorzien van rudimentair digitaal slagwerk en klinkt verstild als een stilleven. Op Estatua gaat het tempo wat omhoog en de track klinkt als een kabbelend beekje.

Maquina Total heeft een ep afgeleverd die spacy, melodieus en boeiend is. Graag meer van dit in de toekomst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : MAQUINA TOTAL - Maquina Total 10/12/2016 : MAQUINA TOTAL - Maquina Total 10/12/2016 : MAQUINA TOTAL - Maquina Total

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God