tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN

MARC WEBB

THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN

Movie
Adventure

[74/100]   

SONY SPHE
20/12/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Nah, we don’t belong to the happy few who have seen the newest Spiderman that will be shown in April next year as this is the first part we’re talking about. It’s only the package that’s been changed, but as the Christmas tree needs its presents Sony has re-released The Amazing Spider-man in a limited steelbox.

In Hollywood dreams never end. Ten years after Sam Raimi completed the Spiderman-trilogy, producers thought it was a good move to re-launch his adventures on the screen. Of course they were thinking of Christopher Nolan who gave Batman a dark side. So, if it can be done with a bat, why not with a spider?

The big question of course is which version is best. To be honest, I still don’t know the answer and I probably can only give one when seeing the sequel. Webbs problem is that he simply was obliged to re-tell the whole story of how Spiderman got born. It takes about an hour before Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield) finally can put on his spandex-suit. Before all that, he has to be bitten by a spider or his uncle Ben (Martin Sheen) has to be killed by a crook. Of course there’s a lovestory involved as well. This time Parker doesn’t fall in Mary Jane Watson’s arms, but he has a crush on Gwen Stacy (Emma Roberts). This blonde is the daughter from a local police-inspector (Denis Leary) who isn’t that keen on Spiderman’s deeds. Criminals have to be caught by the fuzz, not by lunatics dressed as spiders! There’s not only a change in girlfriends, Spiderman also has to face a new enemy: The Green Lizard. This insane scientist experiments with DNA-samples from lizards but at the end of the day he becomes a giant reptile himself.

It takes a bit of time before you get used to Andrew Garfield. I guess we’re just thinking too much about Tobey Maguire, but after a while it becomes clear that Garfield is a good successor. The only thing we miss is that chemistry between Mary Jane and Spiderman. Emma Stone delivers a good job, but she’s not able to let us forget Kirsten Dunst’s appearance. The directing by Marc Webb is flawless, not that you would hear us say one bad word about Sam Raimi though! The CG-effects are better as well, but then again there are lots of technological improvements in such a period. The Amazing Spider-Man has surely not become as superb as the Dark Knight-trilogy. At least not till now, but fans from superheroes will definitely embrace him.

The Amazing Spider-Man is out on Sony on both DVD and Blu-ray as a limited steelbox.

Didier BECU
20/12/2013


NL

Neen hoor, wij behoren niet tot het clubje gelukkigen die al eens hebben mogen proeven van de nieuwe Spiderman die volgend jaar in April in première zal gaan. Dit is gewoon het eerste luik, maar omdat het ijzer nog heet is (en wellicht ook omdat de kerstboom nu eenmaal de nodige cadeautjes moet krijgen) heeft Sony The Amazing Spider-man opnieuw uitgebracht, en deze keer in een luxe steelbox.

Dus ja, het gaat alleen maar om een nieuwe verpakking. In Hollywood komt er nooit een einde aan een droom. Tien jaar nadat Sam Raimi zijn Spiderman-trilogie afwerkte, vonden de studiobonzen dat het hoog tijd werd om Spiderman wat nieuw leven in te blazen. Natuurlijk hadden ze bij Sony het Batman-idee in het achterhoofd. Christopher Nolan slaagde er immers in om de vleermuisheld met succes een donker tintje te geven. Dus waarom dat ook niet met Spiderman doen? En zo werden er plannen gesmeed voor een nieuwe trilogie.

Hoe je het ook draait of keert blijft de hamvraag welke van de twee versies nu de beste is. Het is een antwoord die ik eerlijkheidshalve tot op heden nog niet weet, en het zal wellicht wachten tot het tweede deel blijven vooraleer we hierover definitief uitsluitsel kunnen geven. Het grote probleem waarmee regisseur Marc Webb in dit eerste deel immers zit is dat hij wordt verplicht om het verhaal van de schuchtere Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield) nog eens over te doen. Het duurt dan ook ongeveer een uur vooraleer Parker uiteindelijk zijn spandexpakje (dat trouwens is ontworpen door Cirque Du Soleil) mag aantrekken. Net zoals in de eerste film moet hij eerst nog door een spin worden gebeten en wordt zijn oom Ben (Martin Sheen) door een winkeldief vermoord. Uiteraard wordt Parker verliefd. Deze keer niet op Mary Jane Watson, wel op blondine Gwen Stacy (Emma Roberts). Het meisje van zijn dromen is wel de dochter van een politie-inspecteur (Denis Leary) die helemaal niet is opgezet met Spidermans goede daden. Boeven moeten door de politie worden geklist, niet door verklede gekken met een spinnenpakje! De nieuwe Spiderman verandert niet alleen van vriendinnetje in zijn eerste avontuur, ook rekent hij af met een andere vijand. De Green Goblin uit de vorige film wordt nu ingeruild door The Green Lizard: een krankzinnige geleerde (Rhys Ifans) die experimenten uitvoert met DNA van hagedissen, maar uiteindelijk zelf in een moorddadig gigantische reptiel verandert.

Het is wel een beetje wennen aan hoofdrolspeler Andrew Garfield. Waarschijnlijk zitten we net iets te veel met voorganger Tobey Maguire nog in het hoofd, maar na een tijdje is deze nieuwbakken ster een waardige opvolger. Wel missen we de chemie die er tussen Mary Jane en Spiderman was. Emma Stone doet wel haar best, maar slaagt er geen seconde in om Kirsten Dunst te doen vergeten. Ook met de regie van Marc Webb zit het snor, ofschoon je ons nooit een woord zult horen zeggen over Sam Raimi’s trilogie. De CG-effecten zijn zonder meer een grote stap vooruit, maar op tien jaar tijd is er nu op technologisch vlak nu eenmaal veel verandert. The Amazing Spider-Man is zeker geen Dark Knight geworden (ten minste nu nog niet), maar wie van superhelden houdt zal zonder meer tevreden zijn met de nieuwe spinnenman.

De door Sony uitgebrachte The Amazing Spider-Man is vanaf nu in gelimiteerde steelbox op DVD en Blu-ray te verkrijgen.

 

Didier BECU
20/12/2013


20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN

Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains