tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN

MARC WEBB

THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN

Movie
Adventure

[74/100]   

SONY SPHE
20/12/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Nah, we don’t belong to the happy few who have seen the newest Spiderman that will be shown in April next year as this is the first part we’re talking about. It’s only the package that’s been changed, but as the Christmas tree needs its presents Sony has re-released The Amazing Spider-man in a limited steelbox.

In Hollywood dreams never end. Ten years after Sam Raimi completed the Spiderman-trilogy, producers thought it was a good move to re-launch his adventures on the screen. Of course they were thinking of Christopher Nolan who gave Batman a dark side. So, if it can be done with a bat, why not with a spider?

The big question of course is which version is best. To be honest, I still don’t know the answer and I probably can only give one when seeing the sequel. Webbs problem is that he simply was obliged to re-tell the whole story of how Spiderman got born. It takes about an hour before Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield) finally can put on his spandex-suit. Before all that, he has to be bitten by a spider or his uncle Ben (Martin Sheen) has to be killed by a crook. Of course there’s a lovestory involved as well. This time Parker doesn’t fall in Mary Jane Watson’s arms, but he has a crush on Gwen Stacy (Emma Roberts). This blonde is the daughter from a local police-inspector (Denis Leary) who isn’t that keen on Spiderman’s deeds. Criminals have to be caught by the fuzz, not by lunatics dressed as spiders! There’s not only a change in girlfriends, Spiderman also has to face a new enemy: The Green Lizard. This insane scientist experiments with DNA-samples from lizards but at the end of the day he becomes a giant reptile himself.

It takes a bit of time before you get used to Andrew Garfield. I guess we’re just thinking too much about Tobey Maguire, but after a while it becomes clear that Garfield is a good successor. The only thing we miss is that chemistry between Mary Jane and Spiderman. Emma Stone delivers a good job, but she’s not able to let us forget Kirsten Dunst’s appearance. The directing by Marc Webb is flawless, not that you would hear us say one bad word about Sam Raimi though! The CG-effects are better as well, but then again there are lots of technological improvements in such a period. The Amazing Spider-Man has surely not become as superb as the Dark Knight-trilogy. At least not till now, but fans from superheroes will definitely embrace him.

The Amazing Spider-Man is out on Sony on both DVD and Blu-ray as a limited steelbox.

Didier BECU
20/12/2013


NL

Neen hoor, wij behoren niet tot het clubje gelukkigen die al eens hebben mogen proeven van de nieuwe Spiderman die volgend jaar in April in première zal gaan. Dit is gewoon het eerste luik, maar omdat het ijzer nog heet is (en wellicht ook omdat de kerstboom nu eenmaal de nodige cadeautjes moet krijgen) heeft Sony The Amazing Spider-man opnieuw uitgebracht, en deze keer in een luxe steelbox.

Dus ja, het gaat alleen maar om een nieuwe verpakking. In Hollywood komt er nooit een einde aan een droom. Tien jaar nadat Sam Raimi zijn Spiderman-trilogie afwerkte, vonden de studiobonzen dat het hoog tijd werd om Spiderman wat nieuw leven in te blazen. Natuurlijk hadden ze bij Sony het Batman-idee in het achterhoofd. Christopher Nolan slaagde er immers in om de vleermuisheld met succes een donker tintje te geven. Dus waarom dat ook niet met Spiderman doen? En zo werden er plannen gesmeed voor een nieuwe trilogie.

Hoe je het ook draait of keert blijft de hamvraag welke van de twee versies nu de beste is. Het is een antwoord die ik eerlijkheidshalve tot op heden nog niet weet, en het zal wellicht wachten tot het tweede deel blijven vooraleer we hierover definitief uitsluitsel kunnen geven. Het grote probleem waarmee regisseur Marc Webb in dit eerste deel immers zit is dat hij wordt verplicht om het verhaal van de schuchtere Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield) nog eens over te doen. Het duurt dan ook ongeveer een uur vooraleer Parker uiteindelijk zijn spandexpakje (dat trouwens is ontworpen door Cirque Du Soleil) mag aantrekken. Net zoals in de eerste film moet hij eerst nog door een spin worden gebeten en wordt zijn oom Ben (Martin Sheen) door een winkeldief vermoord. Uiteraard wordt Parker verliefd. Deze keer niet op Mary Jane Watson, wel op blondine Gwen Stacy (Emma Roberts). Het meisje van zijn dromen is wel de dochter van een politie-inspecteur (Denis Leary) die helemaal niet is opgezet met Spidermans goede daden. Boeven moeten door de politie worden geklist, niet door verklede gekken met een spinnenpakje! De nieuwe Spiderman verandert niet alleen van vriendinnetje in zijn eerste avontuur, ook rekent hij af met een andere vijand. De Green Goblin uit de vorige film wordt nu ingeruild door The Green Lizard: een krankzinnige geleerde (Rhys Ifans) die experimenten uitvoert met DNA van hagedissen, maar uiteindelijk zelf in een moorddadig gigantische reptiel verandert.

Het is wel een beetje wennen aan hoofdrolspeler Andrew Garfield. Waarschijnlijk zitten we net iets te veel met voorganger Tobey Maguire nog in het hoofd, maar na een tijdje is deze nieuwbakken ster een waardige opvolger. Wel missen we de chemie die er tussen Mary Jane en Spiderman was. Emma Stone doet wel haar best, maar slaagt er geen seconde in om Kirsten Dunst te doen vergeten. Ook met de regie van Marc Webb zit het snor, ofschoon je ons nooit een woord zult horen zeggen over Sam Raimi’s trilogie. De CG-effecten zijn zonder meer een grote stap vooruit, maar op tien jaar tijd is er nu op technologisch vlak nu eenmaal veel verandert. The Amazing Spider-Man is zeker geen Dark Knight geworden (ten minste nu nog niet), maar wie van superhelden houdt zal zonder meer tevreden zijn met de nieuwe spinnenman.

De door Sony uitgebrachte The Amazing Spider-Man is vanaf nu in gelimiteerde steelbox op DVD en Blu-ray te verkrijgen.

 

Didier BECU
20/12/2013


20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 20/12/2013 : MARC WEBB - THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness