tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

MARCO BELLOCCHIO

Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
ArthouseDrama
Filmfest Gent
16/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

When a festival has 107 movies in its catalogue then it’s completely impossible to see them all, let alone to review them all. Because we care about movies we will choose some that we consider as a tip. The goal from every festival is to introduce movies that are a bit forgotten. Fine productions that don’t have the budget to present themselves like their Hollywood-colleagues can. Call it arthouse or whatever, what you see today at FilmFest Ghent is what will be in the theatres the forthcoming months and so an excellent preview.

Bella Addormentata from veteran Marco Bellocchio is made in 2012, but for some reasons (well you know them) the movie hasn’t been released yet. Perhaps with the new revival of Italian cinema there’s a chance for that because this French-Italian production (which means The Sleeping Beauty) has a subject everyone has to deal with once in his life. Is it right to decide about the life of someone else, someone you love and don’t want to see suffer? 

This collage movie takes place in the days of Berlusconi when euthanasia was equal to murder. We follow the last 6 days of Eluana Englaro who is already 17 years in coma. Her family thinks the time has come to say goodbye, but the Italian catholics see that as a crime. At the same time we follow Divina Madre (Isabelle Huppert) who has a strong belief in God and who also has a daughter who lives like a plant. She doesn’t think her daughter is sick, she sleeps.

The subject is heavy, but Marco Bellocchio made it somehow a light movie to digest. Of course you’ll talk about it afterwards, but it’s obvious that everyone has an argument and in a way they’re all right. The acting is excellent with again a brilliant Isabelle Huppert who has already played a role like that in Michael Haneke’s Amour.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


NL

Wanneer een festival 107 titels telt dan is het gewoon onmogelijk om die allemaal te zien, laat staan ze te bespreken. Maar omdat wij enorm veel van film houden, vinden wij het toch belangrijk dat wij iets vertellen over de uitschieters. Een goed festival (en dat is Gent!) moet een paradepaardje zijn van de andere cinema. Neen, we gebruiken zelfs niet het woord betere cinema, maar gewoon films die niet het budget hebben om te kunnen concurreren met de Hollywood-broertjes. Het Filmfestival van Gent is dan ook een mooi toonbeeld van wat we de komende maanden in de bioscoop mogen verwachten.

Bella Addormentata van veteraan Marco Bellocchio stamt eigenlijk al uit 2012, maar door welgekende redenen is hij tot nu toe nog niet in de bioscoop geraakt. Misschien is dat nu dankzij de revival van de Italiaanse cinema wel mogelijk, want deze Frans-Italiaanse productie (die De Schone Slaapster betekent) gaat over een vraag die iedereen wel ooit eens in de maag gespitst krijgt: hebben wij het recht om het leven van iemand anders te beëindigen? 

Deze collagefilm speelt zich af in de Berlusconi-dagen waarin euthanasie gelijkgeschakeld werd met moord. We volgen de laatste dagen van Eluana Englaro, een vrouw die al 17 jaar in coma ligt. De familie vindt dat het genoeg is geweest, maar buiten staat een massa hysterie gelovigen moord en brand te schreeuwen. Daartegenover plaatst Bellocchio het verhaal van de actrice Divina Madre (Isabelle Huppert) wier dochter als een plant aan een machine ligt. Zij vindt niet dat haar dochter ziek is, ze slaapt.

Het onderwerp is loodzwaar, maar ergens verpakt Bellocchio het op een luchtige manier. Hij veroordeelt wel niet, maar de scènes waarin de katholieke kerk het voor het zeggen heeft spreken voor zich. De acteerprestaties zijn van een hoog niveau met wederom Isabelle Huppert in topvorm die eerder zo’n soort rol in Michael Haneke’s Amour vertolkte.

Didier BECU
16/10/2014


16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 16/10/2014 : MARCO BELLOCCHIO - Bella Addormentata (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Next reviews
HUMAN LEAGUE • Classics: Dare
DOUG LIMAN • Edge Of Tomorrow
VARIOUS ARTISTS • LABEL NOIR VOL.2 SAMPLER
SETH MACFARLANE • A Million Ways To Die In The West
• DRACULA SEASON 1
PEAKING LIGHTS • Cosmic Logic
GEOFFREY ENTHOVEN • Halfweg
CRISPY AMBULANCE • CLASSICS: The Plateau Phase
MOGWAI • Teenage Exorcists
WES BALL • The Maze Runner

 

Same combination of genres: ARTHOUSE + DRAMA
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)
PAUL WRIGHT • For Those In Peril
STEPHANE DUMOUSTIER • Terre Battue
KARIM ANOUIZ • Praia Do Futuro
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
PHILIP GRONING • Die Frau Des Polizisten

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God
JAFAR PANAHI • Taxi Teheran
VERA CHYTILOVA • Fruit Of Paradise
STEFAN HAUPT • Sagrada, Il Misteri de la Creació

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life